Q6600 What do you think about the new cheap quad core ?

Discussion in 'Intel x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by gonobe, Jul 23, 2007.

  1. doghouse

    doghouse Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,750
    Two words
    Fuck yeah!

    or

    Forty Percent!
     
  2. mshagg

    mshagg Politburo

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    23,089
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Cheers doggy.

    Not a huge overclocker but given hardware thats capable of it... i'lll be giving her a bit of a nudge. I dont imagine a quad core @ stock speed is exactly light on horsepower as it is.

    Put it this way, i have to start DVD encoding and go to bed w/ Pentium D!!
     
  3. doghouse

    doghouse Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,750
    Let me put it this way, using Nero Recode and my quad at 3.6 the whole encoding process took 12minutes, burning took 15.
     
  4. Ridah

    Ridah Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2002
    Messages:
    310
    Location:
    Oakhurst, NSW
    How hot do these cpu's get as opposed to the dual core cpus?
     
  5. Frag

    Frag Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Messages:
    5,072
    Location:
    Perth
    "When you buy 2 x 1Gb PC800 ram for 149"

    LOL I'll sell you my q6600 for $100 when you buy my ram for 400! :p :Pirate:
     
  6. Chinese Farmer

    Chinese Farmer Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Just a quick question, how do you tell whether a Q6600 has G0 or B3 stepping? Is there some kind of a code imprinted onto the chip?
     
  7. seaQuest_AMD

    seaQuest_AMD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,229
    Location:
    Wollongong
    I need the RAM anyways, works out to be a good deal still
     
  8. WishBone17

    WishBone17 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Messages:
    4,496
    Location:
    Dundas (Sydney)
    bought my q6600 when it first came out FOR $702. If i wasnt so impatient i could have saved a heap of money. My B3 stepping hits 3.7 but very unstable. Im running it at 3.5 for everyday computing. Im happy with it...
     
  9. RAMMAN

    RAMMAN Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    133
    even with stock cooling/voltage?
     
  10. CordlezToaster

    CordlezToaster Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,078
    Location:
    Melbourne
  11. Damn_Good

    Damn_Good Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1,649
    We've all been saying that since multicore cpus came out 3 years ago. There have been a couple that spout stuff about running better on multi cores but im guessing the day a quad core is utilised where a dual core cant be is still a long way off for gaming.

    Still thats a bargain price, considering alot of my mates just bought e6600s for like $460 2 months ago.
     
  12. s3kemo

    s3kemo Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2003
    Messages:
    5,889
    Location:
    in a house
    Haha yea, my brother included. E6600 for $390 about 6 weeks ago.

    It will be a very long while, but with what little I know about software development, getting software to distribute processes evenly amongst the available cores (be it 2 or 4) is a bloody difficult task. I've had my current system for 5 years, and my quad-core (comes this afternoon weee!) is something I plan on having for at least a few. I'd like it to eventually be useful for proper multicore functioning games. Mmmm awesome.
     
  13. UB3R

    UB3R Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2002
    Messages:
    2,247
    Location:
    Sydney
    Supcom does use my dual core more than most other games have, i dont think it multithreads the actual game though, just lumps the AI onto one core and the rest to the other (as one core runs at around 90% the whole game but the other slowly builds up as the game progresses).
     
  14. Frag

    Frag Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Messages:
    5,072
    Location:
    Perth
    It takes about 2-3 yrs for software to be developed and since they have been out in force for a good 2 yrs we will see a HUGE increase in sw which uses multi cores. I recall when dual CPU fad started (recall dual C466's?) and some apps did support it but it never took off but now with things done on once cpu... sweeeeet

    And lets face it once SW is optimised for dual core its optimised for quad, oct or whatever. As soon as they develop multithreaded apps it will scale accordingly.

    Now i only want quad core for 2 reasons, video encoding and for gaming. I have used a couple multi threaded apps which have halved my encoding time, and now we are seeing some games which is the tip of the ice berg.
    -- Crysis, Supreme Commander, ++ a fair few more in development which i can't recall names of. Once core for physics, one for environment, one for AI, one for geometry setup or whatever.. anyway even if these drop some more in a year, 300ish for a quad is just BS cheap and its just intel trying to sink AMD before fusion gets off the ground?

    At the very least multicore will give you good multitasking :)
     
  15. HaZZaD

    HaZZaD Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2001
    Messages:
    30
    Location:
    Melb
    Would like to know this myself...
     
  16. vitagen

    vitagen Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    Messages:
    143
    Location:
    Perth, WA
    on the box the product code:

    for example the q6600 i just bought has
    BX80562Q6600SL9UM

    which is B3 stepping

    G0 will have BX80562Q6600SLACR

    just look for the SLACR part
     
  17. onthepulse

    onthepulse Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2005
    Messages:
    652
    Location:
    Box Hill Sth, Melbourne
    This is exactly my dilemma. Anyone got a G0 stepping on air with some results?
    Are the G0s available in Aus yet? Where?
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: