Ryzen 5000 Series Discussion

Discussion in 'AMD x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by Skramit, Nov 7, 2019.

  1. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    9,410
    Location:
    4109
    how good are these ... incredible value when they were under $119 a while back
     
  2. RnR

    RnR Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    16,789
    Location:
    Brisbane
    New bios coming out for X570 boards in Jan/Feb;
    • Win10 s0i3 support
    • Stability tuning for 1800-2000MHz FCLK (OC)
    • Support for passive X570 motherboards
    • General stability improvements
    https://twitter.com/AMDRyzen/status/1346573224834953218

    wtf is 'passive X570 motherboards'... and why would they need bios support? Automated thermal management of the pcie io die with pcie speeds slowing if too hot to avoid losing data?
     
  3. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    9,410
    Location:
    4109
    I'd guess this ^
     
  4. SKITZ0_000

    SKITZ0_000 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,458
    Location:
    Tas
    Yeah they're great, I got this 32GB kit for $229 in mid 2019 which was less than half the price of b-die at the time, has done me well through Zen2 and now with Zen3.
     
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2021
    MUTMAN likes this.
  5. Ndsspex

    Ndsspex Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2019
    Messages:
    72

    Get a b-die kit mate (eg 3600c14d-32gtzn) mine are 8gb*4 single rank set, might have difficulties to achieve 4000 c14 with 4 sticks lol, will try to lower that "scl" timings haha, 1.1.9.0 is awesome
     
  6. Saiyan_Overlord

    Saiyan_Overlord Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,007
    Location:
    Sydney 2074
    So, asked Scorptec for an update on my 5950x ... They just link you to a page they claim to keep updated but haven't updated since November 18th ...

    Where is the transparency?
     
  7. SKITZ0_000

    SKITZ0_000 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,458
    Location:
    Tas
    Yeah but your CAS is currently 18, why not 16?
     
  8. arasta

    arasta Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2001
    Messages:
    1,551
    Location:
    Brisbane
    in the asus website under my account theres "application status" which i think is where you have to watch for any movement at the station. waiting on mine as well, trying to be restrained with only one page refresh a day :p

    watching the ram tuning with interest, i only have a set of 2x8 c14 3200 flarex so some 32gb kit is in my future down the track i think....
     
  9. self_slaughter

    self_slaughter Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,719
    Will be interesting to see if the new AGESA helps pushing ram speeds or not on my setup. 1900s my limit currently on 1.1.8.0.

    Asus pulled the AGESA 1.1.9.0 bios from their website, no idea why, but glad I didn't rush into that one.
    After all the bullshit trying to find a solid bios when I first got this chip, I'm reluctant to change unless there's a damn good reason. hah
     
    K.I.L.E.R likes this.
  10. Dakommy

    Dakommy Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    Messages:
    34

    Well I don't know exactly why, but I do know that after putting it on my mobo my 5ghz OC was suddenly no longer stable.
     
  11. glnn_23

    glnn_23 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    521
    I normally manual overclock but I'm trying out the DOS with a -0.05 offset Vcore in a Asus Dark Hero at the moment.

    I think it's pretty cool to set an all core clock and then at low amps get quite an increase in single core.

    All core 4.7/4.65Ghz single core 5.05Ghz

    I haven't used The ClockTuner from 1usmus and not sure if that with pbo is similar.


    Click to view full size!
     
    SKITZ0_000 and AlmostHuman like this.
  12. mesaoz

    mesaoz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2015
    Messages:
    7,855
    Location:
    South East QLD
    clocktuner won't support zen3 until later this month
     
  13. K.I.L.E.R

    K.I.L.E.R Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,218
    After an issue with reverting BIOS with Gigabyte's Sandy Bridge E platform I rarely use Beta BIOSs unless plenty of others have tested it for days at least. Gigabyte also released a beta BIOS last year that was taken down quickly after a few users had their CPUs destroyed through it.

    I also never buy Gigabyte any more, for anything!
     
  14. Punch Bunny

    Punch Bunny Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2001
    Messages:
    1,579
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I think the page is being updated, just not the date stamp on the page itself - if you look at the fulfillment dates for each product line, the 5800x is dated after the page date stamp. The same thing is happening with the RTX 30 series page - I've got a close eye on that one, and the page is absolutely updating even though the date stamp on the page is not.
     
    RnR likes this.
  15. aphexer

    aphexer Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2002
    Messages:
    91
    New one on the website now for both AU and USA:

    Version 3102 Beta Version
    2021/01/06 20.38 MBytes
    ROG CROSSHAIR VIII HERO(WI-FI) BIOS 3102
    Update AMD AM4 AGESA V2 PI 1.1.9.0.
    Improve ReSize Bar function
    Improve RAID function
    Improve system performance and compatibility
     
  16. self_slaughter

    self_slaughter Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,719
    Heh, I jumped through enough hoops finding a stable bios for this board.

    If it's a beta, it's a beta for a reason. Asus are garbage when it comes to software, if even they don't think its stable, it's really not stable. hah
     
    MUTMAN likes this.
  17. netlord

    netlord Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    569
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I thought once you overclock a Zen CPU, it locks the frequency to all cores?
    How are yours different, what am i missing?
     
  18. anthonyl

    anthonyl Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    Messages:
    11,389
    Location:
    Brisbane
  19. Aussiejuggalo

    Aussiejuggalo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3,234
    Location:
    Sunshine Coast Queensland
    Least all the other companies are doing beta BIOS's in stages. MSI are just updating the same download link, still no stable BIOS since 1.1.0.0 Patch C :rolleyes:.
     
  20. n3wbi379

    n3wbi379 Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,631
    Location:
    Melb
    Evening fellow members.
    What type of cooling would be sufficient to cool a 5900x?

    Would a 240 aio water kit be OK or 360... or custom?

    Thanks
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: