1. OCAU Merchandise now available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion here.
    Dismiss Notice

Retro display solutions (monitors, TVs, CRTs, flatscreens, upscaling, calibration)

Discussion in 'Retro & Arcade' started by elvis, Jul 24, 2018.

  1. badmofo

    badmofo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,183
    Location:
    Australia
    OK great I'll be interested to hear how it all goes, although in saying that the only complaint I have with my tink ATM is that it doesn't remember the input you selected last - really not a big deal. I have a 60Hz modded SMD that I play all my SMS games on and I've never had a problem with it @ 60Hz. In saying that I use a HD Retrovision cable with it so maybe that makes a difference? I'm a child in such matters. There is also a scanline generator in the mix, then a HDMI->VGA converter to a relatively modern VGA monitor.
     
  2. OP
    OP
    elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    41,003
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I've seen people do dual crystal mods to solve this back in the day.
     
  3. greencamel65

    greencamel65 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    444
    Location:
    Asgard
    yeah but...crystal mods means i can't justify the money i spent on the ossc!
     
    elvis likes this.
  4. WuZMoT

    WuZMoT Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2002
    Messages:
    2,172
    Location:
    Brisbane
    good news for you?, last item on the 3.2 revision list:
    * Remember input mode after shutdown.
     
  5. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    62,756
    Location:
    brisbane
    mine is that it won't accept 480p or even just pass it through. But that issue will be gone once my Wii gets it's WiiDual installed.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    41,003
    Location:
    Brisbane
    That reminds me, I need to start that "digital display mods" thread we talked about.
     
  7. WuZMoT

    WuZMoT Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2002
    Messages:
    2,172
    Location:
    Brisbane
    working!

    Quick test with Ridge Racer Type 4 on my PSone via Svideo. Chose this since it's small and easy to move around for testing. From memory the tink defaults to Component input. The PSone + Svideo allowed me to test the "last input" setting - can confirm when power removed from the tink and reconnected it is in svideo mode still.

    I mostly used this for PS2 previously so I'll give that a go over the next few days and also test the PAL60 composite out from Xbox as I know that's also supposed to be fixed.

    It looks pretty bloody good but I don't think I tried R4 on it previously, I've taken a photo but probably won't really do it justice.

    EDIT: 55" Samsung FHD for reference. I put it on my WiiU input for convenience, Pretty sure I have calibrated that input previously. I much prefer 240p content on the tink because of the text flicker you get from 480i content.

    rt2x_success.jpg
    IMG_20190829_221250.jpg
     
    Last edited: Aug 29, 2019
    power and elvis like this.
  8. badmofo

    badmofo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,183
    Location:
    Australia
    Nice work! Yes it defaults to component.
     
  9. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    62,756
    Location:
    brisbane
    woohoo, that's another big annoyance goneskis.
     
  10. WuZMoT

    WuZMoT Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2002
    Messages:
    2,172
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I think this is a benefit too:
    • HDMI will output YCbCr4:4:4 Limited Range (16-235).
    My TV can't really do full RGB range very well from my experience.
     
  11. OP
    OP
    elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    41,003
    Location:
    Brisbane
    If you have a 240p CRT that only has component / YPbPr in, there's a new option for running RGB/SCART consoles.

    Previously the only really reliable option was the Shinybow SB-2840. Chinese clones were available, but reports were that the calibration was off, and colours always came out wrong.

    Now Mike Chi, designer of the RetroTink (RGB/Component out HAT for Raspberry Pi) and the RetroTink-2x (S-Video/Component 240p/480i upscaler to HDMI 480p) now offers the RGB2COMP.

    http://www.retrotink.com

    Roughly the same price as the Shinybow, but it's great to have a new alternative. The website pleasingly states that it's tuned to Rec. 601, which is excellent attention to detail (as it's the correct spec for colour in SD broadcast television).
     
    WuZMoT likes this.
  12. WuZMoT

    WuZMoT Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2002
    Messages:
    2,172
    Location:
    Brisbane
    That guy, such a champ.
     
    elvis likes this.
  13. OP
    OP
    elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    41,003
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Thanks walker_2003 for the heads up on this video.

    Long time proper video gaming journalist Rich Leadbetter shows (like he did in the 90s) why CRTs are the display technology of the gods.

     
    Urbansprawl and walker_2003 like this.
  14. OP
    OP
    elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    41,003
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Mike Chi (RetroTink-2X designer) has got review sample PCBs in of his new RetroTink-2X SCART. Great news for anyone who needs an RGB line doubler that's cheaper than an OSSC.

    https://twitter.com/retrotink2/status/1191920878344269825

    He jokes that the middle finger is there as a nod to a recent Chinese hardware group who have been cloning his proprietary products (hardware design and firmware) without authorisation.

    m.jpg
     
  15. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    62,756
    Location:
    brisbane
    we need something that does higher than 480p.
     
  16. OP
    OP
    elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    41,003
    Location:
    Brisbane
    OSSC covers you. It'll do 3x (720p), 4x (960p), and from what I understand 5x with crop (1200p cropped to 1080p)? I need to verify that last one.

    [edit]
    https://www.videogameperfection.com/2017/02/15/quadruple-beyond-pushed/
    [/edit]

    A lot of the makers of this gear reckon that the speeds needed for FPGAs to generate the pixel clocks for 4K are too expensive at this point. At those resolutions it really makes it possible to do some interesting CRT-like effects per scanline, giving you a nice appearance on screen without the lag of full-image processing. But it sounds like we're a while off that yet.

    Just a cost thing at this point, it sounds like.
     
  17. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    62,756
    Location:
    brisbane
    i meant the input side, even though i forgot to say it.
     
  18. OP
    OP
    elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    41,003
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Pretty sure the OSSC will do 480p in. But again, you pay that dollar premium for it compared to the 'Tink.
     
  19. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    62,756
    Location:
    brisbane
    OSSC aside, yes i want 480p + input from something basic like the 2X.
     
  20. badmofo

    badmofo Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,183
    Location:
    Australia
    Hello internet, I need help. A while back I bought a sega light phaser and found that it didn't seem to work - trigger clicks are registered as button presses but a shot was never registered in Rambo III. I decided it must have something to do with me using a 60Hz modded SMD and a HD retrovision cable and retro tink 2X and a HDMI->VGA converter and a scan line generator (all that to a VGA CRT). Today I was messing around with my NES (composite to the tink) and thought I'd try its gun - it works great! Duck Hunt never played better.

    Tried the sega gun again, no dice. Tried using the SMD via composite to the Retro tink, nothing. Tried my un-modded SMS via composite, nothing. Also tried every mode on my recently firmware updated Retro tink. Tried removing the scanline generator and a different HDMI->VGA converter.

    So what do you guys think? Dodgy sega gun or do they just work differently than the NES gun and it's never going to work on anything other than an actual CRT telly?
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: