Question about M.2 NVMe SSDs

Discussion in 'Troubleshooting Help' started by ibace, Oct 12, 2018.

  1. ibace

    ibace Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2015
    Messages:
    94
    Location:
    Bathurst NSW...
    As my motherboard supports this form of Solid State drive, about the only query I have is; if I was to set this up as my boot drive do I have to be running Windows 10, or would I be able to use it with a Windows 8 Operating System?

    Would like the speed advantages of these type of installation, but nothing will make me go back to Windows 10...
     
  2. self_slaughter

    self_slaughter Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,289
    Location:
    4165
    hell on your motherboard you'd probably find nvme drivers for windows 7. Had my z370 and m2 running mint on win 7.
    She'll be fine. :)
     
  3. whiskyrichard

    whiskyrichard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    I don't see why not.
     
  4. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    134,250
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Plus the minimalisation with not having drives hanging out. I haven't looked back since installing two on my main rigs motherboard.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    ibace

    ibace Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2015
    Messages:
    94
    Location:
    Bathurst NSW...
    Thanks for the advice Fellas....will go ahead....
     
  6. Deano_20802

    Deano_20802 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    Messages:
    356
    Location:
    Tas
    I've been using a few z370 setups on Win 7 and Win 8.1 with NVMe no worries.

    If you inspect the Win 10 driver bundles with many of the z370 boards you'll find that they're actually the full Win 7+ supported packages, but only advertised as Win 10 only. I've inspected and tested several, no issues to date.

    Many of these boards actually launched / pre ordered with full driver suites for Win 7 and Win 8.1 too, but were then removed sometime later.

    I actually found the difference for general use and gaming negligible so I went back to a trio of SSD's (because I need 6x Sata ports as well), but if you don't need all your ports then why not get that little bit extra.
     

Share This Page