1. OCAU Merchandise now available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion here.
    Dismiss Notice

Regular Outages - how to lodge fault with Internode?

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by alexc, May 19, 2020.

  1. alexc

    alexc Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,605
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Hi,

    This might seem an odd ask, but whats the best way to lodge a support request to Internode about outages?

    Obviously I can call them... but my experience is that they don't really do anything other than bounce it to NBN. Who then say they've done a line test and everything is fine...

    So is there a good way to demonstrate my issues?

    We get regular outages at peak times; 845am, 430pm, 630pm etc...

    The router (supplied Technicolor) is up and connected, but ping tests on the routers to internode.on.net fail and then come back with high latency times.

    Request timeout for icmp_seq 39
    64 bytes from 192.231.203.31: icmp_seq=3 ttl=57 time=37672.932 ms

    Is there monitoring or something my end I can use that they will believe and not just fob me off?

    Is this a congestion problem? Will switching to Aussie Broadband be better?

    Thanks!
     
  2. supasaiyan

    supasaiyan Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    4,841
    Location:
    3000
    i know with telstra, they can monitor your line for extended periods of time for outages. When customers used to complain about ADSL dropping because of rain or whatever, we used to do it
     
    alexc likes this.
  3. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    11,005
    Location:
    Melbourne
    every ISP has access to the same tools, although some may have built their own automation to allow regular scheduled testing.

    OP - if your outages are regular and coincide with peak usage, then right there it's very unlikely to be the NBN supplied component of your service at fault. copper lines (which is what I presume you have based on the comment about line testing) don't have wristwatches and knock off for a break at regular intervals.

    if your router isn't showing the connection as dropping, then you're either talking about the WAN session or the DSL link, but the former depends on the latter, so either way the line isn't going down so again - not an NBN issue.

    personally I would churn in your situation.
     
    alexc likes this.
  4. Nobby6

    Nobby6 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2017
    Messages:
    110
    Location:
    S.E.Q
    Maybe not, however if the times are nearly always the same, then one should inquire with neighbours, if anything happens regularly around those times, eg: perhaps one of them has something that is generating noise causing problems on line, have seen this before, mostly with someone operating things like welders or some other form of dirty electrics - even found one problem caused by a ham radio op.

    I'd be looking sat the modem stats for good times and bad times and see what the noise levels are like, its the cheapest and less painful thing to try first before going down internode/tpg's care-not call centre
     
    alexc likes this.
  5. OP
    OP
    alexc

    alexc Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,605
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Thanks for the replies!

    I'm in a notoriously bad area (Adelaide hills).

    My kids friend who lives round the corner, says who is also on Internode, says his goes down at the same times.

    I've checked and my contract is up on the 29th of this month - I shall churn to ABB.

    LOL - It's driving me nuts - everyday around 430... the kids are home from school and trying to play Roblox/Fortnite/MineCraft and come in complaining the internet is down again!
     
  6. MELso76

    MELso76 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    219
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Unfortunately, Node (and iiNet) ain't what it once was, having degenerated under TPG's ownership into a rebranding exercise for TPG's own products while they charge a premium price. Good call on churning to ABB (note you'll probably want to opt out of CGNAT that ABB runs although $5 for a static IP isn't too bad)...
     
    alexc likes this.
  7. OP
    OP
    alexc

    alexc Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,605
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Thanks for the heads up!

    I have a legit business from home with an ABN, so will try the ABB Business service which gives me a static IP!

    Which will be super handy :)
     
  8. supasaiyan

    supasaiyan Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    4,841
    Location:
    3000
  9. OP
    OP
    alexc

    alexc Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,605
    Location:
    Adelaide
  10. asho444

    asho444 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1,509
    Location:
    Sunny Coast
    Also can vouch for mate, I'm with them $10 cheaper, all aussie support and very efficient!
     
  11. TheWedgie

    TheWedgie Insert Custom Title Here

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2002
    Messages:
    2,987
    Also, see if any of your mates are with ABB and use their referral code. You both get $50 credit (could be $100 for business services still).

    If not, plenty of us on here with one :lol:
     
  12. OP
    OP
    alexc

    alexc Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,605
    Location:
    Adelaide
    I'm noticing a ton of warnings in my log at the moment. Are these to blame?

    May 22 16:17:49 daemon.notice transformer [wansensing] (L3PPP) runs L3PPPMain.check(VDSL,timeout)
    May 22 16:17:17 kern.warn kernel [242635.345000] Security warning-packet drop:IN=pppoe-wan OUT= MAC= SRC=89.248.168.220 DST=118.210.133.43 LEN=40 TOS=0x00 PREC=0x00 TTL=243 ID=54321 PROTO=TCP SPT=45974 DPT=11001 WINDOW=65535 RES=0x00 SYN URGP=0 MARK=0x8000000
    May 22 16:17:09 daemon.notice transformer [mobiled] (WaitingForDevice) runs WaitingForDevice-Main.check(timeout, 1, PlatformConfigure)
    May 22 16:16:49 daemon.notice transformer [wansensing] The L3PPP main script is checking link connectivity and DHCP on l2type interface VDSL
    May 22 16:16:49 daemon.notice transformer [wansensing] (L3PPP) runs L3PPPMain.check(VDSL,timeout)
    May 22 16:16:37 kern.warn kernel [242595.351000] Security warning-packet drop:IN=pppoe-wan OUT= MAC= SRC=94.102.53.112 DST=118.210.133.43 LEN=40 TOS=0x00 PREC=0x00 TTL=243 ID=14213 PROTO=TCP SPT=56632 DPT=32331 WINDOW=1024 RES=0x00 SYN URGP=0 MARK=0x8000000
    May 22 16:16:37 kern.warn kernel [242594.627000] Security warning-packet drop:IN=pppoe-wan OUT= MAC= SRC=13.108.250.135 DST=118.210.133.43 LEN=40 TOS=0x00 PREC=0x00 TTL=246 ID=6397 DF PROTO=TCP SPT=443 DPT=52811 WINDOW=4723 RES=0x00 ACK URGP=0 MARK=0x8000000
    May 22 16:16:26 kern.warn kernel [242584.080000] Security warning-packet drop:IN=pppoe-wan OUT= MAC= SRC=142.93.105.174 DST=118.210.133.43 LEN=40 TOS=0x00 PREC=0x00 TTL=241 ID=27482 PROTO=TCP SPT=51592 DPT=17288 WINDOW=1024 RES=0x00 SYN URGP=0 MARK=0x8000000
    May 22 16:16:26 kern.warn kernel [242583.817000] Security warning-packet drop:IN=pppoe-wan OUT= MAC= SRC=139.59.211.245 DST=118.210.133.43 LEN=40 TOS=0x00 PREC=0x00 TTL=241 ID=58176 PROTO=TCP SPT=32767 DPT=8545 WINDOW=1024 RES=0x00 SYN URGP=0 MARK=0x8000000
    May 22 16:16:17 kern.warn kernel [242575.009000] Security warning-packet drop:IN=pppoe-wan OUT= MAC= SRC=93.174.93.195 DST=118.210.133.43 LEN=57 TOS=0x00 PREC=0x00 TTL=243 ID=54321 PROTO=UDP SPT=57032 DPT=40919 LEN=37 MARK=0x8000000
     
  13. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    11,005
    Location:
    Melbourne
    that plus your ping tests failing are both demonstrating an intermittent WAN connectivity failure. are you noticing the WAN session or sync go down on your modem at the same time? (reconfirming what I think you mentioned above here.)
     
  14. OP
    OP
    alexc

    alexc Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,605
    Location:
    Adelaide
    SYNC is up - but even in the modem admin, I cant ping or trasceroute :-(

    I've logged a support request with Internode.

    I'm churning anyway to ABB at this point.
     
  15. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    11,005
    Location:
    Melbourne
    probably the ultimate isolation test at this point.
     
    alexc likes this.
  16. OP
    OP
    alexc

    alexc Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,605
    Location:
    Adelaide
    I think so :)

    Our copper was laid in 1997...

    LOL - internally I have Ubiquiti networking gear, all new cabling etc.. I even paid for a new pit to be installed. My home network is amazballs as the kids say LOL

    But I cant fight 1400m of >20 year old copper and FTTN :-/

    Hey ho. Maybe one day I'll be able to get 5G :-D
     
  17. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    11,005
    Location:
    Melbourne
    copper age really isn't a factor. it's maintenance that makes the difference.

    it seems unlikely your line is actually 1400m long though.
     
    alexc likes this.
  18. Nobby6

    Nobby6 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2017
    Messages:
    110
    Location:
    S.E.Q
    I see stuff laid in the 60's and 70's still purring along fine.

    OK there was a period where telstra were using that gel that ate everything, I''m sure Caspian will correct me if i'm wrong but I think that was around the late 90's.
     
  19. caspian

    caspian Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2002
    Messages:
    11,005
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I think so, it was in the ground and beginning to be a considerable problem when I started around 2000.

    the last house I lived in had copper going back to the 70s, I got 19Mbps on ADSL2+ at about 1300m loop length, which was very good. (after I had the bridge tap at the pillar cut away, anyway!)

    copper doesn't really deteriorate with age, what impacts it is water ingress through joints which causes both corroded conductor joints and wet-in-length cable that acts like an inductor is present, which depresses the upper frequency response that DSL depends on for real performance. the gel was supposed to exclude water and prevent this, but in practice it actually resulted in water being trapped inside joints and making the problem worse - not better. and accessing the joint afterwards for maintenance was painful, because the set gel had to be broken out of the joint to get to the individual pairs, and it was easy to do other damage without knowing.

    there's an interview article on the subject here that some people might find interesting. https://www.abc.net.au/technology/articles/2013/09/18/3851118.htm

    corroded or unsoldered connections in pillars are also an issue. not soldering is just laziness, but we apparently have not yet found and shot the last tech still guilty of it.
     
    alexc and Nobby6 like this.
  20. OP
    OP
    alexc

    alexc Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2002
    Messages:
    1,605
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Apparently it is...

    Thats the report I got from an NBN engineer back in 2018 when we had it first installed, anyway. Maybe no one really knows :)

    The first engineer repaired multiple faults in the line... where we live is notoriously bad :)
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: