Rolling out Desktops with SSD

Discussion in 'Business & Enterprise Computing' started by Pugsly, Nov 6, 2009.

  1. Pugsly

    Pugsly Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    63
    Hi there,

    I was wondering if there are any people here rolling out desktops with SSD drives?

    We currently buy HP desktops here and this seems to be a non standard build.

    Is anyone else out there deploying SSDs in their desktops?

    cheers
     
  2. [AFX]Northy

    [AFX]Northy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,134
    Location:
    Brisbane
    we have been using a few, not for run of the mill workstations tho, The machines normally have a higher then normal workload, Digital X-Ray processing, Graphic design/CAD etc.
     
  3. Iceman

    Iceman Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    6,647
    Location:
    Brisbane (nth), Australia
    I've got a few software developers who use 150gb raptors as they insist it improves compile time. One has asked to trial an SSD to see if that helps further. Going to give it a shot next week. Def not a standard build item. No point. Most users only reboot once a month.
     
  4. TehCamel

    TehCamel Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2006
    Messages:
    4,183
    Location:
    Melbourne
    we put one in my boss's laptop.. but not a standard item, no. not even for aservers...
     
  5. Embercide

    Embercide Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2002
    Messages:
    1,819
    Location:
    Brisbane
    we build digital cctv recorders using intel desktop motherboards, and have been installing 2x Sandisk SSD drives in Raid 1 (for operating system) for about 18 months now.
     
  6. cvidler

    cvidler Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    11,995
    Location:
    Canberra
    Have to wonder, is the cost increase beneficial for uses stuck in Word/Outlook all day?

    Sure there's exceptions (like the stuff I do - involves lots of complex, but smallish databases, and have made use of RAM drives between 1 and 8GB for many years), but you're typical office worker, hardly.

    I've seen SSD's as standard options in laptops for a while now (over a year, first time I saw/used the option, was a Toshiba Protege).
     
  7. Breeny

    Breeny Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    288
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Our company recently purchased one for a fairly high specced laptop which is running Hyper-V and multiple virtual machines to demonstrate our product.

    Other than that we haven't installed any at all - not even our servers.

    -Breeny
     
  8. Gecko

    Gecko Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,715
    Location:
    Sydney
    We've just put a couple around the place with people who work with lots of data locally. Also put some Velociraptors in for other users, going to see how they compare after a few months.
     
  9. ra66it

    ra66it Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    807
    Location:
    Melbourne
    A colleague told me yesterday that that an SSD in a Toshiba laptop at one of his clients had reached its maximum writes, and XP failed to run.

    It only took 18 months......bit of a worry.
     
  10. PabloEscobar

    PabloEscobar Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13,224
    I find that hard to believe, unless he had some sort of defrag software shifting bits around 24/7 for the whole 15 months.

    Thats not to say the drive hasnt failed, but I doubt its max-write related.
     
  11. OP
    OP
    Pugsly

    Pugsly Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    63
    Thanks for the reply guys.

    HP have SSD as an option in their latest 6000 Pro desktops.

    They're using samsung 64Gb drives which i'm told are TRIM capable, just waiting for the firmware.
     
  12. ewok85

    ewok85 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Messages:
    8,074
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    No point putting an SSD in an office PC - you will get better performance and usability gains by adding more memory or buying the user a second monitor.
     
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2009
  13. OP
    OP
    Pugsly

    Pugsly Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    63
    Yeah i didn't think SSD at the workstations would make a difference but we've done some testing with our inhouse apps on a desktop with a SSD drive. There were noticeable differences in load times, printing times of our apps when compared to a normal HDD, things took half as long. I guess for our environment, SSD makes sense.

    cheers
     
  14. Luke212

    Luke212 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Messages:
    9,572
    Location:
    Sydney
    how can you say that? i notice you dont recommend ssd for enterprise either.

    i think you need to catch up a bit ewok!
     
  15. Jimoin

    Jimoin Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2002
    Messages:
    483
    Location:
    Melbourne
    But he's right?

    I'm yet to see a desktop PC stressed as far as disk I/O goes, rarely if ever is disk performance an issue. Run performance monitoring on who you think are your heavy users to see if it's the case in your environment to make sure.

    RAM is always a winner, a hell of a lot cheaper too.
     
  16. Doc-of-FC

    Doc-of-FC Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2001
    Messages:
    3,294
    Location:
    Canberra
    Please state your industry background as I'd like to know your focal point for questioning the use of non SSD for enterprise use.

    I'm not going to explain where and when and why to use SSD, by making claims such as you have, you're clearly the subject matter expert on the topic.
     
  17. Luke212

    Luke212 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2003
    Messages:
    9,572
    Location:
    Sydney
    ram is free. its a non-exclusive decision here.

    people dont like to wait, and it gives them an excuse to be non-productive.
     
  18. OP
    OP
    Pugsly

    Pugsly Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    63
    While evaluating the SSD on desktops we did run perf mon. This really opened our eyes to see why our machines sometimes were really slow even when our RAM and CPU utilisation was low. We noticed the Average Disk Queue Length would sit at 100% with normal disks and the machine would bog down. Switch over to the SSD and the the same counter was way down and the machine was more responsive. Even with clean OS builds it would still do this (testing with in our in-house apps).

    I just wish the new TRIM models would be released alot sooner to Aust.
     
  19. joyufat

    joyufat Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,014
    Location:
    Moral High Ground
    We will probably do this as standard for any new notebooks starting in 2010, as the speed difference would be much more noticeable with them. We recently upgraded our MD from a Thinkpad X61 with a 4200RPM drive, to a new Vaio with 2x256GB SSDs in RAID 0 (slight overkill). It does make a real difference in terms of loading time, which in turn makes them a lot happier.
     
  20. OP
    OP
    Pugsly

    Pugsly Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    63
    haha our first SSD on desktops went out to our MD as well!
    He was happy with the application load times, just have to wait and see how it performs when the disk has been used for a while.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: