Rainbow 6: Siege

Discussion in 'PC Games' started by walker_2003, Jun 10, 2014.

  1. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    32,881
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    OK, so I booked a hotel and my 3 day pass for the Six Invitationals.
     
  2. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    32,881
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    Some custom t-shirt art I've been working on.

    [​IMG]


    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2018
  3. Unr3strictabl3

    Unr3strictabl3 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Hey guys,

    Im part of a fairly large and active community on siege. We have a lot of lower rank people come through and they seem to improve drastically. I am on whenever i have some free time, and am happy to team up when possible. Feel free to add me on uplay as i am always trying to expand the community.

    Uplay: Riggiee

    Cheers
     
  4. ChinoPD

    ChinoPD Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Messages:
    10,932
    Location:
    Canberra
    I haven't gamed for three weeks, maybe even a month. WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH :upset::upset::upset::upset:
     
  5. Sharpe

    Sharpe Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Messages:
    7,550
    Location:
    A Secret Rebel Base.
    Considering gettin gthis game but;
    - Concerned i'm too late. I'll get owned and not know what i'm doing and i'll be put off.
    - Steep learning curve?
    - Can I just buy the base game or is it necessary to buy all DLC?
     
  6. Unr3strictabl3

    Unr3strictabl3 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    -There is no 'too' late with r6
    - Definitely a steep learning curve, but all the more rewarding when you get past the initial stages.
    - I would recommend playing with others/friends to aid skipping a heavier learning curve, after getting accustomed to the game mechanics, map knowledge is all thats left, and unfortunately that comes with time.
    - Buy the base starter edition, time played will reward you with new operators, and you can learn their uses as you unlock them.

    Cheers
     
  7. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    32,881
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    Nah, you're not late but you do have a steep learning curve with the new maps and operators that are coming out in the next few weeks.

    It's steep because there's a lot of strategy and tactics in learning how to defend sites, attack them, with a key emphasis on vertical play (ie. get shot through floors and ceilings)

    It's best you buy the standard edition and buy the operator bundles if you don't want to grind for them. Don't buy the starter edition because the operators cost more to unlock than in standard edition.

    Worst advice because you get 8 operators and the rest cost way more to unlock with renown compared to the standard edition. The standard edition has more operators available. Every person that plays siege, be it a streamer or whoever, will say not to buy the starter edition.

    What I did is buy the standard edition, the year 1 and year 2 operator bundles, and the year 3 season pass.

    The new operators are playable now on the Technical Test Server for those who own the game.
     
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2018
  8. Tazor

    Tazor Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,112
    Location:
    Canterbury, 3126
    As the others have said it's never too late cos there is always new people playing, especially on Free weekends.

    The learning curve is steep, yes, but once you get past the initial hump this is the most satisfying and rewarding FPS you will play.

    Buy the standard edition, do not buy the starter, there is no gameplay content locked behind a pay wall, only some specific cosmetics which do not change the gameplay at all.
    Standard includes all original operators who are some of the best anyway and Year 1 DLC operators are 50% til March.

    Get on it son, you won't regret it.
     
  9. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    32,881
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    i haven't had the chance to try nomad cos other people have been taking them before I get a chance to get to the operator selection screen.
     
  10. Sharpe

    Sharpe Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2006
    Messages:
    7,550
    Location:
    A Secret Rebel Base.
    Ok I caved and got the standard edition!
     
    ni9ht_5ta1k3r likes this.
  11. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    32,881
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    good man! :thumbup:

    I'll probably play with ya if I come back to Australia.
     
  12. Tazor

    Tazor Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,112
    Location:
    Canterbury, 3126
    I hope you didn't have any meaningful Human relationships. You won't be needing those anymore. Siege is your friend now. Siege will take care of you.
     
    ni9ht_5ta1k3r likes this.
  13. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    32,881
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    He is one of us now!
     
    Tazor likes this.
  14. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    32,881
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    I love it when I can get headshot kills on the same operator twice in 1 game :D

     
  15. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    32,881
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    Tazor what do you set your resolution scaler to? I tried both 55 and 100 and I can't tell the difference between the two.

    EDIT: Also i do love it when i get an ace in siege :D

     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2018
  16. Tazor

    Tazor Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,112
    Location:
    Canterbury, 3126
    I've always set to 100 for optimal sharpness, depends on the output res and GPU.
    1080ti at 1080p means I can really crank it
     
  17. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    32,881
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    I just ask because I tried setting it to native 900p at 100% and 1080p at 70% and 1080p at 100% and I couldn't tell the difference between 1080p at 100% and 70% but there's a difference between 900p at 100% and 1080p at 70% even though the game's internal res is pretty much dead on.
     
  18. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    32,881
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    Tazor, Here's some comparisons I made and you can tell the difference between 1080p with the render scale at 50%, 70%, and 100% then you must have really good eyes because I am having a hard time trying to tell the difference.

    If you look at the first comparison, the expected result is that the 900p at 100% should look the same as 1080p at 70%...but they do not. It's clear that the 1080p at 70% is displaying a better image than native 900p.

    If you can't tell the difference between 50%, 70%, and 100% then why have it set to 100%. It's clear that ubi has done something with the image upscaling and reconstruction to make it near impossible to tell the difference.

    [​IMG]

    Can you tell the difference?

    [​IMG]

    Can you?

    [​IMG]

    Are you sure you can still tell?

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2018
  19. PMack_525

    PMack_525 Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2016
    Messages:
    57
    Location:
    Central Coast, NSW
    With the attached image, how do I get rid of the radar and "audio boost" stuff. I can't seem to find it in settings...
     

    Attached Files:

  20. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    32,881
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー

Share This Page