1. OCAU Merchandise is available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion in this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

Ryzen 5000 Series Discussion

Discussion in 'AMD x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by Skramit, Nov 7, 2019.

  1. jekel

    jekel Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2004
    Messages:
    1,020
    Location:
    Melbourne
    mAJORD, netlord and MUTMAN like this.
  2. netlord

    netlord Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    572
    Location:
    Melbourne
    So many weeks have passed since i started, but I have finally put it together.

    Last night I try to boot it up for the first time, only for it to power up but have no display! Double checked my cabling, terminations and even checked for bent pins on the CPU. Nope all good there...
    After a chat with a friend and some research, I found that you can update your bios directly using the USB port on the back and flash bios button.

    So I downloaded the latest MSI x570 Tomahawk bios, loaded it to a USB stick and almost 7mins later.... it posted!
    What a relief!!

    Now, the dreaded windows 10 installation, and update, update....

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

    mAJORD, nCrypt, MUTMAN and 1 other person like this.
  3. nCrypt

    nCrypt Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,633
    Location:
    Melbourne
    need to get the dram volts up and set the mem speed! :D

    gl
     
    netlord likes this.
  4. kr0k

    kr0k Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,406
    Does this new Zen3+ architecture work with AM4 or will it be delivered in the new AM5 socket?
     
  5. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    11,378
    Location:
    4109
    all speculation right now
    no leaks about new socket mobos so my money is on AM4
     
    OJR likes this.
  6. raincloudx

    raincloudx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    2,109
    Location:
    Victoria
    micsway123 and OJR like this.
  7. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    6,168
    Location:
    Melbourne
  8. Aussiejuggalo

    Aussiejuggalo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3,363
    Location:
    Sunshine Coast Queensland
    That is a good price, wouldn't mind sticking one in my NAS but I'm poor :upset:.
     
  9. kr0k

    kr0k Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,406
    netlord and RnR like this.
  10. netlord

    netlord Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    572
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Just installing my usual programs and games first, plus the occasional 3d mark test to watch things fly!

    After that, the tweaking begins, but I gotta get accustomed to the MSI bios layout, so different to my old ASUS bios and the menu structure I'm used to.
     
  11. micsway123

    micsway123 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2020
    Messages:
    1,081
    Location:
    Melbourne
    MUTMAN and OJR like this.
  12. micsway123

    micsway123 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2020
    Messages:
    1,081
    Location:
    Melbourne
    MUTMAN likes this.
  13. raincloudx

    raincloudx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    2,109
    Location:
    Victoria
  14. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    11,378
    Location:
    4109
    I'm thinking prices will tumble more yet
    b2 stepping on the way, bigger cache models on the way, end of financial year sales ...

    there's going to be an absolute steal somewhere soon. and it'll vaporiser as it gets posted.
     
  15. Sgt Bilko

    Sgt Bilko Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2015
    Messages:
    1,225
    Location:
    Canberra(ish)
    My 5900X caps out at 1900 fclk, 1933 sometimes posts, sometimes not and 2000 just won't happen.
    This is on a C8H for reference but it does the same on a B550 Aorus Master
     
    nCrypt and MUTMAN like this.
  16. RnR

    RnR Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    17,470
    Location:
    Brisbane
    When is your B2 stepping arriving? :p
     
    MUTMAN likes this.
  17. mAJORD

    mAJORD Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    12,622
    Location:
    Griffin , Brisbane
    would stand to reason having two CCD's connected to the IOd would have an impact on IF clock, so not surprising.
     
    nCrypt and MUTMAN like this.
  18. Sgt Bilko

    Sgt Bilko Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2015
    Messages:
    1,225
    Location:
    Canberra(ish)
    I'm not surprised nor disappointed, it does everything I ask of it and still has more in the tank, Honestly best CPU I've owned.
     
    nCrypt and MUTMAN like this.
  19. nCrypt

    nCrypt Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,633
    Location:
    Melbourne
    two of my mates have x570 masters, and their bios is just lacking compared to my 2 asus x570 boards.

    Could just be a bias and being use to the layout within Asus, however do not like the gb x570 bios whatsoever. The boards themselves the x570 master, solid heavy good looking and nice layout board. definately a quality board.

    my 5950X isnt stable at 2000IF, boots, and stayed on for ages, but isnt stable. but just having it boot is something!

    The 5800x does 2000 without a sweat, and boots 2133, but havnt tinkered to see if thats stable, diminishing returns by this point anyway. 4000 c16-16-16 vs 4266 c19-19-19 pre much same.
     
    MUTMAN likes this.
  20. netlord

    netlord Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    572
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Its complete!

    Lian Li case from around 10 years ago, makes the 3080 look mid sized!
    Though got questions for optimisation...

    My ram is rated 3600 16-18-18-38 @1.35v (Crucial Ballistix)
    I've tweaked it to 16-16-16-38 @1.4v

    Theres a whole bunch of other values there too but no idea what and how much to change them?
    I tried Ryzen DRAM calculator which didnt work properly, and there was no option for Zen 3 (5000 series) CPU's.
    I've set the thingamajingy to half ram speed (1800).

    What do you use? When else could I tweak?

    Yeah, cables could be a bit tidier but I got to a point where I just wanted to use the PC, lol.

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

    arasta, OJR, MUTMAN and 3 others like this.

Share This Page

Advertisement: