Retro hardware FAQs: call for submissions

Discussion in 'Retro & Arcade' started by elvis, Mar 15, 2019.

1. elvis

elvis Old school old fool

There's a few console and arcade specific hardware FAQs in here, links at the bottom of post #2 in the FAQ sticky:
    https://forums.overclockers.com.au/posts/17420268

I'm looking for some help from folks to write similar FAQs for a number of computer platforms. We've got some great discussion threads going (e.g.: the Amiga thread which is always being updated with new happenings in the Amiga user community), but these get too lengthy for people not familiar with the hardware. FAQ threads should be laid out for a complete beginner to be able to get a 1-post, basic understanding of the system, and information they need to start using it. Needs to be "detailed enough, but not too detailed" in the first post. Extra pedantic detail can follow in posts later in the same thread.

Big ticket items would be:

* Amiga hardware (M68K family CPUs, including the Amiga CD32)
    * Commodore 64, 128 and variants
    * Atari ST
    * IBM AT / Intel 286, 386, 486 family and clones (pre-Pentium, pre-Windows95. Maybe include XT in here? Maybe separate?)
    * Pentium/586, PentiumPro/686, Pentium II/III, AMD/Cyrix clones (Windows 95/98/NT4/2000/XP, early GPUs without hardware T&L, and up to about GeForce1/2/3)
    * MSX/MSX2 family
    * NEC PC-88 family
    * Sharp X68000 family
    * Apple II family (MOS tech CPUs)
    * Apple Macintosh family (M68K CPUs)
    * Apple Mac family (PowerPC CPUs)

Try to keep an FAQ to a particular architecture. For example, if doing an Amiga FAQ, stick to either M68K architecture or PowerPC architecture, but not both. Major architecture jumps should be a different FAQ thread.

Lots of others out there too, feel free to nominate something else if you feel an entire FAQ is worth it (and please don't nominate something for someone else to do - nominate only what you're willing to write about).