Ripping Music

Discussion in 'PC Audio' started by Cornflake, Nov 22, 2006.

  1. Cornflake

    Cornflake Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    1,161
    Location:
    Sydney
    I have been ripping music from my CDs just using Windows Media Player and the default format into .wma. I had a look in the options though and see 'WMA Lossless'. Would this format provide better quality? Or, is there another format/program that would be even better?
     
  2. Deckham

    Deckham Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2005
    Messages:
    6,963
    Location:
    Essendon, Melbourne
    Mate - wma? Why not mp3?
     
  3. bioxeed

    bioxeed Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2002
    Messages:
    3,285
    Location:
    The Acid Lab
    or flac for lossless
     
  4. OP
    OP
    Cornflake

    Cornflake Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    1,161
    Location:
    Sydney
    I just never looked into it all, really :sick:

    What can I use to rip into mp3? And I don't care about file size - just whatever format provides the best quality.
     
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2006
  5. bioxeed

    bioxeed Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2002
    Messages:
    3,285
    Location:
    The Acid Lab
  6. blakeyboysmith

    blakeyboysmith Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2004
    Messages:
    379
    another vote for cdex.

    as for compression codec my list goes like this

    Flac for lossless... i.e no loss of quality.
    ogg vorbis.. for lossy.. better than Mp3 though compatibility can be an issue but its getting better.
    mp3 for lossy with compatibility for just about everything.
     
  7. Dezza Bot

    Dezza Bot Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2004
    Messages:
    4,613
    Location:
    Central Coast, NSW
    Eac riping to mp3 at 320kbit cbr

    My argument for doing this?
    -hdd space is cheap as, thus 320kbit isn't a big deal
    -Car's cd player can play mp3's and I don't feel like building a carpc just so I can play flac
    Excusing the lack of a multi million dollar soundsystem at my house (hd590+Audigy2ZS) am I really going to hear a difference between flac and 320kbit cbr mp3's ?
     
  8. bioxeed

    bioxeed Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2002
    Messages:
    3,285
    Location:
    The Acid Lab
    I'd still go flac. As you said, space is cheap. and transcoding from flac to mp3 is pretty painless and once you've burnt them to cd for the car then you're set.

    also you might be surprised in the difference between it and the 320mp3 even on your system.
     
  9. OP
    OP
    Cornflake

    Cornflake Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    1,161
    Location:
    Sydney
    Clean post: have I got this correct?

    Install FLAC

    Open CDex
    Options > Encoder Tab > Select External Encoder, point to flac.exe

    Set to stereo, on-the-fly encoding is ticked, compression level 8, send wav header to stdin ticked

    Convert > Extract tracks to a compressed audio file

    Tracks are extracted to .flac

    Play as .flac files in Winamp

    Files are approx 25mb each and play at a VBR (seemingly) around 1000kbps
     
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2006
  10. bb7_rider

    bb7_rider Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2005
    Messages:
    2,458
    Location:
    Mosman NSW
    2nded, i notice a big difference between falc and mp3 in ANY bitrate, particularly with the higher frequency notes, theres things you can hear with flac that just arent there with mp3.
     
  11. OP
    OP
    Cornflake

    Cornflake Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    1,161
    Location:
    Sydney
    Thanks all, I'm ripping to flac now and it sounds really good - a lot clearer. :thumbup:
     
  12. sold

    sold Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Messages:
    194
    I use EAC with AccurateRip plugin, ripped to Monkey's Audio Format (.ape) Though as long as its lossless it doesn't generally matter what format you use as you can always go from one to the other without any quality loss.
     
  13. decayed.cell

    decayed.cell Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2005
    Messages:
    1,189
    Location:
    Melbourne
    +1 for EAC
     
  14. mAJORD

    mAJORD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    11,545
    Location:
    Griffin , Brisbane
    1+ for cdex or EAC

    I used Cdex, now eac. I prefer it slightly.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: