PS4 streaming to PC & Mac coming in Firmware 3.5

Discussion in 'Sony Consoles' started by power, Nov 27, 2015.

  1. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    58,463
    Location:
    brisbane
  2. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    33,734
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    So when Xbox does it they flak for it but when PlayStation does it they get praised! That's total BS.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    58,463
    Location:
    brisbane
    Who gave it flack, tbh I was just pissed they locked it to W10 - hoping Sony do not apply the same artificial limitations.
     
  4. stitch512

    stitch512 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    2,822
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Like locking remote play to Sony Android devices?

    Sony need this to be good right from the start. MS did a brilliant job with their streaming. Remote play has too much input lag on the Vita and PS TV for it to be functional for majority of games I play (racing and fps).
     
  5. Dr Evil

    Dr Evil Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,855
    Location:
    Perth
    Last time I checked it was rather.. blurry. Particularly when playing any racing game (Forza 5/Forza Horizon 2/Forza 6).

    Although I will always give credit to Sony over Microsoft (Since Microsoft are hopeless at improving their own console) but this feels like they are just implementing this feature because "Steam" stream boxes have been or will be released very shortly & also of course Microsoft support this feature.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    58,463
    Location:
    brisbane
    Sony are doing this because there's an unofficial streaming app available and I imagine that trying to lock it down would be too much effort.
     
  7. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    33,734
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    it would be better if it was PC games being streamed to the console really.
     
  8. EuroSlave

    EuroSlave Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2012
    Messages:
    826
    Location:
    3 Drinks Ahead
    it would be nice if they added in proper ps4 controller support for the pc
     
  9. stitch512

    stitch512 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    2,822
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Check to make sure that your quality settings are not on the default settings which I believe is medium. On the very high setting there is no blur.
     
  10. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    33,734
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    don't you need a gigabit ethernet router to get a decent streaming speed?
     
  11. stitch512

    stitch512 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    2,822
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Average bandwidth used for the Xbox 0ne on very high is 19mbit, well within even WiFi speeds. However Lan would be recommended.

    I am looking forward to see how Sony tackle this. They will need official driver support for the DS4 though however being able to use my elite controller would be a huge plus :).
     
  12. Ravennoir

    Ravennoir Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Messages:
    6,409
    Location:
    Melbourne
    When i saw that Sony had announced it, I wondered if they just approached the guy who made the unofficial one
     
  13. OP
    OP
    power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    58,463
    Location:
    brisbane
    Probably not, they already have their own streaming to Vita along with Playstation Now.

    This just got them to do something they may not have planned to do at all or sometime in the future.

    I love the idea because if I want to play PS4 games now I take over the tele not a huge big deal but still - convenient. :thumbup:
     
  14. OP
    OP
    power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    58,463
    Location:
    brisbane
    woop woop

    closer than I thought (but really they had to do it quick).

    Anyone a beta tester? Will this also mean official DS4 support for PC!?!?!

    Next PS4 update will let you play your games on Windows PC or Mac

     
  15. Sharpe

    Sharpe Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Messages:
    7,571
    Location:
    A Secret Rebel Base.
    And ps3 controller support for ps4...
     
  16. OP
    OP
    power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    58,463
    Location:
    brisbane
    that will never happen - different button mappings.
     
  17. Sharpe

    Sharpe Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Messages:
    7,571
    Location:
    A Secret Rebel Base.
    I don't understand, they can't just remap the buttons with a patch?

    Apparently you can use a ps4 controller on ps3, though i'm yet to try that.
     
  18. Ravennoir

    Ravennoir Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2007
    Messages:
    6,409
    Location:
    Melbourne
    You can, but I have only gotten it working while it was connected. That was a while ago though
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: