1. OCAU Merchandise now available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion here.
    Dismiss Notice

Ryzen 3000 series CPUs

Discussion in 'AMD x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by luke o, Dec 27, 2018.

  1. XeKToReX

    XeKToReX Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Messages:
    43
    Location:
    Melb, 3082
    Used to be my brand too, I had a 430W Bronze that I had to be running past it's limit for a long while.

    Only went Silverstone because was running SFX and now only again because I already spent a fortune on importing a genuine sleeved cable set that I didn't want to go to waste.
     
    RnR likes this.
  2. cbwolf

    cbwolf Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    2,737
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Oh please. This entire snobbery and elitism around power supplies is a load of typical PC elite horseshit.

    Most PSU brands don't manufactuer their own units - that doesn't make their units crap. Silverstone doesn't sell crap. Even their cheapest units are adequate. The point is, you can buy any Silverstone PSU and not have to worry you're buying some piece of crap dodgy bros special.

    Sure - i personally stick to Corsair's AX series, or Seasonic's Prime series and only in Platinum or Titanium certifications. That's because i can afford it, i care and am happy to pay for overkill. That doesn't magically make every other unit trash.
     
    nCrypt likes this.
  3. jpw007

    jpw007 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,626
    Location:
    Melbourne
    After plenty of research i went a Silverstone SFX for my NAS, get massive wraps on their SFX in particular :thumbup:
     
  4. TheWatcher

    TheWatcher Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2014
    Messages:
    621
    Do you think the Corsair SF series is good?
     
  5. nCrypt

    nCrypt Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,620
    Location:
    Melbourne
    This, i have a silverstone unit and a seasonic unit, both titanium, with my two systems.

    My home server also has a silverstone unit, never had an issue.

    Its like anything, everyone develops a bias towards a particular brand depending on their experience. I have had pretty much all brands in all components die at some point, it happens!
     
    Hotrod2go likes this.
  6. p3t0r

    p3t0r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    581
    Location:
    Newcastle
    MUTMAN likes this.
  7. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    7,962
    Location:
    4109
    my comments are not from a point of elitism at all.
    look at the facts; they use multiple manufacturers, and its a lotto draw to what you get.
    plain and simple.

    simply, going with silverstone because of the brand is a mistake. you need to know the oem
    when you know its provenance, you can make a sound judgementon what to buy.

    i dont disagree, we all have biasis to the brands. but why roll the dice ?
    sure, do your research and buy a silverstone if you know whats behind the sticker.
     
    nCrypt likes this.
  8. danyell

    danyell Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Messages:
    1,879
    Location:
    Kilsyth, 3137
    Ryzen, anyone?
     
    Sledge and mesaoz like this.
  9. Dunska

    Dunska Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2002
    Messages:
    841
    Location:
    Brisbane, Northside
  10. Toritechie

    Toritechie Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    127
    Well . . . finally did it, upgraded from my ancient Intel i7 980x Gulftown & Rampage III Extreme board.

    Switched to a Gigabyte AORUS B550 Master & a 3900x, and 64GB of Corsair DDR4.

    Definitely a nice upgrade, very happy.
     
    Ratzz, danyell, arasta and 4 others like this.
  11. Hotrod2go

    Hotrod2go Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2018
    Messages:
    511
    Location:
    Tas
    Nice to know, got this board coming next week, going to play with it for time being with my trusty 2600X & try mount my Cryorig R1 Ultimate cooler with AM4 adapter kit.
     
  12. Ratzz

    Ratzz Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Messages:
    9,765
    Location:
    Cheltenham East 3192
    Far out Brussells Sprout. I haven't even gotten around to flashing 2204. At least this one appears to actually be worthwhile, any ram improvements always welcome :thumbup:
     
  13. raincloudx

    raincloudx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,387
    Location:
    Victoria
    CPL has the XTs in stock:

    3600XT - $409
    3800XT - $659

    Hmm
     
    RnR likes this.
  14. Hotrod2go

    Hotrod2go Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2018
    Messages:
    511
    Location:
    Tas
    Tempting but I'll hang out for 4000 series.
     
  15. raincloudx

    raincloudx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,387
    Location:
    Victoria
    Yeah I had the 3800xt in my cart then realised a 3900x is the same price...
     
  16. p3t0r

    p3t0r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    581
    Location:
    Newcastle
    My Z170 mobo died last week :( Picked up an MSI B550M Mortar and a 3600 on the weekend. CPU will be an interim CPU until 4000 series early adopter tax drops.

    PBO voltage is 1.4v?!?! (Isn't that life-limiting for the CPU? ) It gets to 4.3Ghz. CPU Manufacture date May 2020.
    I've tried some basic overclocking and can get it to 4.4Ghz without touching voltage - but that's still at 1.4v.. I've tried 1.3v at 4.4Ghz and it crashes on Prime95. I guess I have some reading to do about how to tweak this further.. If at all possible

    On the other hand, I'm happy with the ram OC! e-die chip was able to do 3800 CL18 (but at 1.4v) for 1:1 IF

    At least I have something to tinker with for now
     
  17. mesaoz

    mesaoz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    6,193
    Location:
    SEQ Boganville
    Welcome to 7nm. Perfectly normal voltage
     
    Last edited: Jul 7, 2020
    p3t0r likes this.
  18. im late

    im late Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,698
    Location:
    Canning Vale WA 6155
    On my 3700X at 4.4GHz - is 1.4v common for 24/7?
     
  19. p3t0r

    p3t0r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    581
    Location:
    Newcastle
    I'm still new to all this but r/overcloclers seems to be all doom and gloom on anything over 1.3v even ?!
     
  20. raincloudx

    raincloudx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,387
    Location:
    Victoria
    IMO you should just try to find your highest stable OC at 1.3 or 1.25V and run that 24/7
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: