1. OCAU Merchandise now available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion here.
    Dismiss Notice

Pyrod 94cm 1920x1080 LCD for $1899

Discussion in 'Audio Visual' started by sml_nail, Jun 6, 2006.

  1. sml_nail

    sml_nail Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2002
    Messages:
    1,027
    Location:
    Newcastle, NSW
    Link Here

    With prices like this its getting very tempting to go buy a new tv....
     
  2. Kat5e

    Kat5e Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    Melbourne, 3095
    yes, I SOOOOO want an LCD/plasma at this size or bigger but alas, money is an issue :(:(
     
  3. Reason

    Reason Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2005
    Messages:
    358
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Looks like its 1920 x 1080i, I don't think that is even (True HD) as they have advertised. Still not a bad price, wonder what the refresh rate is.
     
  4. azzachaz

    azzachaz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,570
    Location:
    Canberra
    12ms from the spec sheet
     
  5. paThetic

    paThetic Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Messages:
    217
    Location:
    Melbourne, Vic
    Damnit...and I ordered the Dell 2407. Should I cancel the Dell and get this instead? Its scheduled for delivery next Tuesday and I can't find any cancel order page on Dell's website.
     
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2006
  6. silver6

    silver6 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2002
    Messages:
    966
    Location:
    Sydney
    It does 1080P via DVI

    Althought the picture quality is great via DVI, component and svideo is poor.
     
  7. Kat5e

    Kat5e Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    Melbourne, 3095
    So for someone hooking it up to a pc via DVI, this LCD would be a good option?
     
  8. reevey

    reevey Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Messages:
    241
    Location:
    manly
    http://www.dtvforum.info/index.php?showtopic=36160

    Seems it can handly 1080p through DVI. Just need Powerstrip installed so u can overide the resolutions on your video card. I might pick one of these up tomorrow night if I can be sure I will be able to get a refund if it doesnt support it properly.
     
  9. silver6

    silver6 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2002
    Messages:
    966
    Location:
    Sydney
    Yep for Media Centre PC, it would be great.

    There is no HDCP support
     
  10. reevey

    reevey Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2004
    Messages:
    241
    Location:
    manly
    Hey do you own one of these?

    I want to get rid of my 21" CRT monitor and use this 37" as my main monitor for internet browsing and all sorts and for movies, games, TV aswell.
    I have a big desk so I can sit far enough away from it.

    Cause I was originally looking at getting a Dell 2407 but its not big enough for games and movies in my opinion.

    Also I dont think I have HDCP card anyway so i dont think thats a big concern?
     
  11. silver6

    silver6 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2002
    Messages:
    966
    Location:
    Sydney
    No, i have an Acer 3705 MGW, which is also 1920x1080 37"

    HDCP is a requirement for Vista and HD video, but you also need a compatible card.

    37" is very large to sit infront for general use PC monitor.
     
  12. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    151,937
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Don't worry, over time they have, and will come down even further as they become more mainstream. Plasma's were a bit out of my price range until the last 6 months or so.
     
  13. THeX

    THeX Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2002
    Messages:
    925
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I'm looking foward to checking out this set when it comes out. Knowing Kmart, they probably won't set it up properly with a STB. Usually because the staff there only have their magnavox dvd player splitting up a composite signal 10 times over.

    Then again it is Kmart and not a specialist TV store. So i don't know why i'm pointlessly whinging. For $1899, its a great buy.
     
  14. Mal_nutrition

    Mal_nutrition Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Messages:
    2,381
    Location:
    Perth
    I'm hoping to get one soonish, can't go too far wrong for that price I don't think. Hooked up via DVI to a HTPC set-up would be awesome I would have thought.
     
  15. Kat5e

    Kat5e Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    112
    Location:
    Melbourne, 3095
    tell us what you think of it when you hook it up to the pc coz thats what i want to do with it :) gogo tv card tuner in pc :D
     
  16. paThetic

    paThetic Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2003
    Messages:
    217
    Location:
    Melbourne, Vic
    So has anyone got it yet? I'm so keen on getting it this evening after work. And will my 6800GT be able to drive this LCD?
     
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2006
  17. Andres

    Andres Motor Admin

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    8,051
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Its not that larger resolution, so you're vid card should be fine for HDTV. Gaming may struggle at higher settings. Don't forget its the resolution that makes it harder to push, not the sheer physical size.

    Also i was under the impression the 1080i is HD in Australia. e.g. we don't get 1080p.
     
  18. silver6

    silver6 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2002
    Messages:
    966
    Location:
    Sydney
    Australia calls 576P, 720P and 1080i HD.
    No one is broadcasting 1080P at the moment.

    Blue-Ray will see the introduction of 1080P to the consumer.
     
    Last edited: Jun 8, 2006
  19. arrow224

    arrow224 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,889
    Location:
    Outer SE Melbourne
    That is true. In fact, 576p, 720p and 1080i are all HD in Australia. Not this ED stuff. But, I guess until the stations get the 1080p equipment, and we get the TV's, it is 1080i at the most for us.
     
  20. ifrit375

    ifrit375 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2002
    Messages:
    453
    Location:
    melbourne
    Does anyone know if its VESA standard?
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: