Running dual DC-LT pumps in single loop or single DDC?

Discussion in 'Extreme and Water Cooling' started by Tazor, Oct 31, 2019.

  1. Tazor

    Tazor Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,319
    Location:
    Canterbury, 3126
    Hey all,

    Got a question I'm currently 100% unsure of and wanted to check.

    Currently I have a BeQuiet SilentLoop 120.
    The pump/block combo in the unit is an Alphacool derived DC-LT unit however I know that Alphacool currently produces I think 3 version of this?

    I'm interested in incorporating an Alphacool Eiswolf GPX Pro unit into the loop with another 120mm radiator to cool the GPU but didn't know if this was something I should avoid if they are different DC-LT units running at different flow rates as I don't want to shorten the lifespan of the loop and cause early failure of the pump - but I am aware that 1 of these units it not quite powerful enough to run a dual rad/dual block loop.

    I do have an Apogee Drive II in a draw somewhere so maybe I'm better off just opting for that in this case and just using an EK GPU block?

    Any thoughts and suggestions would be appreciated!
    Thanks all :D
     
  2. BigDave

    BigDave Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    3,706
    Location:
    ADELAIDE/5018
    This is one of the first DC-LT pumps in my file server for over 4 years and never had an issue


    Click to view full size!
     
    tunksy and juzz86 like this.
  3. havabeer

    havabeer Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    5,044
    What makes you think it doesn't have enough grunt?
     
  4. dasa2

    dasa2 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    712
    Location:
    Northern VIC
    I think the loop would still be restrictive enough with those blocks that you wouldn't have to worry about one of the pumps being driven above it's normal speed.
    Is the block you are looking at one that comes prefilled with coolant for quick connect? if so I would be more worried about fluid compatibility and mixed metals with the AIO.

    Why would you try splicing AIO together if you have a Apogee drive II?
     
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2019 at 8:20 AM
  5. OP
    OP
    Tazor

    Tazor Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,319
    Location:
    Canterbury, 3126
    I think it was mainly because of the amount of noise the DDC makes - but I'm thinking the Drive II is just a plain better option. Maybe I can change out the pump to the MX 3.2 DDC which is PWM only since it should be more than enough to drive the loop but much quieter.
     
  6. dasa2

    dasa2 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    712
    Location:
    Northern VIC
    Let me know how you go with that my Drive II PWM is very quiet at ~1200RPM but not silent and gets rather loud over 3200RPM.
     
    Last edited: Nov 11, 2019 at 10:25 AM
  7. OP
    OP
    Tazor

    Tazor Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,319
    Location:
    Canterbury, 3126
    Will do - I don't even think my DDC has PWM it's that old lol
     
  8. dasa2

    dasa2 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    712
    Location:
    Northern VIC
  9. OP
    OP
    Tazor

    Tazor Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,319
    Location:
    Canterbury, 3126
    I mean, the MX 3.2 should be able to run without the heatsink I reckon due to the lower operating power - unless I'm mistaken in thinking that - so I I don't see why I can't just screw that onto the Apogee without the heatsink.
     
  10. juzz86

    juzz86 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Messages:
    1,180
    Location:
    Forth, NW TAS
    I think an Apogee with a 3.2 would be the absolute tits :thumbup:
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: