Ryzen 3000 series CPUs

Discussion in 'AMD x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by luke o, Dec 27, 2018.

  1. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    4,939
    Location:
    Melbourne
    What was I saying about a crap CPU? :lol:
     
  2. RnR

    RnR Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    16,290
    Location:
    Brisbane
    N7 silicon has improved over time. You might also have managed a slightly better mount.
     
    hellaflush likes this.
  3. Dunska

    Dunska Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2002
    Messages:
    844
    Location:
    Brisbane, Northside
    Looks like they pulled 2603 and replaced it with 2607... I did read somewhere that any AGESA version that is not 1.0.0.X is a beta version - not sure if that is correct.
     
  4. Ratzz

    Ratzz Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Messages:
    10,034
    Location:
    Cheltenham East 3192
    First world problem, I have about a zillion USB drives lying around here and can't find a single one :lol: . As soon as I do I'll update.

    I am actually already on 2603, I wonder why they pulled it? It's caused me no problems and seems to help a tiny bit with RAM stability.

    EDIT: I actually do have one USB drive handy, but it's a fancy 32GB Nitro+ themed anniversary one which I got with my Nitro+, in its own fancy gift box. I figure that if it remains a virgin it *might* appeal to any potential buyer of the GPU if I were to sell it some day. Since I don't need the drive, I'm never going to use it. Others might find them collectable or something one day...

    https://imgur.com/GHfYIy5.jpg
     
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2020
    335 GT and the_antipop like this.
  5. arasta

    arasta Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2001
    Messages:
    1,506
    Location:
    Brisbane
    dont have a micro sd you can rob out of a phone or something and shove in a usb adapter to do the job?

    ive had that problem with usb drives, now i have em all chained and looped together like a bunch of real keys lol makes it a bit easier to find.... have some of those spring clasp danglers ive robbed and used so i can unclip the one i want when i need it. still havent found the old drive that occasioned the change yet .../sigh
     
    Last edited: Aug 18, 2020
  6. 335 GT

    335 GT Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2019
    Messages:
    1,121
    Location:
    W.A.
    I never scored one of those.
     
  7. wahoo84

    wahoo84 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,359
    Location:
    Sydney
    Hello! I'm shopping for a new PC and am wondering whether I should settle with a R5 3600X or get the R7 3700X?

    Will definitely save money with the R5, and will be mostly using the PC as a workstation + gaming at 1440p (using gtx1070 for now, waiting for 3000 series).
    Am thinking the R7 might give me a bit more future proofing as I don't intend to overclock and am also going for an mITX build with a 240mm X53 AIO.

    Thanks!
     
  8. SnooP-WiggleS

    SnooP-WiggleS Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    3,156
    Location:
    Ballarat, Victoria
    I'd get a 3600 (non x) and upgrade to zen3 later, or 3700x if you don't want to change cpus in say 2 years time when a 12 or 16core zen3 is cheap. I know you said no overclocking but you can raise the power budget on a 3600 for a bit more performance, cpu still decides it's clocks and voltages so no stability issues to worry about.
     
  9. asho444

    asho444 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1,803
    Location:
    Sunny Coast
    Not on all boards such as b450 gigabyte boards :(
     
  10. neRok

    neRok Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    3,937
    Location:
    Perth NOR
    I agree, non-X 3600 is the better pick. But actually, if you're happy to buy a zen3, I would probably skimp out even more with just a 3300X. If you don't need the cores for your workstation duties, it will probably do just as well at gaming.
     
    M1ck1 likes this.
  11. Sledge

    Sledge Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8,450
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Yes.. yes you should
    wait till zen3 is out
     
    SnooP-WiggleS likes this.
  12. RnR

    RnR Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    16,290
    Location:
    Brisbane
    miicah, pH@tTm@N, raincloudx and 2 others like this.
  13. Recharge

    Recharge Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2001
    Messages:
    11,681
    Location:
    Brisbane
    damn it, beaten lol.
     
    RnR likes this.
  14. raincloudx

    raincloudx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,598
    Location:
    Victoria
    Wow this looks like a great tool! Can't wait to give it a go.
     
  15. jpw007

    jpw007 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4,870
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Properly disappointed it isn't available yet, i've been lazy with OC since moving to Ryzen as the gains never seemed big or significant for any effort...though i guess a few hundred Mhz on 12 cores does add up
     
  16. Recharge

    Recharge Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2001
    Messages:
    11,681
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I haven't bothered either, mainly because for what I'm doing and playing, the 3600 is a beast.
     
  17. chook

    chook Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2002
    Messages:
    3,797
    RnR likes this.
  18. Hotrod2go

    Hotrod2go Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2018
    Messages:
    527
    Location:
    Tas
    Ha, that's what I like about my 2600X! see no reason to upgrade in the cpu area. But then I'm fussy with my choice of games.
     
  19. Urbansprawl

    Urbansprawl Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2003
    Messages:
    751
    So given the current crazy prices for z97 boards and 4790k chips on ebay it looks like I could do a no cost swapover to a 3300x + B550, or get a 3600(x) for a little more. Not expecting any real performance gains but it would be good to trade old for new.

    This would become my second PC so not really concerned about waiting for 4000 series. Has anyone else done a similar swap? Trading a six year old CPU for brand new is pretty appealing. Also just looking for a project I think!
     
  20. Sgt Bilko

    Sgt Bilko Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2015
    Messages:
    1,118
    Location:
    Canberra(ish)
    Going from a 4790k to even the 3300X will be an upgrade, if you can do it for little to no cost then it's a no brainer imho, personally I'd be leaning more towards the 3600 over the 3300X but completely depends on what games you play.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: