Ryzen 3000 series CPUs

Discussion in 'AMD x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by luke o, Dec 27, 2018.

  1. dr_deathy

    dr_deathy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,653
    Even stock cooling keeps it below 70.

    If you want to see sub 60 you need a real water cooling set up not one of those stupid aio.
     
  2. AlliZ

    AlliZ Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2017
    Messages:
    515
    Location:
    Ask Google
  3. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    4,124
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Why are people like Wendel and der8auer doing all the testing for AMD? C’mon guys, this is your 3rd crack at it.

    Sgt Bilko is keeping suspiciously quite these days...
     
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2019
  4. NismoR31

    NismoR31 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,159
    Location:
    Sydney
    just had to upload pops for cooler & either new cpu or mobo
    https://noctua.at/en/support/mounting-and-upgrade-kits
     
    MUTMAN likes this.
  5. chook

    chook Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,551
    He is on the Lisaphone called for help.

    Sgt Bilko: Lisa help. Those folks on OCAU are onto us! We need to do something or they will send CJ after us.
    Lisa Su: CJ. Is that the weirdo with the 'moar cores' shirt from Computex?
    Sgt Bilko: Yeah, that's him! How did you know?
    Lisa Su: He asked me to peg him and then give him a reach around. It was... disturbing.
    Sgt Bilko: Don't worry. Agg permabanned him.
    Lisa Su: God bless Agg.
     
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2019
  6. Sgt Bilko

    Sgt Bilko Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2015
    Messages:
    1,056
    Location:
    Canberra(ish)
    Quiet*

    Sorry everyone, been battling a wicked chest infection and trying to get some memory testing done to add to my thread.

    I don't really have any comment to make on the above so that's why I haven't replied, I check this thread daily and if there's anything that I can comment on I do so.
     
  7. AlliZ

    AlliZ Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2017
    Messages:
    515
    Location:
    Ask Google
  8. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    4,124
    Location:
    Melbourne
    That's weird, you were pretty vocal at launch mate.
     
  9. AlliZ

    AlliZ Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2017
    Messages:
    515
    Location:
    Ask Google
    lol, your like a dog with a bone

    give bilko a break, he isnt the one who turned clock speeds into loot boxes
     
    OJR likes this.
  10. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    4,124
    Location:
    Melbourne
    OMG what have I done? I have just become CJ.
     
  11. AlliZ

    AlliZ Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2017
    Messages:
    515
    Location:
    Ask Google
    head on over to the news & current event section, your throne awaits
    all hail the new lightning rod for reported posts
     
    OJR likes this.
  12. Will S

    Will S Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Messages:
    5,330
    Location:
    Coniston (Wollongong)

    AIO kept mu 8700 in the 20's at idle and rarely did that go over 50 when using so those stupid aio's do ok.............not sure if the Kraken is a good one or not or if something is weird with the software like Core Temp as they fluctuate from 36 to 46 and numerous other readings whilst just typing this
     
  13. NismoR31

    NismoR31 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,159
    Location:
    Sydney
    With the Wraith Prism on my 3700X idle temps were around 42-43° & sustained full load (rpi max heat run) would get close to 80°
    Since putting the Noctua U14S on idle fluctuates a bit more depending on how many cores sleep. Anywhere from 38-42°. Full load tops out at 63°

    Temps read via Ryzen Master - this is my first ever AMD cpu so figured the AMD software was likely to be most accurate?
     
  14. Perko

    Perko Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2011
    Messages:
    4,434
    Location:
    NW Tasmania
    My AIO pump block cracked and killed my X99 board. Luckily my case is inverse, so the board's upside down and it only got the VRMs and not the CPU/GPU/M.2 drive.

    So I've got the stuff in my sig, the board is still in the post. Going to use the Prism for the time being while I try to source a Be Quiet Dark Rock Pro 4, or something similar that lacks lighting but isn't unnecessarily ugly like Noctua stuff.
     
  15. Will S

    Will S Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Messages:
    5,330
    Location:
    Coniston (Wollongong)

    I wonder how many remember Phil Silvers


    anyway back to me :)


    Someone mentioned Overdrive Boost so went into BIOS and its enabled by default so I turned that off and temp is now a stable 31 degrees and not fluctuating all over the place...and seeing that today is warmer then the temps I had previously I am happy with that

    [​IMG]
     
    RnR likes this.
  16. Ratzz

    Ratzz Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Messages:
    9,201
    Location:
    Cheltenham East 3192
    I can recommend the Dark Rock Pro 4. Just as good as the big Noctuas in every way but as you've said, way better looking and also not blingy. Beautiful in its simplicity.
     
    Bertross and Perko like this.
  17. dr_deathy

    dr_deathy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,653
    That's not a high density 7nm CPU with a real cache. Gpus use to be much cooler as well but now the transistor density is simply to high.

    I love the extremly violent nature of the amd boost. I'm using it to get shit done. I swear you can tell how slow Intel turbos, but that might be in my head lol.
     
    darkbastard, cbjaust and Bertross like this.
  18. Sgt Bilko

    Sgt Bilko Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2015
    Messages:
    1,056
    Location:
    Canberra(ish)
    Not too many I'd wager, personally I took my name from the Steve Martin movie then discovered the show later in life :)

    Ryzen Master is a good choice for CPU temps/clock speeds, fully up to date HWiNFO64 is also good but doesn't read which cores are sleeping, afaik only Ryzen Master can do that atm.
     
  19. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    4,124
    Location:
    Melbourne
    It's in your head.
     
  20. Will S

    Will S Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2003
    Messages:
    5,330
    Location:
    Coniston (Wollongong)
    ok, I dont like the AMD boost and would prefer to do a simple boost to 4.1 manually but no idea on how to do this on the Aorus Master X570

    Now Precision Boost is a slight step above the normal boost that is in your optimal default setup. So my setup without any boost is 3.6 GHz base and 4.4GHz is the precision boost according to the box and I think normal boost gives me 4.15GHz ( using CPU-Z stress test ) so I would assume that in theory .25MHz will be gained if I use precision Boost.

    Now I really don't care if I dont get 4.4 but a consistent 4.1 would be nice. And come summer it will be back to 3.6Mhz base as no air conditioning.

    Have to say I am learning slowly and hopefully getting it pretty close to what things are. I think a lot can be confused between Boost and Precision Boost

    https://valid.x86.fr/4s9xqz
     
    Last edited: Sep 2, 2019
    Bertross likes this.

Share This Page

Advertisement: