Ryzen 3000 series CPUs

Discussion in 'AMD x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by luke o, Dec 27, 2018.

  1. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    7,054
    Location:
    4109
    Have you heard of the old saying "even a broken clock is right twice a day" ?

    I wonder if the tomahawk is a case of msi stumbling on a design that works by pure chance ?
     
    Bold Eagle likes this.
  2. dr_deathy

    dr_deathy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Messages:
    2,653
    I have found more issues with our Asus hero then our giga master. Same ram but the Asus only has a 3600 on it. The giga 3900x.

    Both solid boards tho.
     
  3. Mjollnir

    Mjollnir Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    6,187
    Location:
    Melbourne, VIC3104
    Pretty happy with Gigabyte Aorus Pro Wifi, got it for 390 on ebay sales.

    Gigabyte software such as RGB fusion is a bit average, but BIOS release with new AGESA is ahead of the pack.
     
    335 GT likes this.
  4. bob05

    bob05 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Messages:
    256
    Location:
    NSW
    You said who cares about TDP, it's relevant if you actually want your CPU to work at it's claimed clock speeds. More watts running through your CPU = more heat, its a fact that all cpus work this way. BTW, using the word interjecting means interrupting someone while speaking... try using words you understand instead of calling people stupid, very ironic. Go troll somewhere else along with your obvious fanboism for intel.
     
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2019
  5. shirl

    shirl Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Messages:
    256
    Location:
    sydney
    my sons B450 Tomohawk works perfect with a 3700x hitting max 4.4 on all cores,i have a msi x570 gaming plus,works great with my 3700x all cores hitting 4.4,people have a lot of negative towards MSI atm i have had no issues at all.
     
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2019
  6. danyell

    danyell Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Messages:
    1,870
    Location:
    Kilsyth, 3137
    Fanboi!ยก!!!!!!1

    Me too, by playing it smart with bios updates

    it bothers me that you shouted your son a 3700x when I wouldn't allow myself to spend more than the 3600x! Why?! I don't know!
     
    shirl likes this.
  7. shirl

    shirl Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Messages:
    256
    Location:
    sydney
    lol yeah well his last upgrade was a long time ago,hes at uni so i though wtf why not..
     
  8. sTeeLzor

    sTeeLzor Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Messages:
    2,384
    Given all the issues and I currently have none except slightly long boots (15s) and not hitting boost clocks, I am too afraid to update. I am just waiting for a couple more releases to ensure its all ironed out.
     
  9. darkbastard

    darkbastard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    644
    Location:
    Duranbah - near Kingsclif
    Dont take it the wrong way - but those issues are some of the exact things the bios updates should fix????
     
    shirl likes this.
  10. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    7,054
    Location:
    4109
    Luke will be interejaculating when he reads your comments
     
    OJR, bob05, Perko and 1 other person like this.
  11. sTeeLzor

    sTeeLzor Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Messages:
    2,384
    They should but its not worth the potentially no boot issues :p
     
    darkbastard likes this.
  12. combatant3219

    combatant3219 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Messages:
    356
    Location:
    Blackburn
    What memory are you using on the Tomahawk?

    Contemplating upgrading my 4790k based system with that board and a 3700X.

    I''m somewhat height limited as the RAM needs to fit under a Dark Rock Pro 3.

    Currently considering:

    G.Skill F4-3200C16D-16GVKB - on the list of supported memory and looks to by Hynix based

    or

    Crucial Ballistix Sport LT BLS2K8G4D32AESBK - not on the list of supported memory but apparently will be 100% ok according to Crucial. Also appears to be Micron E die which is apparently pretty decent.

    Maybe I'm reading into it too much whether the memory is on the QVL, but I've pretty much ruled out the Corsair LPX modules as there is so many different versions and you don't know what you're likely to get.

    Also, it's mostly for gaming/general use so the 3700X is probably overkill, but longevity wise I thought it might be a good move.
     
  13. danyell

    danyell Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Messages:
    1,870
    Location:
    Kilsyth, 3137
    Just like the zillion translations from the Bible(s), that bloke can't get his story straight: https://biblehub.com/luke/2-12.htm
     
    MUTMAN likes this.
  14. M1ck1

    M1ck1 Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Messages:
    169
    Location:
    Ipswich Qld
    The crucial memory is a good overclocker, the kit you indicated is E die it has AES in the part No. I didn't have any drama with mine Asus board
     
  15. AlliZ

    AlliZ Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2017
    Messages:
    515
    Location:
    Ask Google
    they had a 2x8gb ballistix kit @ 3200mhz for 115 on ozbarg yesty
     
  16. combatant3219

    combatant3219 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Messages:
    356
    Location:
    Blackburn
    Yeah I think I'm leaning towards the crucial kit. Thanks for the input.

    Cheers. Saw those but I'm being superficial and don't want the white ones. lol. Umart and Mwave have the gray for $129.
     
  17. Ratzz

    Ratzz Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Messages:
    9,201
    Location:
    Cheltenham East 3192
    Buy the Crucial. It will overclock to c16-3600 easily, at <1.4v, which is pretty much the sweet spot on Ryzen anyway. Its plenty low profile enough to fit under your dark rock 3, and its cheaper than the G-skill. There are no downsides, expect perhaps the lack of RGB if that floats your boat. Personally I'm not a fan of unicorn vomit, so for me, no downsides at all.
     
    M1ck1 and SKITZ0_000 like this.
  18. combatant3219

    combatant3219 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Messages:
    356
    Location:
    Blackburn
    Unicorn Vomit! hahaha, never heard it called that before. I'm the same, not a fan of it either.

    Thanks for the advice. I'll grab the Crucial set.
     
    Ratzz likes this.
  19. Bold Eagle

    Bold Eagle Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2008
    Messages:
    9,856
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I have 2x16GB for future proofing and they OC to 3600 I have them at 1.4V atm and might try tighter timings soon. That kit cost me $269 from Umart;

    Clipboard04.jpg
     
    combatant3219 likes this.
  20. combatant3219

    combatant3219 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Messages:
    356
    Location:
    Blackburn
    Very nice. I was contemplating 32GB but I really don't 'need' it currently.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: