1. OCAU Merchandise is available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion in this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

Ryzen 5000 Series Discussion

Discussion in 'AMD x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by Skramit, Nov 7, 2019.

  1. micsway123

    micsway123 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2020
    Messages:
    1,081
    Location:
    Melbourne
    just needs some custom cable sleeves to finish the job
     
    arasta and netlord like this.
  2. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    11,377
    Location:
    4109
    someone hasn't read the FAQ :D :p

    There is a video on it too. click through for linkage

    short story though, for day to day use and games, you won't get a lot of gains by pushing the ram much further.

    try it for fun though :)

    edit - sweet setup dude, those cases were the bomb :thumbup:
     
    netlord likes this.
  3. netlord

    netlord Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    572
    Location:
    Melbourne
    The FAQ! Too busy reading latest posts and posting my own, I forgot to check the 1st post :lol:

    Appreciate the pointers, ill have a look through it later :)
     
    MUTMAN likes this.
  4. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    11,377
    Location:
    4109
    yer. I never read them either :lol::lol::lol:
     
    netlord and RnR like this.
  5. nCrypt

    nCrypt Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,633
    Location:
    Melbourne
    dont even really know what PBO tbh, havnt really read haha.

    got my chips, set IF to 2000,. mems to 4000, adjust some volts,. and away i go. simplz
     
    netlord and MUTMAN like this.
  6. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    11,377
    Location:
    4109

    you gots A+ mobo and A+ rams
    its gotta help :thumbup:
     
    nCrypt likes this.
  7. nCrypt

    nCrypt Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,633
    Location:
    Melbourne
    not only that, also seem to be pretty lucky, and get a+ cpu's

    this 5800x is purrrrring, now running 2133 IF and mems at full speed 4266 c19-19-19.

    1 point faster then 2000 IF and rams 4000 c16-16-16 in cinebench, so in the margin or error, so literally no difference between IF 2000 and 2133, given the latency increase in the mems.

    Now try to push the royals further and try and get 4266 c16-16-16 or as close too it, as dropping these is where il see more gains. again these gains purely synthetic, at these speeds not going to effect FPS whatsoever.
     
    arasta, netlord, RnR and 1 other person like this.
  8. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    11,377
    Location:
    4109
    well hope you gets a A+ on the new steppings and push them royals :)
     
    nCrypt likes this.
  9. RnR

    RnR Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    17,470
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Sell your royals and get the new stuff 4000 c14. That 5800X demands it :D
     
    MUTMAN likes this.
  10. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    11,377
    Location:
    4109
    save them $$$ for the new steppings :)
     
  11. nCrypt

    nCrypt Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,633
    Location:
    Melbourne
    hmm, dont think ill get Zen3+ haha, but never say never!

    the 5950x/2080Ti system needs a GPU upgrade first, and got options, have 3080 Ti ordered, but no ETA, and trying to get hands on a 2nd hand 3090/6900XT.

    TBH the 5950X is great, very snappy, noticably faster then the 3900X it replaced.

    current kit is 2x8GB royals 4266 19-19-19

    had them running 4000 16-16-16 for as the daily 24/7 with the 5800X for the past 6 months.

    4000 14-14-14 would be sick.

    My 3200 c14 tridentZ 2x8gb bdies from Z270/7700K days would do 4000 c12 @ 1.88-1.91V, pure benching tests these volts fine.

    Not sure how these royals would like 1.88-1.9V on an AMD system, never tried that high!
     
    MUTMAN likes this.
  12. RnR

    RnR Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    17,470
    Location:
    Brisbane
    The new Royals 4000C14 are Samsung B-die at 1.55V apparently.
     
    nCrypt likes this.
  13. nCrypt

    nCrypt Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,633
    Location:
    Melbourne
    yeah i would expect them to be pushing volts, never going to reach those speeds and timings at 1.35-1.4V

    must research :D

    EDIT: they are 14-15-15 4000mhz kits.

    interesting, also come in 2x16GB kits, be nice, since my current royals are only 16gb (2x8gb)

    EDIT 2:

    32GB $799
    https://www.newegg.com/global/au-en...-32GTRS-_-20-374-209-_-Product&quicklink=true

    16GB $450
    https://www.newegg.com/global/au-en..._re=F4-4000C14D-16GTRS-_-20-374-207-_-Product

    hmmm, very tempting, the 32GB, usually the 16gb bdie sticks aint quiet as good as the 8gb sticks in clocking, but maybe thats no longer true.
     
    Last edited: Jun 9, 2021
  14. RnR

    RnR Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    17,470
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Didn't know they come in 2x16. Thats like a 5 seater performance car rather than being stuck with a 2 seater... :p
     
    MUTMAN and nCrypt like this.
  15. nCrypt

    nCrypt Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,633
    Location:
    Melbourne
    yeah like my current kit the 4266 c19 2x8gb royals, these dont come in a 2x16gb 4266 c19. doesnt exist. they had 17-18-18 and 19-26-26 neither which were BDIE.

    id like confirmation the 14-15-15 are bdie before buyi8ng, as usually bdie chips were FLAT timings, ie 14-14-14 or 19-19-19 not, 14-15-15.
     
  16. RnR

    RnR Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    17,470
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Yeah thought that was weird too. Saw it on some news site, but its in their press release;

    https://gskill.com/community/150223...ow-Latency-Kits-Up-To-DDR4-4000-32GB-(16GBx2)
     
    nCrypt likes this.
  17. nCrypt

    nCrypt Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,633
    Location:
    Melbourne
    yeah cheers

    the 3600 are still flat timings

    maybe bdie once at 4000 and +1.5v starts to behave weirdly, but i use to run my 3200 c14-14-14 @ 4000 -c12-12-12 might even been 4000-c12-11-11 @ 1.9V lol

    bdie 4000 14-15-15 and 2x16GB sure does look sick, tempting AF actually.
     
  18. raincloudx

    raincloudx Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    2,109
    Location:
    Victoria
  19. SnooP-WiggleS

    SnooP-WiggleS Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    3,272
    Location:
    Ballarat, Victoria
    It's B die so it'll work on ryzen with manually tuned timings at say 3800c14 on a good zen3 sample, XMP probably not and of course you want to be 1:1 ratios on ryzen which you're not going to be able to at 4000c14 (other than say a 4750g/5700g APUs).
     
  20. RnR

    RnR Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    17,470
    Location:
    Brisbane
    The press release posted above shows it in action on both Intel and AMD platforms. They used a Threadripper for some reason though...

    You might have missed nCrypt 's golden 5800X that is quite happy with an IF of above 2000Mhz.
     
    Last edited: Jun 10, 2021
    SnooP-WiggleS likes this.

Share This Page

Advertisement: