Ryzen 3000 series CPUs

Discussion in 'AMD x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by luke o, Dec 27, 2018.

  1. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    4,931
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Didn't you say that you will be buying one?
     
  2. GoneFishin22

    GoneFishin22 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    0
    It might allow it but won't have the benefits of PCIE 4.0.......if spending that much on the CPU I would want those extra features.
     
  3. dmcdude

    dmcdude Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2002
    Messages:
    166
    Location:
    Lower North Shore
    he's trolling, just ignore him
    Mine is similar to yours at idle but down to 1.25v under full load, note this is using hwinfo so it could be the tool at fault.

    There is a slight ~200Mhz improvement in clock speeds with PBO enabled but I have not noticed any improvement in benchmarks or gaming.

    Suggest you dl the latest AMD chipset drivers, use the AMD balanced power plan to take care of volts. Run your RAM at 3600Mhz with tightest timings possible for best performance improvement.
     
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2019
  4. PureFire

    PureFire Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,621
    Xeonae likes this.
  5. dmcdude

    dmcdude Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2002
    Messages:
    166
    Location:
    Lower North Shore
    I still have my 4790K in the second gaming rig and noticed the same against the 8700K. It was not just benchmarking but there was also slight difference in games, although fps had improved at 1080p there was noticable lag/delay, I thought I was going nuts but was confirmed by friends.
     
  6. Kelvin

    Kelvin Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,720
    For those on HEDT - it means there should be little reason to upgrade..
    say 20-25% for ST uplift, and another 20-25% for clockspeed.. (though once overclocked much of this gain is lost)

    25-50% increase in the last 8 years.. is pretty sad..

    Hasn't stop me from grabbing a 3600 though for the fun of it..



     
  7. shane41

    shane41 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    6,827
    Location:
    dice que no sabe
    If I compare ... 4790K 49x vs 7700K could be like 50x 51x to be equal for the 3D benches I like. Newer ones just ran less volts for big OC

    That could be done easier. Say testing on 4 cores. Both AMD & Intel same clocks. Would be interesting vs the 7740x Kabylake 45x :D
     
  8. chook

    chook Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2002
    Messages:
    3,777
    That is why I suggest we buy super glue company shares. Then, right before the leaks are revealed to be fabrication designed to drive up the super glue share price we dump them on the market. At that point we will be:
    a) rich; and
    b) targeted individuals.
     
    arasta, PureFire and coolroy like this.
  9. Urbansprawl

    Urbansprawl Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Messages:
    743
    Yeah I'm kind of thinking the same thing with a 4790k @1600p. The Civ6 results are interesting though, it would be good to see some benchmarks of things like 'end of turn' completion. More games seem to benefit from the additional cores than I expected (unless I am misreading it).
     
  10. anthonyl

    anthonyl Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    Messages:
    11,342
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Just installed my Ryzen 5 3600 cpu and was wondering if there are any specific BIOS settings I should be changing.. I am on a B350 board the Asrock K4 Gaming and have updated the BIOS to the latest one..
     
  11. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    4,931
    Location:
    Melbourne
    There are literally a million videos on this.
     
  12. anthonyl

    anthonyl Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    Messages:
    11,342
    Location:
    Brisbane
    It must be in the 999,999th one as I have tried the rest of them....lol
     
  13. vid_ghost

    vid_ghost Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,148
    So for anyone who has a new Ryzen 3000 series CPU you may want to jump into the bios and check the core voltage..

    Some boards are defaulting to 1.4v and this is making the CPU's run way hotter then they should be
    Some people are dropping it to 1.3v

    It could save yourself from killing the CPU like hardware unboxed did to their 3900X review sample with motherboard auto voltage settings being too high by default.
     
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2019
  14. Supersize

    Supersize Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,853
    Location:
    Gold Coast QLD
    Yeah I just saw that in JayzTwoCents 3900x overclocking video, I noted down all the changes he made so it won't die on default...
    Even his ROG board was settting RAM voltages to 1.4 on the default 2133Mhz.

    4:00
     
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2019
  15. anthonyl

    anthonyl Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    Messages:
    11,342
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Just checked my volate on the BIOS and at auto it was set at 1.1v so I changed it to 1.3..is that correct?
     
  16. darkbastard

    darkbastard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    820
    Location:
    Duranbah - near Kingsclif
    Well just got the email my Crosshairs Formula is waiting to be collected at Umart Gold Coast. MSY will have my CPU this afternoon and my 5700XT arrived today. I have 32gb of some GSkil 3200 C14, a 970 Evo 1tb and am looking forward to getting it all together tomorrow night. Luck would have it I am away for work tonight.

    Should be interesting
     
  17. asho444

    asho444 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1,803
    Location:
    Sunny Coast
    Not quite, all the others were 1.4 or more resulting in much higher temps, yours looks about right but if it is unstable then bump it up slowly
     
  18. vid_ghost

    vid_ghost Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,148
    You change it to 1.3v if its set to 1.4 ... if your board and CPU are stable at the lower vcore of 1.1v by default then that's even better then 1.3v :)
     
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2019
  19. anthonyl

    anthonyl Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    Messages:
    11,342
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Im getting blue screen errors.. SYSTEM THREAD EXCEPTION NOT HANDLED....something is not right...Event viewer is saying something about Kernel -Power.
     
  20. dmcdude

    dmcdude Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2002
    Messages:
    166
    Location:
    Lower North Shore
    have you tried at BIOS defaults ? start there and see how you go.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: