Ryzen 3000 series CPUs

Discussion in 'AMD x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by luke o, Dec 27, 2018.

  1. Phido

    Phido Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    6,131
    Location:
    Dark City
    There are some good deals on b450, ~1tb SSD's and ram these days.
     
    MUTMAN likes this.
  2. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    6,896
    Location:
    4109
    Add a 3700X and bliss :)
     
  3. Phido

    Phido Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    6,131
    Location:
    Dark City
    Yeh, I think that will be the sweet spot.
    $200 board, $200 SSD (fast 1tb+ pcie4), $200 ram(32gb 3200+) + $500 CPU. Would seem to create a very fast and balanced system. If you cut back a bit (cheaper board, 16GB ram) you could easily fit it under $1000. That would still be a blazing fast system.

    Then later on you could pick up a Ryzen 4000, 12 or 16 core cheapy when the are EOL in ~2021 as a drop in replacement. I would imagine that would be quite competitive for a few years after that as well.
     
  4. Myne_h

    Myne_h Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2002
    Messages:
    9,581
    32gb 3200 for 200?!
     
  5. RnR

    RnR Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    13,937
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Would be super slow 3200 ram.
     
  6. Myne_h

    Myne_h Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2002
    Messages:
    9,581
    CAS 25,29,29,46?

    Lol :p
     
  7. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    6,896
    Location:
    4109
    well you can get 32gb of 3200 C18 for 259 at umart. with a bit of hunting and discount code action you might get that down to 220~230. so not far off.
    personally, i'll be going 16gb 3200 C14 safe as houses flareX for $260
     
  8. Rhimes

    Rhimes Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    558
    Location:
    Brisbane
    You can get 32gb Gskill C16 for $230 delivered at newegg at the moment. C14 will set you back a bit (50% more) - not sure how much difference it'll make with Ryzen 3000 yet - any reasonable speculation out there?

    Think i'd rather spend the extra on a PCIE4 m.2 SSD.

    I'll be interested to see the core load/frequency table for each CPU. Might be worth going the 3600 instead of the 3700 for gaming
     
  9. museumman

    museumman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2002
    Messages:
    238
    Location:
    on a plane with cocaine & yes im all lit up again
    Check buildzoids 32gb cheap mem video. Suprisingly good for cheaper mems.
     
    MUTMAN likes this.
  10. Phido

    Phido Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    6,131
    Location:
    Dark City
    32GB 16x2 3200 Cl16 at $209 https://www.newegg.com/global/au-en/g-skill-32gb-288-pin-ddr4-sdram/p/N82E16820232299
    Or if you want higher clocks
    32Gb 16x2 3600 $209 cl19 https://www.newegg.com/global/au-en/g-skill-32gb-288-pin-ddr4-sdram/p/N82E16820232740

    Okay so its not super fast, but decent. There is some CL15 ram for not a lot more ($50-60) if you want to move to the next speed grade.
    Sure you can spend a lot more to get top end stuff. But for most people this would be value. More money would be better spent on Video card or storage etc. Spending an extra $100 or $200 on ram nets you a few percent. While at this end you could be doubling your graphic card or your storage.

    Also depends what you do. If you do work that uses memory, then doubling your memory size is a better investment than faster memory in many cases.
     
    MUTMAN likes this.
  11. Myne_h

    Myne_h Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2002
    Messages:
    9,581
    Both are 230, but still, not bad. Not bad at all.

    I just bumped up to 16 and it's more than enough really.

    It struck me when I did it though that the very first ram I ever bought about 20 odd years ago was an upgrade from 8 to 16.

    Which I just did... again.
     
  12. chook

    chook Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,419
    Buildzoid also did another video where he talked about how 16GB was easier to overclock than 32GB because of how all the manufacturers make the 16GB DIMMs. I didn't pay enough attention to recall the specifics but paid enough attention to know I should come back and watch it again when I upgrade.
     
  13. Phido

    Phido Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    6,131
    Location:
    Dark City


    So at ~ $440.. for 2x32Gb sticks. Whoowee.. 3600 at pretty good timings (CL17).
    Tempting.. Sounds pretty tempting. My next build will be ITX, so squeezing in 64Gb ram, 8 cores, and maybe 2TB SSD HD would be pretty sweet.
     
    Myne_h likes this.
  14. RnR

    RnR Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    13,937
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Are there any games that require 32Gb these days?
     
  15. chook

    chook Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,419
    I think 16GB is still the sweet spot but I run 32GB now. That way I can have my computer doing other things while I am gaming. If you are getting a 12 or 16 core CPU, even eight core, then I would get 32GB of RAM as you are obviously focusing on multi tasking and not at all interested in compensating for your already adequate manhood :p.
     
  16. Sgt Bilko

    Sgt Bilko Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2015
    Messages:
    1,055
    Location:
    Canberra(ish)
    Require? none that I've come across.

    But having 32GB does allow me to run Chrome and play games at the same time :p
    Not a need, just a quality of life improvement on my end :)
     
  17. sTeeLzor

    sTeeLzor Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Messages:
    2,338
    You can do all that anyway on 16GB.

    32GB and certain performance settings might be unobtainable at the same time. Either you are using dual rank memory or 4 slots. This tends to cause problems for high speeds, lower latencies.

    No standard gamer plus general usage is ever really going to hit over 16GB. I've never felt RAM Limited in the last 5 year's with that config despite all the extra shit I do while I game.

    So just be aware of potential pitfalls and decide if you really need it. Or better yet, wait for reviews to show no issues with high speed RAM and 32Gb
     
    chook likes this.
  18. Sgt Bilko

    Sgt Bilko Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2015
    Messages:
    1,055
    Location:
    Canberra(ish)
    I fully agree, It's not a need at all and I can do much of the same on 16GB of system memory.
    The main difference is between allocation and actual usage and again you are right, Dual rank memory is often harder to run at higher speeds than single rank and using 4 x single rank DIMMs on a Dual Channel system has a similar effect.
     
  19. Unbanable

    Unbanable Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2012
    Messages:
    76
    Where is everyone pre ordering from ? Can we purchase from amazon us? if not where in oz? thanks
     
  20. chook

    chook Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,419
    That is the phrase I was trying to remember before: dual rank. The video I mentioned that Buildzoid did was talking about how all 16GB DIMMs are dual rank which makes it harder to get high frequencies with tight timings.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: