Ram

Discussion in 'Other CPUs and chipsets' started by Rotty, Aug 20, 2001.

  1. Rotty

    Rotty Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2001
    Messages:
    3
    Hi all
    I've got a problem with my system which is Tbird 900, A7V133 mb, Asus TNT2 ultra, and a Diamond MX300 sound card.
    Now I had 256 meg of Ram and have added another two 256 meg lots of PC133 ram
    and now I find the game DF3 sometimes hesitates as you play. I've played around with different ram combinations but it seems when you go over 256meg it happens.
    The original lot of ram was century and the new stuff is hyundai.
    Anyone got any bright ideas why I now have a problem.
    Any help would be much appreciated

    cheers
     
  2. DeLaw340

    DeLaw340 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    58
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, Louisiana
    Mixing ram by brands can cause problems worse if it is cheep stuff. If your running Win98 anything over 512 is a waste.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    Rotty

    Rotty Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2001
    Messages:
    3
    Thanks for the quick reply.
    Well I tried the two hyundai together and had the same probs.
    Funnily enough running everything else seems fine, and I've tried some ram testers etc and everything checks out
    but when you play df3 it starts to hesitate, tho not always.
    I guess I'll keep looking for an answer lol.

    Don't ya just love puters :)
     
  4. Addict4

    Addict4 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2001
    Messages:
    147
    Location:
    Adelaide
    What operating system are you using?
     
  5. OP
    OP
    Rotty

    Rotty Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2001
    Messages:
    3
    Win98se
    last night I flashed my mb bios to 1005a
    and have put the latest beta drivers from asus
    which are 11.01c
    I"ve yet had the time to see if this has made a difference
     
  6. auenf

    auenf Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    373
    Location:
    South Camden NSW
    search for another reply to mine about winme (i think) and 512+mb of ram, there is a ms knowlege base article about win9x memory addressing and why it brings up out of memory errors and even fails to boot with 512+mb installed. this same problem will cause not as extreme problems with less memory, but of course the win9x kernel still uses the 640kb conventional to 'segment' the upper and extended memory areas.

    Enf...
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: