Q6600 G0 SLACR's

Discussion in 'Intel x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by OppyLock, Aug 8, 2007.

  1. OppyLock

    OppyLock Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Messages:
    47
    *sigh* SOMEONE must know when these critters will be on shelves. :(

    What's the odds of them appearing in the next week?
    Any better place to get them OS than priceguidenetwork? They'd be a $50 premium to import it direct ... but it'd be worth it if they're gonna take ages to be readily available.
     
  2. DavLe.BeRRy

    DavLe.BeRRy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,989
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    I've seen the other G0 thread and as far as i can see it's only better overclocking and somewhere else i heard less power consumption.

    I'm in the market for a Q6600 at the moment, but for a guy who never overclocks past stock voltage, would i be best to just pick up a cheap B3? Does anybody know if temps differ?
     
  3. OP
    OP
    OppyLock

    OppyLock Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2003
    Messages:
    47
    B3 & G0 *should* be the same $$$.
    But G0's overclock range should also be better as it's temps should be lower.
    This is due to G0's having a slightly lower stock voltage.

    Power(W) = Current(Amps) x Volts. Lower volts equates to lower power usage ... assuming that current usage stays the same. A G0 therefore might be about $1 cheaper to run over a year (if that). ~10W difference in power used at 100% load. Much less difference as load % scales downwards.

    So, at stock volts (which is lower in a G0) it should either have slightly lower temps at stock speed or allow to OC further due to reduced temps overall.

    There likely won't be much difference between them in the real world. Maybe a hundred MHz or so extra OC ability at stock volts with a stock cooler. Given that most of the power savings have already been realised in the later B3's anyway.

    There are other changes & optimizations in the microcode between versions, but that won't affect us mortals. They'll both work exactly the same unless you program in assembler.
     
  4. Rogue_Elefant

    Rogue_Elefant Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    Messages:
    750
    Location:
    Mount Martha, Vic
  5. Spludge

    Spludge Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,130
    Location:
    Auburn
    We got a couple cartons of them today
     
  6. Akimbo

    Akimbo Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,673
    Location:
    Perth W.A.
    Mike!

    Just put an order for a SLACR, but i will add a note saying i specifically want a SLACR model as well.

    Just sux i wont get it by the weekend...:upset:
     
  7. Spludge

    Spludge Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,130
    Location:
    Auburn
    We shipped 5 to Perth today - only one did not go out due to credit card not ready....
     
  8. quirdan

    quirdan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    1,745
    Location:
    Melbourne
    How accurate is your stock inventory on the website? I'm tempted to order one but don't want to find I'm stuck waiting for another batch next week, only to find that local Victorian walk-in shops have stock by then. :(
     
  9. Menthu_Rae

    Menthu_Rae Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2002
    Messages:
    6,874
    Location:
    Northern Beaches, Sydney
    OMG OMG OMG OMG OMG OMG :D

    As above - how much stock do you have?

    Time to blow my savings on a new PC, expect an order from me soon :thumbup:
     
  10. DavLe.BeRRy

    DavLe.BeRRy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,989
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    It's good to see stores participate on the forums too :)
    thanks for the little update Mike :thumbup:
     
  11. Hardboiled

    Hardboiled Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2002
    Messages:
    488
    Location:
    Melbourne
    But whats with the price premium on a B3 Q6600..:(
     
  12. Doug11

    Doug11 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Messages:
    952

    Me too - keen to get one asap - how long to get to Vic ? Same day packing ?
     
  13. HaZZaD

    HaZZaD Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2001
    Messages:
    30
    Location:
    Melb
    Anyone in seen the in Melb yet? I have my board, ram and vid card ready to role, just want the cpu.
     
  14. Menthu_Rae

    Menthu_Rae Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2002
    Messages:
    6,874
    Location:
    Northern Beaches, Sydney
    I've ordered, but it's Direct Deposit... Say you get 300 orders tomorrow - I won't miss out just because of DD right? :tongue: Really want to start building my new PC early next week... (so if it ships tomorrow/monday...)
     
  15. travrobbo

    travrobbo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    58
    Q6600 GO Stepping

    Hey i was just wondering what is the difference between the new GO stepping and the old one in the q6600???? and i was also wondering whih one would be better if i was not over clocking????
     
  16. Un_OC

    Un_OC Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,507
    if not overclocking.... nothing at all...

    for overclocking it would mean being cooler at higher clocks.. which means at the same temp it can go higher...
     
  17. travrobbo

    travrobbo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    58
    Well should i not wait and get the GO stepping and just get a normal one??
     
  18. Menthu_Rae

    Menthu_Rae Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2002
    Messages:
    6,874
    Location:
    Northern Beaches, Sydney
    You can get G0 stepping now, auspcmarket.com.au

    :thumbup:
     
  19. travrobbo

    travrobbo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    58
    yer i have already ordered it but it wont be here until end of next week... so should i cancel the order and get a regual one on the weekend or wait for the one with the GO stepping???
     
  20. Menthu_Rae

    Menthu_Rae Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2002
    Messages:
    6,874
    Location:
    Northern Beaches, Sydney
    If you're not going to overclock and want your computer NOW, then just get the regular one. :thumbup:
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: