1. OCAU Merchandise now available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion here.
    Dismiss Notice

QNAP TS-439 Pro

Discussion in 'Storage & Backup' started by nogi, Jun 1, 2009.

  1. nogi

    nogi Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    470
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Hi All,

    I was looking at the Thecus N4100Pro or 5200B but then a mate showed me a link to the QNAP TS-439 Pro. Has anyone here got any experience with them? They seem to perform better but I am after real world feedback.

    Regards,
    NoGi
     
  2. zeropoint

    zeropoint (Banned or Deleted)

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Just joined OCAU so only just saw this thread.

    Got myself a QNAP ts-439 about a week ago and it's going brilliantly. Still figuring out how things work, but overall one of the better investments I've made.

    Haven't fully utilised all the features yet. Currently acting as the file server. Once I copied everything, will automate backup, then using the download features.

    Let me know if you have any other questions
     
  3. Evo6

    Evo6 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    230
    Location:
    Adelaide
    I am in the same boat, I have my DNS-323 for sale on the fourm and I want to get one of the QNAP setups. They do get very good reviews and with the new firmware that was just released they look even better. They are pretty $$$$ especially without drives but from the reviews well worth it.

    Try http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/ for great NAS reviews. They have the QNAP TS-439 Pro reviewed at http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/content/view/30828/75/

    Best price on staticice is $1129.00 has anyone found it better then that?
     
  4. Rezin

    Rezin Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    9,490
    What firmware is it running? Version 3.x? I'm backing up my TS-209 as I write this... going to put that on when it's finished.
     
  5. Schnooper

    Schnooper Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    796
    Yer, I got one. Had it for about 3 weeks. Its great, really happy with it. The performance is awesome. And feature packed to boot.
     
  6. Sn00py

    Sn00py Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    Brisbane
    The QNAP software is very good.
    I have got my hands on QNAP TS-639 (6 Drives) & Drobo Pro (8 Drives). Very different products. Drobo is slower than the QNAP. Drobo's build quality is excellent & user interface is very simplistic. QNAP is more built like a mini PC.

    I am leaning towards the QNAP, Group buy anyone ;)
     
  7. Evo6

    Evo6 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    230
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Group buy hell yes :thumbup:
     
  8. Santa

    Santa Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2002
    Messages:
    562
    Location:
    Sydney
    I would so want one.
    It seems like a fantastic little box with a low power but probably adequate cpu. Would have been good if you could upgrade it to a dual core atom but I don't think you can.
    Would be a perfect little box for file serving and networking duties.
     
  9. BassMstr

    BassMstr Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2004
    Messages:
    126
    Location:
    Bunbury, Australia
    I'd be interested in a group buy. Approach a supplier or retailer?
     
  10. huggies

    huggies Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2002
    Messages:
    526
    Location:
    Melbourne
    it's also worth taking a look at the NETGEAR ReadyNAS series
    ill be grabbing a readynas pioneer pro (6 drive bays) in the next couple of weeks
    and have found its alot cheaper to buy out from the usa and post it over

    QNAP TS-639 is$1460 aud delivered
    NETGEAR ReadyNAS PRO Pioneer Edition $1574 aud delivered
     
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2009
  11. Sn00py

    Sn00py Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    Brisbane
    PM me your details if you are interested so I can add you to the list.
    Name,contact number,state,model interested in.

    QNAP
    Sn00py, 639, QLD
    EVO6, 439
     
  12. Sn00py

    Sn00py Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I guess dependant on the numbers. Retail or Supplier, Doesn't matter, Price matters, some online store charge an arm and a leg for delivery :shock: Might have to weed them out.
    Please feel free to add pricing to this thread and use the list of people interested and their model numbers.
     
  13. Rezin

    Rezin Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    9,490
    You might want to check with Agg before organising a group buy.
     
  14. Sil

    Sil Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Messages:
    1,366
    How fast are the copying speeds, we used to have one of the older QNAP 4 port NAS servers and it was terrible, never had copying speeds over 10mb/s.
     
  15. Sn00py

    Sn00py Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    Brisbane
    PMed Agg, Awaiting reply.
     
  16. Sn00py

    Sn00py Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Messages:
    16
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Went to SmallNetBuilder's website and checked out the comparison between the Netgear Ready NAS Duo Pro vs QNAP. I have a few graphs of the difference.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Based on RAID-5
     
  17. Schnooper

    Schnooper Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    796
    I get about 70-90MB/s using windows file copy too the NAS, and about 90-100MB/s copy from. Using 4x1TB WD10EADS is RAID0. PC is a i7 920, Intel Gigabit NIC, and a Cisco 2960G using Jumbo frames (didnt make any difference) and single connection only, no etherchannel.

    ATTO Benchmark results, pushing the gigabit capacity there. :)

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2009
  18. anthony256

    anthony256 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2001
    Messages:
    10,781
    Location:
    Adelaide
    I use the 639PRO and it kicks ass.

    Usenet built in
    BT built in
    Media server
    FTP server
    HTTP server
    Turns off at certain times as I set it

    Millions of other things.

    Wouldn't recommend anything but !
     
  19. SaTaN

    SaTaN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2002
    Messages:
    4,790
    Location:
    Caulfield-ish
    I've got a ts-439 and its great... I think its not configured properly though because I'm only getting ~11MB/s write speed over ssh
     
  20. x0nt

    x0nt Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2001
    Messages:
    1,140
    Location:
    Sydney
    just wanted to register interest in group buy, 639 preferred.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: