Ryzen 5000 Series Discussion

Discussion in 'AMD x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by Skramit, Nov 7, 2019.

  1. Aussiejuggalo

    Aussiejuggalo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3,232
    Location:
    Sunshine Coast Queensland
    Corsair H100i V2 with ML120 Pro (non RGB) fans cooling my stock 5900x, no issues. My rooms pretty hot but it normally doesn't really hit 80c unless I'm stressing the balls off it.

    I will be going an over the top 360 AIO but that's simply because I'm an idiot and I can :leet:.
     
    n3wbi379 likes this.
  2. netlord

    netlord Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    569
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I got myself a 280mm AIO, and would be happy with anything in the 60s while under load.

    What's the modern cpu stress test these days? I used to use prime95.
     
  3. Gibbon

    Gibbon grumpy old man

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    6,511
    Location:
    2650
    So .... any 5950x's available anywhere? I keep checking my usual sites, but buggered if I ever see any pop up. Sigh.
    What's the best strategy to get one atm?
     
  4. RnR

    RnR Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    16,771
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Get Lisa Su on the sauce at the CES... and then just use your natural masculine charms.
     
    MUTMAN likes this.
  5. Zarok77

    Zarok77 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2020
    Messages:
    1,278
    Location:
    Sydney
    OJR, glnn_23 and MUTMAN like this.
  6. Gibbon

    Gibbon grumpy old man

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    6,511
    Location:
    2650
    Go easy, I don't want to bankrupt AMD with all the gifts I'm sure she'd shower me with :D
     
    MUTMAN and Aussiejuggalo like this.
  7. nugget28

    nugget28 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Messages:
    2,579
    Location:
    Sydney, Shire
    Just a heads up for anyone using iCue, they just released an update as apparently it was causing unexpected usage in the background and my idle's dropped from around 60 to high 30's.
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2021
    RnR and MUTMAN like this.
  8. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    5,533
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Surely not! iCUE being a piece of shit???
     
    MUTMAN likes this.
  9. Malakai

    Malakai Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2001
    Messages:
    1,057
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    I just updated, I'm not noticing much difference. I've never had any problems with iCUE though, strange because there are a lot of haters.
     
  10. Gibbon

    Gibbon grumpy old man

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    6,511
    Location:
    2650
    Hmmm, yeah, I often see iCUE using 15+% CPU when my PC is totally idle. It's been really frustrating. Hopefully this update will fix it (haven't installed it yet)
     
  11. Aussiejuggalo

    Aussiejuggalo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3,232
    Location:
    Sunshine Coast Queensland
    I got rid of Corsair software on this new install, if you just have an AIO once you set and save the profile with fan curves etc it saves to the AIO so you don't need software ;).
     
    Gibbon likes this.
  12. Gibbon

    Gibbon grumpy old man

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    6,511
    Location:
    2650
    Yeah, I use a Commander Pro to run an AIO and all my case fans, plus I like the dashboard .... if they've fixed the CPU usage I'll be happy enough with it. Haven't had any other issues with it.
     
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2021
  13. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    5,533
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I literally got rid of all Corsair hardware because of the reliance on iCUE.
     
    coolroy and MUTMAN like this.
  14. Aussiejuggalo

    Aussiejuggalo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3,232
    Location:
    Sunshine Coast Queensland
    I'm getting rid of the Corsair AIO this year, gonna be using the BIOS for control mostly, if needed I'll use Argus Monitor or Aqua Suite.

    I try not to have bloatware running on my PC, it annoys me, could do hardware control but those kinds of fan controllers can be iffy.
     
  15. jjjc_93

    jjjc_93 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3,282
    Location:
    Perth
    That's why I like the EK AIOs. PWM headers straight to the motherboard, same deal with the argb header if you want to use the lights. No extra bloatware.
     
  16. Gibbon

    Gibbon grumpy old man

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    6,511
    Location:
    2650
    Getting a bit OT I guess, but can you still base your AIO radiator fan curves on the water temp using BIOS control? I do like the look of the EK AIOs, but I wasn't sure how to control them.
     
  17. Fai

    Fai Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    850
    Location:
    Melb
    Without iCue, according to ryzen master, at idle my volts are between .55-.65V. With iCue loaded it hangs around 1.1V - new update doesn't change that.
     
  18. boneburner

    boneburner Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,885
    x570 boards that have no need for a fan on the actual chipset - there's only a handful of them afaik
     
  19. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    9,391
    Location:
    4109
    there most certainly is. that's why it's there
     
  20. boneburner

    boneburner Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,885
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2021

Share This Page

Advertisement: