Realtek HD Audio - Wow.

Discussion in 'PC Audio' started by Little Man, Jan 9, 2010.

Tags:
  1. Little Man

Little Man Member

Hi all, im actually very alarmed by what im hearing and need ocau's audiophile guidance.

My Audio Setup is AD700's and Xonar Essence STX.
    I've lent the STX to a friend and im using onboard for the first time in a million years.
    I just re-installed my computer with vista, loaded up the latest Realtek HD Audio drivers and installed foobar2000 and played from John Mayer Flacs and ...

It sounds exactly the same.

I don't understand what's happening, Realtek has somehow because extremely good or my STX wasnt ever performing. I was extremely happy with the music and gaming performance of my STX + AD700 but listening to AD700 + onboard...its exactly the same:eek:
    Now, im not an audio expert and am not 100% what to be listening out for but listening with an open mind and open and non-biased ears, they sound the same, maybe slightly different.

What's going on?:confused:

2. HyRax1

HyRax1 ¡Viva la Resolutión!

On-board tech isn't that bad at all these days. I think the only limitation you may come across is that off-board solutions tend to have more channels to play on simultaneously, eg: 64 channels vs 32 channels or similar.

3. Agg

Agg Lord of the Pings

Yup, I've been using onboard sound for years now, I think the last sound card I bought was an "SB Live!" :) Works fine for my cloth ears.

4. OP
    OP
    Little Man

Little Man Member

But whats all this jabber "OMG it's amazing" going around then?
    I'm yet to try games (installing now) but surely, the STX which is so highly regarded would at least be distinguishable from onboard?!
    I was thinking of switch from STX to Forte but was worried about sacrificing music, and if onboard is this good, then forte must be the same as stx :eek:
    This is outrageous, i want my money back!

5. HyRax1

HyRax1 ¡Viva la Resolutión!