1. OCAU Merchandise is available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion in this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

Remote Support / Control Tool

Discussion in 'Business & Enterprise Computing' started by Skit, Jun 7, 2007.

  1. Skit

    Skit Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2002
    Messages:
    2,125
    Location:
    freo.wa.au
    Our current config is a mix of VNC and Remote Desktop. Remote Desktop is mostly useless as you either need to logon separately to the user and walk them through how to use the tool. VNC is handy enough but rather resource hungry and time consuming to deploy to each machine.

    What do you use to provide Remote Support to end users?
     
  2. Elimfarq

    Elimfarq Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    74
    Dameware... http://www.dameware.com

    The latest version also does RDP if you want. You can also push it out to servers/workstations. And you only need to license the computer it is installed on. The agents do not need licenses.
     
  3. Daft_Munt

    Daft_Munt Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    8,014
    Location:
    Hobart, The Federal Group
    I use MetaLAN by hammer software. Allows us to VNC into PC at remote site and will install VNC on the clients PC if it is not already installed. You can also use remote assist, plus it has a range of reporting tool eg free disk space for every PC on the network.
     
  4. youngpro

    youngpro Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,451
    personally i just use ultravnc,

    i made a msi package with wininstall, distributed it with software distribution gpo, but you could use sms if you want reporting, seems to work flawless so far,

    much better than rdp, allows me to view what the user is doing for support purposes... id recommend in big or small organizations...
     
  5. RaZ

    RaZ Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    404
    Location:
    Brissy
    Dameware = the goods - or here we are using a thing called Remote Admin aka Radmin. tis ok - but I don't like it much.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    Skit

    Skit Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2002
    Messages:
    2,125
    Location:
    freo.wa.au
    That sounds like the go, can't believe I didn't think of that. :p

    Now to try get get another msi package rollout out to work on three different domains... :sick:
     
  7. skyline34

    skyline34 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    564
    Location:
    ACT
    Whats wrong with using XP remote desktop???

    The offer remote assistance tool does not require any user interaction other than the click of an OK button. It is different to the request remote assistance. Which as you state requires the user to go through a few steps to initiate the process. The offer remote assistance tool is initiated from the helpers end. As apposed to the users end.

    KB here

    You will need to use Group policy and have a domain though. But it is certainly easier than doing msi packages and running third party software.

    Edit: All this assumes you are running XP on all desktops
     
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2007
  8. Dexash

    Dexash Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2003
    Messages:
    231
    Location:
    Canberra... again

    This is what I use at work, it works well, the only caveat being it requires a connection to the users machine on what appears to be a random port. (There is a KB on configuring XP firewall to deal with this)
     
    Last edited: Jun 7, 2007
  9. OP
    OP
    Skit

    Skit Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2002
    Messages:
    2,125
    Location:
    freo.wa.au
    Good for the most part, but I have a lot of people ask for help then walk away from the desk... :confused:
     
  10. Phool

    Phool Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    688
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    I use ultraVNC single click
    Set up a repeater on a machine
    Go to ultravnc site, learn about configuring the .exe
    Stick the .exe on a web page

    The user then downloads it, enters a mutally agreed session number and it automatically connects to your repeater

    From your workstation you connect to the repeater also and pass the same session ID and voila, you have the remote machine

    It only uses one or 2 ports and they are settable/fixed

    When the user is done it auto removes itself.
     
  11. RaZ

    RaZ Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    404
    Location:
    Brissy
    Well when you use RDP - sometimes it does not update sys info - more so an issue on servers when dealing with LUN's & what not, sometime services as well will report that they are not running when in fact they are. Again all stuff up's with RDP.

    Also it pays to plan this with your SOE roll outs people :) :cool:
     
  12. OP
    OP
    Skit

    Skit Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2002
    Messages:
    2,125
    Location:
    freo.wa.au
    What SOEs..? :rolleyes:
     
  13. Simwah

    Simwah Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2005
    Messages:
    1,998
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Standard Operating Environment
     
  14. Beanz

    Beanz Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,220
    Location:
    Melbourne, Vic
    We use GotoAssist. It is _awesome_.

    Handles dual monitor setups etc very very nicely.
     
  15. ouwens

    ouwens Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Messages:
    1
    Location:
    Adelaide
    We also use Ultrvnc Single Click. Once compiled our package is about 200k. I have found it works a lot quicker than RDC aswell.
     
  16. OP
    OP
    Skit

    Skit Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2002
    Messages:
    2,125
    Location:
    freo.wa.au
    I get that, just wish I had the luxury of being able to use one. ;)
     
  17. Elimfarq

    Elimfarq Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    74
    Go with Dameware. We use it at work for all our desktop customers. Never had a problem.

    VNC and the like are great products/services, just like RDP. However if you download Dameware and have a play (there is a 30 day trial) you might find that little added extras are worth it.

    Please Note: Even though it sounds like I am the owner of Dameware, I have nothing to do with the company. I only use there product. ;)
     
  18. cpl punish

    cpl punish Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,457
    all this talk of VNC and remote software install ect ect...

    wasting your time...

    cant believe anyone hasn't mentioned gencontrol....

    http://www.gensortium.com/products/gencontrol.html

    Used several times daily in my school IT dept, probably the BEST tool a sys admin could need..
     
  19. OP
    OP
    Skit

    Skit Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2002
    Messages:
    2,125
    Location:
    freo.wa.au
    :eek: Just tried it, awesome... Now don't have to worry about deploying VNC.
     
  20. Rogue

    Rogue Old Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    3,652
    Location:
    Peakhurst NSW
    Webex Support Center for general support.

    iPass Device Management Enterprise for laptop fleets.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: