Project: Sammy (PC in a DVD player)

Discussion in 'Modding Worklogs' started by archie, Dec 26, 2006.

  1. archie

    archie Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    3,606
    Location:
    western sydney
    After seeing so many 'PCs in a vcr/dvd player' mods, i finally decided to do one of my own.
    I started work on in 3-4 weeks ago and its currently at a working state bar a couple of cosmetic features.

    Let me know if I leave any bits out!

    The victim is my old 5 disc Samsung (hence project Sammy ;) ) dvd player. Perfect as its quite high so plenty of room for stuff and it was only good for playing music CDs now.

    [​IMG]
    Click to view full-sized image!
    Hosted by UGBox Image Store

    The PC will be an old 2100+ t'bred setup with 1gb of ram, running MCE. It will be connected to our 68cm tv as a divx and net radio box for my parents.

    [​IMG]
    Click to view full-sized image!
    Hosted by UGBox Image Store

    Ripping the guts out of the dvd player went quite smooth except 1 screw i couldnt find access to for ages! turned out I had to have the dvd tray out half way and a hole on the tray matched up with a screw below.

    Hosted by UGBox Image Store
    [​IMG]
    Click to view full-sized image!
    Hosted by UGBox Image Store
    [​IMG]
    Click to view full-sized image!
    Hosted by UGBox Image Store

    Once I had the empty shell I noticed all those 'humps' inside the case, they were orignally standoffs for the dvd's PCBs. Decided they all had to go. Needed a level surface to mount the mobo on. At this point I also convinced myself I needed a dremel, so bought one for $60 delivered! Gotta love working for the company who distributes them in Australia ;)

    [​IMG]
    Click to view full-sized image!
    Hosted by UGBox Image Store

    trial fit

    [​IMG]
    Click to view full-sized image!
    Hosted by UGBox Image Store

    I also bought some 3mm MDF to use as the base, couldnt be too thick as otherwise my HSF would poke through the top. Mounted the mobo on it using the normal brass standoffs.

    [​IMG]
    Click to view full-sized image!
    Hosted by UGBox Image Store

    Once mounted I realised the dvd player had a 'lip' on the back which would mean I needed to leave some clearance on the left hand side. So removed all the standoffs and re-drilled the holes 1cm to the right.

    [​IMG]
    Click to view full-sized image!
    Hosted by UGBox Image Store

    The dvd base also had a sunken section which I also filled with another piece of 3mm MDF, glued it using wood glue (bought it for yr7 woodwork and still plenty in there! 12yrs ago now :shock: ) used my weights to hold it all in place overnight.

    [​IMG]
    Click to view full-sized image!
    Hosted by UGBox Image Store
     
  2. OP
    OP
    archie

    archie Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    3,606
    Location:
    western sydney
    part twooooooo

    Found some small angle brackets lying around and decided to use them to mount the hdd.

    [​IMG]
    Click to view full-sized image!
    Hosted by UGBox Image Store

    After that, didn't take too many pics as I was running out of patience, bad day at work :p

    Cut up the back wall for the backplate, gfx and wireless cards & PSU... stuffed up the gfx card holes a litte, which required lots of manual filing :(

    [​IMG]
    Click to view full-sized image!
    Hosted by UGBox Image Store

    Once I installed the PSU on the mobo MDF base it ended up being a few mm too high, so i cut out the PSU section on the mobo MDF base and mounted the rest of the items. The 9V battery snap is being used as a connector to power a 12v LCD I have (more on that later)

    [​IMG]
    Click to view full-sized image!
    Hosted by UGBox Image Store

    The front view with the panel removed. I've connected the power button to the mobo, the rest is still under progress (reset & power LED).

    [​IMG]
    Click to view full-sized image!
    Hosted by UGBox Image Store

    The front panel buttons on the other side, will also be connecting them. Using someone else's idea of a USB gamepad activating certain shortcut keys.

    [​IMG]
    Click to view full-sized image!
    Hosted by UGBox Image Store

    Each set of contacts has two wires connected, these wires will run to the switches on the front panel. The USB gamepad orignally had a long 5ft cord which I shortened to ~15cm. It will be connected via the internal USB headers on the mobo, along with an IR receiver from my DVICO HDTV card.

    [​IMG]
    Click to view full-sized image!
    Hosted by UGBox Image Store

    As the CPU was getting quite hot I ended up cutting a window on the top cover, right now its just a chux superwipe but will change it to some mesh when I get a chance.

    [​IMG]
    Click to view full-sized image!
    Hosted by UGBox Image Store
     
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2006
  3. OP
    OP
    archie

    archie Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    3,606
    Location:
    western sydney
    part threeeeee

    I managed to do all the soldering for the front panel today. The USB gamepad I used was this from DSE

    During the testing phase I found out that all the buttons on the PCB seem to share the same ground, pushing 1 button once resulted in all of them being activated!

    [​IMG]
    Click to view full-sized image!
    Hosted by UGBox Image Store

    After I took the pic, i cut up the tracks on the PCB to 'separate' each button. Works now! :D

    [​IMG]
    Click to view full-sized image!
    Hosted by UGBox Image Store

    Soldered the bottom right button too (Eject) on the above PCB though it will serve no purpose for now, might install a slot load dvdrom later on. ;) The cdrom in the above pics was for testing only.

    Having some RAM issues, so didn't get too much more done today, the machine is memtesting atm.


    love to hear comments & criticism. :)
     
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2006
  4. taztassio

    taztassio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    916
    Location:
    Melb
    LOOKING GOOD :D
     
  5. Lethal_Lynx

    Lethal_Lynx Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2005
    Messages:
    266
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Looks cool !
     
  6. OP
    OP
    archie

    archie Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    3,606
    Location:
    western sydney
    part fourrrrrr

    Okay, so its finally complete!

    Thanks to 'Hamulus' off the forums for giving me some case front panel leads I managed to finish the case off today. :thumbup:
    Got the reset switch and power LED wired.

    Some obligatory product shots! :D

    [​IMG]
    Click to view full-sized image!
    Hosted by UGBox Image Store

    Would've been nice if the back panel looked a bit better, but can't be seen so not fussed :p

    [​IMG]
    Click to view full-sized image!
    Hosted by UGBox Image Store

    All setup in the family room!

    [​IMG]
    Click to view full-sized image!
    Hosted by UGBox Image Store

    All thats left is to configure 'total game control' so the front panel buttons on the right hand side (play/pause & disc # etc) can be used.

    [​IMG]
    Click to view full-sized image!
    Hosted by UGBox Image Store
     
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2006
  7. Mistikal

    Mistikal Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    2,398
    Location:
    The Forgotten West
    Very nice :) Looks stealth!

    andy
     
  8. taztassio

    taztassio Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Messages:
    916
    Location:
    Melb
    when u getting the front buttons working?
     
  9. OP
    OP
    archie

    archie Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    3,606
    Location:
    western sydney
    bit of a hiccup there...got rid of 'total game control' as it couldnt start programs on a button press and its not free.

    trying www.autohotkey.com now but it looks like my internal usb header cable is dodgy, keeps losing connection on one of the ports :( off to the shops now to see if i can buy a new one.
     
  10. Tobes1990

    Tobes1990 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    3,136
    Location:
    Newcastle, NSW
    looking good mate, very nicely put together.

    If you continue to have thermal issues I reccomend you drop your FSB by 10mhz. The T-Bred isnt meant to be too hot anyway.

    My only other suggestion is putting an exhaust fan in SOMEWHERE....

    If noise is an issue, you seem pretty cluey so stick a variable resistor there.
     
  11. OP
    OP
    archie

    archie Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    3,606
    Location:
    western sydney
    yeah, the lid is quite warm to the touch.. dunno if thats a bad thing yet..

    maybe a 120mm exhaust on the front top left (diagonally opposite to the current 'window') i think???
     
  12. Tobes1990

    Tobes1990 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    3,136
    Location:
    Newcastle, NSW
    get speedfan to check ur temps, google it.

    more or less you want a direction of flow, with the coolest air at the CPU and going back
     
  13. Mistikal

    Mistikal Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    2,398
    Location:
    The Forgotten West
    What about some smaller 40mm extraction fans in the back, running @ around 5v or 7v? All they'd have to do is pull the hot air out, which they would be more than capable of doing as the air gets hot because it's stale :)

    andy
     
  14. OP
    OP
    archie

    archie Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    3,606
    Location:
    western sydney
    gonna put a 120mm exhaust on the front top left...an antec tri-speed
    no room on the back panel for anything :(

    also was having random BSOD reboot issues every ~1hr, "kernel stack inpage error"... cause is the PSU at this stage...

    with the old psu, neither speedfan, MBM or gigabyte easytune could read any temps or report any PSU rail volts :eek:
    prolly also why the USB gamepad was playing up, couldnt get enough juice off the psu :p

    plugged in another one as a temp right now, if it survives till tonight, will make the change.

    EDIT: ram ain't faulty as it passed 22 passes of memtest.
     
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2006
  15. Mistikal

    Mistikal Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    2,398
    Location:
    The Forgotten West
    My bet is the random BSOD's are from heat.

    andy
     
  16. bAbY_RoG3R

    bAbY_RoG3R Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2002
    Messages:
    3,570
    Location:
    Sydney NSW
    id say its overheating aswell ... seems like there is absolutely no airflow in the case what so ever... im taking its a AMD aswell ? they tend to get quite hot....
     
  17. OP
    OP
    archie

    archie Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    3,606
    Location:
    western sydney
    was my guess too, but same thing happened with case lid fully off.

    changed the psu and so far so good.
     
  18. Mistikal

    Mistikal Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2002
    Messages:
    2,398
    Location:
    The Forgotten West
    Another way you could look at getting some ventilation, is to drill numerous holes into the side of the PSU that the motherboard is on (provided there isn't already a vent there).

    Edit: Disclaimer - Make sure you take the cover off first, and be very careful when playing with PSU's. PSU's are very dangerous and hold alot of residual current, and can still kill you even if it's not plugged in.

    andy
     
  19. OP
    OP
    archie

    archie Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2002
    Messages:
    3,606
    Location:
    western sydney
    still crashing with that same kernel error :upset:
    even formatted and did a clean install of MCE!

    running out of ideas now....
    the PC used to be sis', used to have no problems, was a rock solid system!
     
  20. Tobes1990

    Tobes1990 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2005
    Messages:
    3,136
    Location:
    Newcastle, NSW
    omg a nice mod ruined by PC faults, i reckon its a thermal issue.

    either that or something is shorting out.
     

Share This Page