1. OCAU Merchandise now available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion here.
    Dismiss Notice

ram speeds

Discussion in 'Memory' started by philquad, Dec 4, 2019.

  1. philquad

    philquad Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,251
    Location:
    nelson bay
    if a older mobo says it only takes dd3 1333, 1066 etc
    does that mean exactly that, 1600 will never work or is it only picky boards

    i fired up this old 775 board @ had 2gb sammy 1333 & the only other 2gb i could find was old ocz 800 so i tried it but got sick of the bsod's. but tripple titanium sounds good.

    runs better just with the 2gb samsung.

    i thought faster ram - 1600 would just run slowwer ?
     
  2. dasa2

    dasa2 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    783
    Location:
    Northern VIC
    It will unless you OC the FSB then it can run 1600.
    But not all sticks are compatible with all BIOS or mixes of sticks.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    philquad

    philquad Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,251
    Location:
    nelson bay
    thanks
    yea was a 4gb 1600 i tried & another one, it just beeps at me, i guess it just dont like em
     
  4. dasa2

    dasa2 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    783
    Location:
    Northern VIC
    Some of the earlier 775MB didn't like 4GB sticks or RAM what model is it?
    Maybe a BIOS update could help depending on the model.
    Also what is the model of the RAM?
     
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2019
  5. OP
    OP
    philquad

    philquad Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    1,251
    Location:
    nelson bay
    its 1 of those gigabyte combo jobs, ddr2-ddr3
    works fine with 2gb samsung 1333, i just left it, used a 240 crucial ssd, its only a freebie email pc
    i remember having drama with the ocz ram when i bought it, looks cool but.
     
  6. Butcher9_9

    Butcher9_9 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2006
    Messages:
    2,284
    Location:
    Perth , East Vic Park
    some times there are also issues with denser memory chips even at the same total capacity .

    Had a machine that worked with double sided sticks but not singled sided ones, same capacity, model and everything (almost exactly the same part, manufacture , was just a newer revision. )
     
  7. rthy

    rthy Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    Messages:
    984
    Location:
    Melbourne

Share This Page

Advertisement: