RX570 Issues...

Discussion in 'Video Cards & Monitors' started by N_Strut, Feb 12, 2019.

  1. N_Strut

    N_Strut Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    So, I think I have made an error in purchasing a new GPU.
    I found a RX570 8GB very cheap recently, and made the purchase to upgrade from my Radeon HD7870 2GB. (i compared the two cards and the RX seemed far superior to the HD)
    The price was too enticing and i noticed this GPU was a few years old, so figured it would be compatible with my old hardware.

    Problem:
    Installed the GPU, dont get any video out of the DVI/HDMI. (have not yet tried the Display Ports, as i dont have any compatible Monitors...)
    I feel as though the Mobo is too old for this GPU??
    Mobo does have PCIe x16 slots.
    Have updated to latest BIOS
    Tried to put the new GPU in the 2nd PCIe 16x slot along side the current GPU to see if the PC even picked it up, but i have the same problem, no video out of the CURRENT video card when the new one is installed...
    as soon as i pull out the new GPU, video is back on the current GPU.

    Important PC specs: (Originally built in 2012)
    i7 3820
    gigabyte G1 Assassin 2
    16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3
    750w Thermaltake PSU.

    Please point me in the right direction.
    ThankYou!
     
  2. d1ng0d4n

    d1ng0d4n Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,224
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Motherboard is fine for this GPU. Although I'd be concerned that the GPU is faulty. How good was the price?
     
  3. darkbastard

    darkbastard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    504
    Location:
    Duranbah - near Kingsclif
    are you trying it with both gpu's installed????
     
  4. OP
    OP
    N_Strut

    N_Strut Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    originally no. just by itself. Had no luck.
    Tried to install it in the 2nd PCIe 16x slot along side original GPU, problem arose again.
    problem goes away and everything works as normal once i put the original gpu back in...
     
  5. OP
    OP
    N_Strut

    N_Strut Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    $219 aud.
    I have just found that it is NOT currently running latest BIOS like i thought, i found a later version. just installing this now and will try again.
     
  6. Sledge

    Sledge Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,597
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Shouldn't matter
    can you test in another PC? got a friend close by?
     
    darkbastard likes this.
  7. OP
    OP
    N_Strut

    N_Strut Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2017
    Messages:
    4
    Ok, so i just updated my bios to F12W using Gigayte's BIOS (F12W is the LATEST bios, but still from 2013...)

    And now, i have video again.


    When upgrading GPU's, aside from installing the driver that comes with the new GPU, what else should i do?

    Do i need to find and remove anything related to the old GPU?
     
    RnR and d1ng0d4n like this.
  8. d1ng0d4n

    d1ng0d4n Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,224
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Interesting. Wouldn't of imagined the BIOS would make a difference in this case. Congrats on getting it going.

    You're going from AMD to AMD, updating the driver should be about all that is needed. Worst case scenario, boot in to Safe Mode and run DDU to remove the driver all together, then fresh install the latest. I wouldn't worry about this unless you start running in to issues in Windows.
     
  9. c4dderly

    c4dderly Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2001
    Messages:
    1,008
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Always uninstall old drivers, replace old card with new one, install new card's drivers. That process has worked without a hitch for many years.
     

Share This Page