1. OCAU Merchandise now available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion here.
    Dismiss Notice

Ryzen 4000 Series Discussion

Discussion in 'AMD x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by Skramit, Nov 7, 2019.

  1. Elyzion

    Elyzion Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Messages:
    7,374
    Location:
    Singapore
  2. DarkSnipa

    DarkSnipa Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2017
    Messages:
    769
    Location:
    Perth
    Bolter01 likes this.
  3. Multiplexer

    Multiplexer Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2002
    Messages:
    2,109
    Location:
    Home
    I was under the impression the 4000 series is zen3. Why is it now zen2 from anandtech article?
     
  4. Elyzion

    Elyzion Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Messages:
    7,374
    Location:
    Singapore
    These are just oem APUs. We don’t have 4000 series yet. No announcement.
     
  5. jimbogimp

    jimbogimp Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    834
    Location:
    funny comment
    It's a very confusing naming system to be sure. They need to wipe the slate clean and start again with new numbers or letters. I don't know why they don't just do something that makes more sense to the core count and clock speed.
    Z3 16-45 (Zen 3, 16 core, 4.5ghz) or something.
     
  6. RnR

    RnR Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    15,705
    Location:
    Brisbane
    The monthly reconfirmation that Zen 3 is on track for release this year was made a few days ago...

    https://www.overclock3d.net/news/cp..._processor_is_on-track_to_release_this_year/1

    :p
     
    MUTMAN and SnooP-WiggleS like this.
  7. SnooP-WiggleS

    SnooP-WiggleS Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    3,132
    Location:
    Ballarat, Victoria
    :lol:

    Though good that they are now confirming it's definitely a client processor release, some leakers have suggested potentially only a server zen3 release was going to happen in 2020.
     
  8. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    7,966
    Location:
    4109
    Dec 31 is still 159 days away ....
     
  9. TRG.dOinK

    TRG.dOinK Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Messages:
    4,540
    Location:
    Melb East
    Meh, more bread crumbs to stop people buying Intels current CPUs. I have doubts about being able to physically buy one in 2020. Unless AMD were smart and released them at the same time as Navi and did bundle deals, which I also don't think will occur, but you just never know I guess :)

    Just hurry up already, I want to get a new PC :)
     
  10. cbwolf

    cbwolf Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    2,737
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Don't think AMD needs bread crumbs. AMD have only been gaining market share in the desktop CPU market and now have 2/3 of all sales vs Intel's 1/3.

    Intel is screwed in the desktop market unless they do something amazing quickly (although they probably care little since the majority of their revenue is from mobile where they have a massive market share lead).
     
  11. RnR

    RnR Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    15,705
    Location:
    Brisbane
    They are also screwed in the server market. They have admitted that their 7nm tech is now 12 months behind schedule and rumours is that they are having more issues with 7nm than with 10nm. They claim they will field a 7nm server part in 2023. AMD will field TSMC 5nm server parts (roughly the same density as Intel's 7nm process) next year. So they will have a 2 year lead at least in desktop and serverside.

    And serverside is the river of gold.

    And TSMC is expecting their N3 process to be in volume producting in late 2022.

    Intel is farked. And all because of internal politics.
     
  12. Quipster

    Quipster Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2020
    Messages:
    101
    Location:
    Centeral QLD
    will there be a x670 board released with the new Zen 3 chips this year
     
  13. RnR

    RnR Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    15,705
    Location:
    Brisbane
    No idea. Seems a bit daft to release new motherboards with a new chipset if they are going to go AM5 next year. But Intel does this, so many AMD will do it once.
     
    Ratzz likes this.
  14. Ratzz

    Ratzz Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Messages:
    9,767
    Location:
    Cheltenham East 3192
    My money says no. Zen 4 is DDR5, they won't design chipsets that only support one generation.

    Unless X670 supports both DDR4 and DDR5, like some older Intel boards did with separate dimms on board for both DDR2 or DDR3. That would be interesting...
     
    Last edited: Aug 6, 2020
  15. RnR

    RnR Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    15,705
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Maybe it is... maybe it isn't. DDR5 is coming to server-side in 2021 for both AMD and Intel. Consumer-side is a little more iffy... could make sense to wait to 2022 for DDR5. Maybe Zen 4 won't be released in 2021. Maybe it will be a Zen 3+ but on 5nm and on AM4. We just don't know at this point.

    hmm... Zen 5, DDR5, PCIe5, AM5...?
     
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2020
    SnooP-WiggleS likes this.
  16. Ratzz

    Ratzz Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Messages:
    9,767
    Location:
    Cheltenham East 3192
    Yeah, possible I guess. I'm personally convinced that Zen 4 will be DDR5, but the timeline and the possibility of a Zen3+, I agree is certainly up for discussion.

    I vaguely recall that some DDR5 has already been tested, not sure? If so, on what platform is the question I guess?
     
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2020
  17. dirtyd

    dirtyd Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2006
    Messages:
    4,053
    Location:
    Melbs
    https://www.techspot.com/news/86000-jedec-releases-ddr5-memory-specification.html

     
    RnR likes this.
  18. adamsleath

    adamsleath Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    18,801
    Location:
    Sunnybank Q 4109
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2020
  19. mAJORD

    mAJORD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    11,196
    Location:
    Griffin , Brisbane
    Depends. The APUs have much better memory latency which will no doubt offset some of the L3 loss, or all of it for all we know (until someone tests them back to back)
     
    MUTMAN likes this.
  20. SnooP-WiggleS

    SnooP-WiggleS Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    3,132
    Location:
    Ballarat, Victoria
    MUTMAN and RnR like this.

Share This Page

Advertisement: