Reciever keeps turning on

Discussion in 'Audio Visual' started by miicah, Mar 1, 2021.

  1. miicah

    miicah Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    7,184
    Location:
    Mount Cotton, QLD
    https://au.yamaha.com/en/products/audio_visual/av_receivers_amps/htr-2071/index.html

    I bought this AVR a while ago and finally bought a TV to support it. However I had to turn off all the CEC power controls on the TV as I would constantly wake up to find the TV and AVR turned on.

    Now that I have solved the problem of the TV randomly turning on, I still wake up every morning to find the AVR has again, turned itself back on.

    Anyone have any tips on what might be going on?
     
  2. Technics

    Technics Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Messages:
    2,068
    Location:
    Brisbane, AU
    Did you try turning CEC control off on the AVR as well?
     
    JSmithDTV likes this.
  3. JSmithDTV

    JSmithDTV Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2018
    Messages:
    8,605
    Location:
    Algol, Perseus
  4. mesaoz

    mesaoz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    7,805
    Location:
    South East QLD
    I've had CEC devices get themselves in loops before

    Turn one off, it sends shutdown signal to the other device, which then sends turn on signal back to the first device and they both start doing a boot loop dance... try to make sure the CEC is only happening in one direction, or it can get weird.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    miicah

    miicah Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    7,184
    Location:
    Mount Cotton, QLD
    I think I've figured it out, I had my foxtel and switch plugged into the AVR and apparently devices connected to the AVR can send some sort of signal to the AVR which it interprets as you wanting to watch something. So it turns itself on. I've unplugged everything from the AVR and will see what happens.

    Otherwise I guess I'll give up on ARC which is pretty fucking annoying.
     
  6. Sledge

    Sledge Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8,693
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Yeah and her I am.. go turn on a device and nothing wakes up!
    Have to turn on TV,AVR, and device all separately..
     
  7. th3_hawk

    th3_hawk Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,396
    Location:
    Kilsyth 3137
    In the old days I could never get CEC to work in anything approaching a reliable way, these days it's been pretty good across two TV's including one with a receiver. Although for one I had to swap out a brand new and known (thought) good HDMI cable before it would work... bloody HDMI never seems to quite do what you expect it to do.

    ^^ did you answer this?

    Unless you turn it off on devices trying to turn themselves on (like Foxtel/PVR's that wake up for updates or tv guide info) you can get these random turn ons.
     
  8. OP
    OP
    miicah

    miicah Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    7,184
    Location:
    Mount Cotton, QLD
    So I finally got this licked the other day.

    Had to replug everything so chain now goes: FOXTEL > TV > AVR (ARC HDMI port)

    Turned on CEC in the Foxtel box and I had to set the EDID(?) setting on the TV to 1.4k which fixed the black screen issue I was getting. I turned everything on in the AVR settings, and changed standby sync to "On":

    Now the only time it randomly turns on is when my son fiddles with the AVR dials :rolleyes:
     
  9. Renza

    Renza Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    4,851
    Location:
    Melbourne
    You probably wont get 5.1 from Foxtel unless your TV and Receiver both do eARC. not sure if foxtel broadcasts 5.1 though
     
  10. /invariance\

    /invariance\ Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,099
    Location:
    Brisbane
    ...and sometimes you are quickly reminded that you forgot to make sure the volume was turned down before powering the unit up. :)
     
  11. BistecConBigote

    BistecConBigote Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2013
    Messages:
    84
    It does, but not all broadcasts.
     
  12. OP
    OP
    miicah

    miicah Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    7,184
    Location:
    Mount Cotton, QLD
    All good, only have bookshelves atm. And the TV passes RAW audio over ARC so it should be fine?
     
  13. Renza

    Renza Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    4,851
    Location:
    Melbourne
    It'll pass DTS or AC3/DD or stereo PCM I believe, anything more than that you won't get (basically sends the SPDIF signal)
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: