Ryzen 5000 Series Discussion

Discussion in 'AMD x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by Skramit, Nov 7, 2019.

  1. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    5,458
    Location:
    Melbourne
    In HWinfo, are there any WHEA errors?
     
  2. PureFire

    PureFire Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,798
    Looks like Asrock did something they werent suppose to

    https://twitter.com/hardwarecanucks/status/1331293737574653957
     
    MUTMAN and Bertross like this.
  3. govich

    govich Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2002
    Messages:
    177
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Thanks for sharing, this helped me out. I've found either single-core biased settings, or multi-core biased settings on my 5800x.
    PBO Auto / +175 override / Curve optimiser disabled gives me about 4600 sustained all core boost and 5015 single core boost, stable.
    PBO Auto / +100 override / Curve optimiser all cores -20 gives me about 4740 sustained all core boost and 4940 single core boost, stable.
    Messing around with PBO limits/ scalar settings just makes it unstable & seems to make no difference to scores.
     
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2020
  4. Aussiejuggalo

    Aussiejuggalo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3,204
    Location:
    Sunshine Coast Queensland
    Well if that ain't the prettiest thing I've ever seen...

    [​IMG]

    Just gotta back everything up now then get to work cleaning and installing.

    Edit, so what's the best way of putting TIM on these, pea method, X, big old splooge and spread?
     
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2020
    MUTMAN, shirl, ska' and 3 others like this.
  5. ska'

    ska' Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,763
    My old 2x8gb kit did, but this 2x16gb kit doesn't seem to like overclocking.

    Memory fails stress testing after about 2min at 3600c16.
     
  6. jpw007

    jpw007 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    5,644
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Ryzen is an X due to chip design, iirc.
     
    MUTMAN and Aussiejuggalo like this.
  7. Snoops

    Snoops Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Messages:
    1,849
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Is it b-die ? If so, more voltage is your friend..
     
  8. Gibbon

    Gibbon grumpy old man

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    6,438
    Location:
    2650
    Forum needs a dislike button :(
     
  9. shirl

    shirl Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Messages:
    272
    Location:
    sydney
    Put in my 5900x so i gave R23 a runi dont know if these are good so just asking been long time since ive benched a pc,let alone overclocked 1 i ran cinebench r23
    21369
    ambient temp in my room 22.2 degrees,idel sits around 29 degree
    most cores hitting 4950.1@1.494V max temp HWinfo 68 dregrees

    everything at stock, i have no idea is this good bad,time to start reading about overclocking these new cpu,s..
     
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2020
  10. nCrypt

    nCrypt Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,385
    Location:
    Melbourne
    i use to have 8x8 3200c14 tridentz, and using 2 sticks at a time with my 7700K, all sticks would do 4000 C12 lol. (granted was 1.88-1.9V)

    But BDIE and voltage like strawberry and cream!

    Oh noes, which video card you using? sounds like flakey power tbh, either power board, power cable, power supply (or motherboard power regulation)

    reseat everytthing, cpu ram gfx, replug all power cables, ensure PSU is plugged directly into wall,. have another crack
     
    MUTMAN likes this.
  11. FuzwaldQO

    FuzwaldQO Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    2,358
    Location:
    Near Hobart...
    5900x represent!

    5900x.jpg

    I have a friend buying my 5600x, 32gb ram, and MSI B550 mb, so now I have my new 5900x, bought better ram from the forums (shit, I have to pay for that) for around the same price as I paid for the first lot, and now have to try and find a X570 board and a graphics card!

    This would have to be the fastest upgrade I have ever done... lmao. Intel i7-6700k to Ryzen 5600x to Ryzen 5900x in less than a month hahaha.
     
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2020
    MUTMAN and nCrypt like this.
  12. Aussiejuggalo

    Aussiejuggalo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3,204
    Location:
    Sunshine Coast Queensland
    Really dumb question before I go offline to build this thing, I've got a Wraith Spire, will that be good enough just to make sure I can get into the BIOS / update anything if I need to? I don't want to pull my AIO off just in case I need access to a PC for some reason.

    Once I eventually go offline, back up to the server is taking forever :rolleyes:. One of these day's I'll have spare parts for testing stuff.
     
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2020
  13. portstevo

    portstevo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,049
    Location:
    Port Macquarie
    Good enough as long as you don't put significant load on it.
     
  14. Aussiejuggalo

    Aussiejuggalo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3,204
    Location:
    Sunshine Coast Queensland
    Ok cool. I wont be putting any load on it, just want to make sure the BIOS is updated and if not I'll update it, maybe check to see if it can get into my current Windows install as well.
     
  15. pher0x

    pher0x Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Messages:
    487
    Location:
    SA
    My X570 board failed to post when dropping back a BIOS revision over the weekend, powered off and shorted the clear CMOS header and she came back to life.

    Use the spreader cap that comes with the paste?
     
  16. FuzwaldQO

    FuzwaldQO Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    2,358
    Location:
    Near Hobart...
    Oh, absolutely big splooge. As much as you can fit on there. The more you can fit, the better the heat transfer. It will squeeze unneeded amounts out the sides which will help with heat transfer there too, so lather it up.

    /s :D
     
  17. Aussiejuggalo

    Aussiejuggalo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3,204
    Location:
    Sunshine Coast Queensland
    X or splooge it is :p. Wish me luck, shutting down and starting the boring process of cleaning and swapping. I'll either be back in a couple of hours or a couple of minutes :lol:.
     
    jjjc_93 likes this.
  18. ska'

    ska' Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,763
  19. Snoops

    Snoops Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Messages:
    1,849
    Location:
    Brisbane
  20. Aussiejuggalo

    Aussiejuggalo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3,204
    Location:
    Sunshine Coast Queensland
    God damn it. Need some help, trying to do the MSI bios flash thing but the led stops flashing after a few seconds and stays solid red.

    Downloaded the latest non beta bios, renamed it to MSI.ROM, stuck it on a usb 2 drive, board is completely unpopulated.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: