PS4 battery intial charge

Discussion in 'Electronics & Electrics' started by Mrdsol, Mar 10, 2018.

1. Mrdsol

Mrdsol Member

Hey guys, super noob here. So be gentle.

So I had read up on the extended internal batteries you could fit in a PS4 controller for x3 / x4 times its life.
    Pretty cool huh!? Yeah absolutely considering my wife never puts the f**ker on charge and the only time i get to play, its flat! Yes! I own two controllers.... Both dead. All the damn time.

Anyways, so i bought these PKcell batteries that everyone had been replacing the stock battery with. (Yes I bought with changed polarity! and checked it myself). All is good! For one...
    So yeah one has been absolutely flawless. The other will not charge at all, someone mentioned maybe the voltage had dropped too low and the usb charging couldn't bump it back up to restore the life....

Here's the question, could i possibly use my multi battery RC charger to bring it up to spec to charge it?
    Any battery experts out there? Obviously haven't even tried it considering the safety side of things with these types of batteries.

So yeahhhhh in the meantime we have great "playtime" on the controller that works, only still the wife never plugs it in to charge.... Leaving me with a 15cm cord playing on a 80" TV, I feel like a little kid again (Mum: Do you have to sit so close? You'll get square eyes!)

2. ipv6ready

ipv6ready Member

Get a replacement wife ;)

3. merlin13

merlin13 Member

Was thinking more like not changing her batteries when they go flat... ;) Would almost be just as frustrating, right?

Anyway, First Rule of Battery Club - get yourself a multimeter so you can actually measure what volts the batteries are down to, because if they're down Beyond The Point Of No Return then mucking about with them on other charging systems might be worthless.