Ryzen 3000 series CPUs

Discussion in 'AMD x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by luke o, Dec 27, 2018.

  1. the_antipop

    the_antipop Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2005
    Messages:
    2,277
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    Is anyone eyeing any of the new XT CPUs? Now that my x370 won't support Zen 3, I'm hoping it receives a BIOS update to support these new XT processors... I might jump on a 3800XT...

    Rumoured clockspeeds:
    Some benchmarks (CinebenchR20, Singlecore):
    [​IMG]
     
    RnR likes this.
  2. Maldark

    Maldark Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    657
    Location:
    Newcastle, NSW
    Beat me by a hair, was just posting the same thing.

    Well, goodnight Intel, for now. If this closes the gaming gap to even 1-2% there is no reason for the 10th gen to exist. And hot damn, Zen 3 is so close, gunna be a murder.
     
  3. dirkmirk

    dirkmirk Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    5,405
    Location:
    Shoalhaven - Gods Country
    Hmmmmmm I guess the Ryzen 5 3600XT will be the final chip for my B350, the premium for the 3800 is likely to be too great for an occasional gaming system, maybe the B550 is where the sweet spot for 8 cores will be by the time games can really take advantage.
     
  4. asho444

    asho444 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1,803
    Location:
    Sunny Coast
    The xt finally makes the 3800 make sense ha ha.
    so are we assuming they are able to get these speeds now that tsmc has matured their process?
    I would be sceptical considering most of the 3900 currently can't hit the rated boost
     
  5. RnR

    RnR Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    16,266
    Location:
    Brisbane
    The XT series is just a rumour. Nothing from AMD atm.
     
    MUTMAN likes this.
  6. jjjc_93

    jjjc_93 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,907
    Location:
    Perth
    If the XT leaks are to be believed then it makes the 4000 series even more exciting. 4.8ghz+ boost clocks with an ipc boost - hoo boy
     
    combatant3219 likes this.
  7. nCrypt

    nCrypt Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,276
    Location:
    Melbourne
    new gen coming end of year, why do a refresh>? lol

    makes as much sense as the R5 3500x
     
  8. jjjc_93

    jjjc_93 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Messages:
    2,907
    Location:
    Perth
    Probably a couple of reasons. The process seems to have matured and people recently have been ocing higher with lower voltages than previously seen. AMD might just be capitalising on that with a boost tweak and product name change.

    Also gives them a quick reply to intel's refresh (who also reportedly have a new gen coming soon). Slight bump in speed to compete closer in lightly threaded applications + drop the price on existing line, seems to make sense even if they didn't really need to do it.
     
    nCrypt likes this.
  9. nCrypt

    nCrypt Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,276
    Location:
    Melbourne
    guess makes sense, can only be a good thing for us, the consumers.

    My mrs is very happy with her R5 2600 (i got from here last week), big improvement from her i3 6100.

    her pc feels smoother then the 8086k im using! looking forard to zen3!
     
  10. raincloudx

    raincloudx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,572
    Location:
    Victoria
  11. Maldark

    Maldark Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    657
    Location:
    Newcastle, NSW
    Why release it? Becuse they can.

    Their 7nm yeilds are now +94% which is insane, with higher yeilds, you get more golden chips. It just makes sense to bump the clocks otherwise there's performance just sitting in the chip not being used. Overclockers have been consistently getting better results with newer chips, why not open that performance to the plug and play market and spit in Intel's face while you're at it?
     
    RnR and nCrypt like this.
  12. Supersize

    Supersize Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,853
    Location:
    Gold Coast QLD
    Funny you should say that, my sons recent 3600 build feels smoother than my 9900k, could be due to a clean Windows 10 install, but it's defiantly a lot more snappier running around the desktop and launching stuff, I haven't even tried overclocking it yet.
    I put a 1TB Intel 660p nvme drive in his, where I'm running a 970 Evo nvme.
     
    nCrypt likes this.
  13. nCrypt

    nCrypt Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,276
    Location:
    Melbourne
    i didnt even re-install windows for the mrs, swapped from i3 6100/z170 to r5 2600/b450 - using a crucial 1tb NVME ssd. very happy with it, when i had my 1800x 3 years ago it was horrible, AMD have come along way.
     
  14. p3t0r

    p3t0r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    623
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Pricing moving back to pre-covid pricing maybe?
     

    Attached Files:

    MUTMAN and RnR like this.
  15. Supersize

    Supersize Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,853
    Location:
    Gold Coast QLD
    You're telling me, I hated using the 3900x build I did when it first come out, it was so flaky, but I'd happily use my son''s 3600 build.
    I see why Intel are sweating now.
     
  16. 335 GT

    335 GT Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2019
    Messages:
    1,121
    Location:
    W.A.
    Now undervolt it. That's where the performance is.
    Overclocking is a no brainer, just shove the core and mem to maximum.
    I'm running 2150/1900 @ 1.1v.

    I hope you like rgb! :D
    I installed strix and it has a tab where you can tone it down.

    Only annoying thing is the stock fan curve. It wont go above 1500rpm.
    And they are big.

    Nice pickup.
     
  17. ska'

    ska' Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,720
    Side graded from 9900k to 3900x as I needed more cores since I'm working from home..

    Seems to clock to 4.3 all-core fine, any more than that requires big voltage jumps so not really worth it. I overclocked my 3000mhz CL14 to 3600mhz with some loosening of the timings to hit 1800mhz on Infinity Fabric, not too bad for 2x16gb kit.

    [​IMG]
     
    RnR likes this.
  18. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    4,931
    Location:
    Melbourne
    *upgrade.
     
    MUTMAN and nCrypt like this.
  19. hellaflush

    hellaflush Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2009
    Messages:
    2,086
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Several of you replied so I am just going to do a general reply here.

    This screenshot is 5 minutes idle after a cold boot. No applications other than one tab of chrome and the software you see on the screenshot.

    [​IMG]

    It appears as though mine is constantly boosting and staying at 4.10ghz (around 1.4v) minimum upon booting into OS.

    *oldtimer voice* Now back in my day (1366), boost used to only occur under heavy utilisation, not at an idle 6%... is this a motherboard issue potentially?

    I am sceptical as to whether or not there is a problem with the h100i v2 also as only one pipe is hot and the other ice cold (this radiator isn't going to be cooling that efficiently trust me). I will be staying up late tonight to call Corsair support in the states and have a chat with them. But beyond that, surely this CPU shouldn't be boosting constantly?
     
  20. neRok

    neRok Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    3,933
    Location:
    Perth NOR
    Sounds like youve got windows set to performance power plan, which keeps it ramped at 100%. You need to install the AMD northbridge drivers and then use an AMD Ryzen plan, usually people go for the balanced one.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: