1. OCAU Merchandise is available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion in this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

Ryzen 3000 series CPUs

Discussion in 'AMD x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by luke o, Dec 27, 2018.

  1. Alqemist

    Alqemist Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,302
    Location:
    Victoria
    Yer, BIOS.
     
  2. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    10,916
    Location:
    4109
    fire up ryzen master and take some screen shots so we can see what's going on
     
  3. RnR

    RnR Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    17,305
    Location:
    Brisbane
     
    coolroy, 335 GT and MUTMAN like this.
  4. coolroy

    coolroy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    3,329
    Which is better running 3900X stock with pbo enabled or running fixed multi at either 42 or 43 for an all core at 4200 or 4300mhz at say 1.3V.

    I have as per sig below my memory running at 3600Mhz , it wont go higher but thats fine.

    Mostly just surf the net & play fps games such as bf1, but would like to see my pc run optimized & hopefully not have high cpu temps.
     
  5. 335 GT

    335 GT Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2019
    Messages:
    1,145
    Location:
    W.A.
    Thanks for posting that video.

    I shudder when I see people pumping 1.4v+ into these.

    I would love to see an explanation on why these things idle with such high voltage though. So many people seem to see that number and run with it ignoring the voltages with a full load.
     
  6. RnR

    RnR Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    17,305
    Location:
    Brisbane
    As long as you are fine with a reduced lifespan, there is no problems with any voltage. Ofcause this would make the 2nd hand market a bit of a Russian roulette :D
     
    M1ck1 likes this.
  7. vk2fro

    vk2fro Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Messages:
    480
    Location:
    Erskineville
    Testbench with a screen, inverter and car battery. No post = no sale :p

    The Taichi is now finally avalaible at some places to order. Only thing I don't like about this board is the monolithic PCI-E SSD heatsink. Would make changing an SSD a chore, and a royal if you have a custom loop with a GPU in it. Still its a very flashy board, the usb 3.2 header is in the right place, and its T-Topology, which means I should have no issues populating all the ram slots. Its ordered now along with my 3950X. Now the waiting game begins ;)
     
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2020
  8. M1ck1

    M1ck1 Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Messages:
    578
    Location:
    Toowoomba Qld
    Saw your post my idle was jumping between 1.094 & 1.45v so I turned off hardware Info, core temp & GPU-Z opened Ryzen master and watched it and Voltage between 1.13 & 1.16v just had chrome open I think it is boosting because the monitoring programs are pinging it to get a reading, so a couple of cores wake up go to 4.xx mhz voltage goes up to 1.45 for a split second but these programs are constantly taking readings so voltage always looks high. My opinion only, just saying Ryzen is a complicated beast
     
    335 GT and coolroy like this.
  9. M1ck1

    M1ck1 Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Messages:
    578
    Location:
    Toowoomba Qld
    you mean more of a russian roulette
     
    RnR likes this.
  10. mAJORD

    mAJORD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    12,441
    Location:
    Griffin , Brisbane
    They're only going to idle at high Vcore if they're idling at max turbo (so likely not really idle - or CnQ and C states areoff in bios , etc)
     
  11. Recharge

    Recharge Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2001
    Messages:
    11,950
    Location:
    Brisbane
    one thing I'll say about the ryzen, is the power management is crazy, sitting at idle I'm at ~300mhz chewing ~11w
    (according to ryzen master)
     
  12. cbjaust

    cbjaust Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,365
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Oh how the meme tables have turned :p
     
    MUTMAN and OJR like this.
  13. vk2fro

    vk2fro Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Messages:
    480
    Location:
    Erskineville
    Its going to be interesting to see what the 3950X sucks down in juice when its at idle.

    Found some Crucial Ballistix Sport LT AES on Amazon so snagged it, last pair for $155 delivered, on the last day of my free prime membership. I didn't get in on the $145 lot as money didn't permit, but the free shipping expedited countered the extra $10 :p
     
    Ratzz and MUTMAN like this.
  14. jpw007

    jpw007 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    6,557
    Until a rogue windows service spikes it to 100% for an instant :lol:

    Still baffles me the old random idle spikes.
     
  15. 335 GT

    335 GT Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2019
    Messages:
    1,145
    Location:
    W.A.
    I think mAJORD hit the nail on the head.
    I need to check my c-states and CnQ.

    With nothing open and just windows doing housekeeping I see it spike over 1.4v with clocks ~300MHz.

    Not that I'm concerned it's just something I've noticed.
     
  16. M1ck1

    M1ck1 Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Messages:
    578
    Location:
    Toowoomba Qld
    I know I think ryzen has been doing it for3 generations now but with first gen everyone was more worried about getting their Xmp profile to work my 2600X spiked to over 1.5v while idling like you I just dont care anymore I do think that ryzen master is the most accurate and so it should be cheers
     
    335 GT likes this.
  17. glnn_23

    glnn_23 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    572
    Deleted
     
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2020
  18. RnR

    RnR Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    17,305
    Location:
    Brisbane
    New bios coming;

    https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comments/gafbd2/agesa_1005_community_update/
     
  19. Recharge

    Recharge Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2001
    Messages:
    11,950
    Location:
    Brisbane
    hmmm wonder if it'll make any difference?
     
  20. M1ck1

    M1ck1 Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2018
    Messages:
    578
    Location:
    Toowoomba Qld
    It would be nice to have PBO working again
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: