Retro display solutions (monitors, TVs, CRTs, flatscreens, upscaling, calibration)

Discussion in 'Retro & Arcade' started by elvis, Jul 24, 2018.

  1. WuZMoT

    WuZMoT Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2002
    Messages:
    2,412
    Location:
    Brisbane
    $3.62 of M3 bolts from bunnings.
    some acrylic scrap scored to size with a stanley knife.
    dremel cut the bolts, dremel sand the acrylic corners.
    clear vinyl tubing from an old molex cable sleeve.
    leftover black plastic screw caps for legs.

    If only soldering was this easy.

    upload_2020-9-5_19-49-29.png
    upload_2020-9-5_19-51-39.png
     
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2020
    power, darknebula, Pierre32 and 3 others like this.
  2. WuZMoT

    WuZMoT Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2002
    Messages:
    2,412
    Location:
    Brisbane
    elvis, Pierre32 and darknebula like this.
  3. darknebula

    darknebula Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1,239
    Location:
    Frankston
    Looks amazing
     
    Pierre32 likes this.
  4. Pierre32

    Pierre32 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2019
    Messages:
    671
    Location:
    Sydney
  5. power

    power Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    64,604
    Location:
    brisbane
    [​IMG]
     
  6. OP
    OP
    elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    42,536
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Is the PS3 grunty enough to support run-ahead emulation?
     
  7. WuZMoT

    WuZMoT Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2002
    Messages:
    2,412
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Maybe for some lower spec platforms but generally I don't think so.
    Super Mario World didn't feel 100% right but it was close.

    I'm going to dump some PS1 games onto it and do a side by side with the real PS1 running on svideo and see how close the ps3 emulation and downscaling can get to the real thing.
     
    elvis likes this.
  8. OP
    OP
    elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    42,536
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I'd love to see a 3-way combo between a real PS1, RetroArch PS1 and Sony's native PS1 emulator.
     
  9. OP
    OP
    elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    42,536
    Location:
    Brisbane
    RetroTink-2X Pro Multiformat beta firmware update out:

    """
    Version 1.2 BETA

    *Pseudo-444 sampling mode for 480p inputs only. Set the 'Mode' switch to 'Line2x' to activate. Setting the 'Mode' switch to 'Pass' operates as before. Pseduo-444 is experimental only!

    *Improved sync detection.
    """

    https://twitter.com/retrotink2/status/1305690318939910144

    https://twitter.com/retrotink2/status/1305712706318528513

    https://www.retrotink.com/post/retrotink-2x-pro-multiformat-firmware-page
     
  10. WuZMoT

    WuZMoT Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2002
    Messages:
    2,412
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I don't think any PS1 cores were ported to the PS3 version of retroarch (not even PCSX)

    Happy for your thoughts on a platform/core assuming I can rig it up. Mednafen (standalone or Retroarch) on x86 via VGA @ 480p through the GBS would be a good comparison. I'll even upgrade the PS3 to decent quality cables just to make all results as good as possible. My high quality cables are generally reserved for permanent setups, I just have chinese cables floating around for testing/fiddling.

    So glad I picked up a Concord DSUB > Component cable from Jaycar for cheap when they were on clearance. It's the perfect partner to the GBS.
     
    elvis likes this.
  11. nic55

    nic55 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    142
    Does anyone know the sync signal required to get VGA hooked up to an RGB monitor? (1084s).
    I've made a VGA to 6 pin DIN cable for use with AdvancedMAME and getting a clear image with vertical scrolling issues, I've used the VGA v-sync and h-sync signals separately with different results, perhaps need to combine sync from the both?

    Cheers.
     
  12. OP
    OP
    elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    42,536
    Location:
    Brisbane
    It's tricky, and highly dependent on the type of sync you're getting.

    Here's one you can build (assuming you meet the input requirements):
    https://www.retrorgb.com/building-a-passive-sync-combiner.html

    And if you're going out to an arcade monitor only, here's one you can buy (DO NOT use this on a consumer TV / PVM):
    http://www.ozstick.com.au/product/video-amplifier/
     
  13. nic55

    nic55 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    142

Share This Page

Advertisement: