Project HELIOS - Wiring my House

Discussion in 'Audio Visual' started by FAT245, Jun 12, 2010.

  1. FAT245

    FAT245 (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    249
    Location:
    Sydney!
    some of you have been following my thread regarding the install's i have done for Customers.

    Now comes the time for me to Wire my house once and for all,

    The Plan is to house the:

    Cisco 2600 Router
    Domain Controller + DNS
    Exchange Server
    Switches
    Home Automation Control Brains
    Media Room Amplifier
    Shared Media Center
    Video Switcher

    Plan is to have 8 Data Points in my bedroom,
    and three in all the others.

    Each Bedroom will have two Cat6 Cables to carry Audio & Video from the component switch

    The Rack arrived today,
    Its a SUN StorEdge 38RU Unit, Brand New $250

    PICS!!

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  2. Pugs

    Pugs Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    9,181
    Location:
    Redwood Park, SA
    Nice rack... I'll send that patch panel is a tube this week... I'll need an addy for that tho.. :tongue:
     
  3. nEBUz

    nEBUz Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    824
    Location:
    Wanaka, NZ
    Mmmm sounds nice. wish my place wasn't rented sometimes :p

    What are you doing automation-wise?
     
  4. OP
    OP
    FAT245

    FAT245 (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    249
    Location:
    Sydney!
    Control4,

    i Do it for a living so i can get the gear easily and program it myself
     
  5. nEBUz

    nEBUz Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    824
    Location:
    Wanaka, NZ
    Yeah fair enough. It's good stuff I mostly code AMX :upset: and crestron :upset::upset:. Control4 looked really good last I looked, and is zigbee based, which I like :) Actually I'm using some of their zigbee repeaters for something else even!
     
  6. OP
    OP
    FAT245

    FAT245 (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    249
    Location:
    Sydney!
    yeah i also do Dynalite, CBUS and im starting Crestron
     
  7. nEBUz

    nEBUz Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    824
    Location:
    Wanaka, NZ
    Sounds familar, except not certified for CBus and haven't used it a whole lot. I do like their LCD push-button panels though :)
     
  8. OP
    OP
    FAT245

    FAT245 (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    249
    Location:
    Sydney!
    some of the networking gear has arrived :D

    [​IMG]
     
  9. gwills

    gwills Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Messages:
    410
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Nice rack . I have some sun stuff in them at work. You'll probably want to rip out the fans and controller and the power supplies down the bottom. There not exactly quiet.

    What are you using the 2600 for ?
     
  10. OP
    OP
    FAT245

    FAT245 (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    249
    Location:
    Sydney!
    Internet Routing, DHCP
     
  11. OP
    OP
    FAT245

    FAT245 (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    249
    Location:
    Sydney!
    [​IMG]

    This is the Proposed rack configuration.

    Also this is the temporary setup which is currently running the house...:mad:

    [​IMG]
     
  12. IceT(error)

    IceT(error) Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    545
    Location:
    Howrah, Tasmania
    Not going to worry about patch cable management? Just seems like you are going to a lot of effort to just have cables hanging down the front of the switches/servers


    *edit* OK, stand corrected below, very nice!
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2010
  13. OP
    OP
    FAT245

    FAT245 (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    249
    Location:
    Sydney!
  14. dephilile

    dephilile Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,872
    how are you getting video & audio from your media centre to your TV?
     
  15. darth_wolf

    darth_wolf Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,663
    Mind if i ask where you got the rack from?
     
  16. OP
    OP
    FAT245

    FAT245 (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    249
    Location:
    Sydney!
    At the moment,

    I have the Integra Amplifier in the media room with 2x Component over Cat5e Ballums running.

    One for the Media center and one for the Control4 interface.

    But a Component Matrix Switcher will be used which will do all the switching for the Mediacenter, Bluray Player and and also Local video sources for the Rooms.
     
  17. 4wardtristan

    4wardtristan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,181
    Location:
    brisbane
    i like the cable management arms, and the plates over the top, they make tracing cables later on a nightmare though, especially if you were stuck with rather long cables to stick in them! stilll looks good mate :thumbup:
     
  18. OP
    OP
    FAT245

    FAT245 (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    249
    Location:
    Sydney!
    all cables will be labelled at either end, and also labelled on the back of the patch panels so it can make it all nice and easy.
     
  19. ob1

    ob1 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    Messages:
    922
    Location:
    The mighty metropolis of Brisbane
    +1....$250 sounds ridiculously cheap for a brand newy
     
  20. Airquarious

    Airquarious Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2001
    Messages:
    1,801
    Location:
    Galaxy near you!
    I would have populated the rack from the bottom > up, for stability, nice set up, anyway... :thumbup:
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: