Ryzen 5000 Series Discussion

Discussion in 'AMD x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by Skramit, Nov 7, 2019.

  1. Gibbon

    Gibbon grumpy old man

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    6,429
    Location:
    2650
    I've nearly bought one every time they pop up at Umart - but I'm holding the line, and will wait for the next gen. FOMO is strong though :D
     
  2. woznme

    woznme Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    i just can't see the the availability of next gen being better .. I think this is the new norm for some time, with even worse to come. I would of waited but i have a new boxed motherboard sitting in the cupboard, getting dated!
     
  3. micsway123

    micsway123 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2020
    Messages:
    149
    Location:
    Melbourne 3015
    5600x in stock on newegg just now. $510 all in.
     
  4. Gibbon

    Gibbon grumpy old man

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    6,429
    Location:
    2650
    Yeah, I tend to agree. For a while, anyway. I've just upgraded my GPU and monitor - I was planning to replace everything, but (at least at the moment) I'm struggling to see the value. Might all change next week though, or if I see a 5950X available again in a weak moment :D
     
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2021
  5. PureFire

    PureFire Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,796
    If next gen Ryzen is 5nm or something else other than 7nm then availability will be fine. The problem at the moment is PS and Xbox consoles, Ryzen CPUs, Radeon cards, are all on TSMC 7nm which can only push out so much each month.
     
  6. woznme

    woznme Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    Gold Coast
    AMD has already confirmed that Zen 4 will be built on a 5nm node, but other things will follow so they all move down together.. though the guess consoles will be staying there for some years
     
  7. RnR

    RnR Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    16,658
    Location:
    Brisbane
    AMD have stated that its silicon supplies are not an issue. Its the ABF substrate that is in short supplies. Moving to N5 won't solve anything if the ABF substrate shortage is not solved. AMD have indicated that product shortages will be resolved by mid year.
     
    MUTMAN likes this.
  8. Kelvin

    Kelvin Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,839
    Location:
    Melbourne 3103
    hmmm.. for those in Melbourne,

    Centrecom Richmond, have a heap of 5600X, 5800X, 5900X (oem) and a sole 5950X in their display.
    as well as a few 3090, 6800, 6900XT and a tray of oem Asus 3070 Dual...
    not to mention oa couple of shelf full of 3xxx series and a 1600s
     
    micsway123 likes this.
  9. Phido

    Phido Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2003
    Messages:
    7,460
    Location:
    Dark City
    Zen4 5nm...

    But Zen3+ on 7nm+ ? still AM4?
    I dunno running out a new socket and new memory during this shortage may not be a hot idea.
    Ryzen 3000 are in shortage. Motherboards are in shortage. PSU are in shortage. GPU's are in shortage.
     
  10. micsway123

    micsway123 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2020
    Messages:
    149
    Location:
    Melbourne 3015
    shame they've jacked up their prices (which is likely because the distributors have)
     
  11. Gibbon

    Gibbon grumpy old man

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    6,429
    Location:
    2650
    So I had a weak moment. Damn you Umart, for having the 5950X in stock for so long. Ordered :D
     
    arasta, jpw007, OJR and 2 others like this.
  12. TheImp

    TheImp Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,664
    Location:
    Indooroopilly
    ha ha. I have my details in and ready to click order. I'm amazed they're still available.
     
    Gibbon likes this.
  13. Gibbon

    Gibbon grumpy old man

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    6,429
    Location:
    2650
    Still in stock! :D
     
  14. TheImp

    TheImp Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,664
    Location:
    Indooroopilly
    Stop it! haha.
     
    Gibbon likes this.
  15. jpw007

    jpw007 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    5,637
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I'm so glad I don't have custom water still or I probably would have stupidly got the 5950X also. I only want a 5900X, and i'm convinced the Noctua won't like even more cores :lol:
     
  16. Gibbon

    Gibbon grumpy old man

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    6,429
    Location:
    2650
    Yeah, I'm hoping a Corsair H115i will cope. Won't be overlocking as such, so hopefully it'll be alright. My case has good airflow. Might double up the fans.

    I use my PC for work as well as play, so the extra cores will be useful.

    EDIT: Also, they're STILL in stock! wow.
     
  17. darkbastard

    darkbastard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Messages:
    911
    Location:
    Duranbah - near Kingsclif
    I had a H150i on my 5950x and it was fine
     
    Gibbon likes this.
  18. Gibbon

    Gibbon grumpy old man

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    6,429
    Location:
    2650
    Yeah, not expecting any issues :thumbup:
     
  19. nibennett

    nibennett Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2007
    Messages:
    400
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Going my first custom water whenever I get my 5900X (Ordered from Pccasegear in early Dec so April expected). Starting off with a EK P360 DRGB Kit as it seems quite a good starting point moving from AIO's.
     
  20. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    5,449
    Location:
    Melbourne
    I cooled my 3950x with a fractal s36 360 AiO. Was plenty.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: