1. If you're receiving a message that you are banned from the Current Events or Politics forums, it's not you specifically: those forums have been hidden for all users. For more info, see here.
    Dismiss Notice

Ryzen 5000 Series Discussion

Discussion in 'AMD x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by Skramit, Nov 7, 2019.

  1. Unframed

    Unframed Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    9,261
    Location:
    Hella south west
    Thank ya gents.
    I figured the memory controller gains alone would be worth it to move to a newer Zen
     
  2. RnR

    RnR Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    16,925
    Location:
    Brisbane
    TIL that the b450 boards can still run the latest 5000 ryzens... :thumbup:
     
  3. Unframed

    Unframed Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    9,261
    Location:
    Hella south west
    It's always been like that with AMD, older chipsets usually cop a gen or 2 newer with a BIOS update.
     
  4. RnR

    RnR Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    16,925
    Location:
    Brisbane
    My brothers x370 can't run the 5000 series unfortunately.
     
  5. Unframed

    Unframed Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    9,261
    Location:
    Hella south west
    That is first gen chipset though and we're on 4th gen CPUs
     
  6. MUTMAN

    MUTMAN Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    9,574
    Location:
    4109
    they just locked out the gen 4 pcie action
    There was some internet blowup as initially AMD wanted to lockout the mobos completely, eventually succumbing to the pressure of a million raging nerds. There were some funky bioses that allowed the verboten features, but AMD quickly stomped on the heads of the mobo makers putting an end to those shananigans

    edit - little know fact, the pressure of one million raging internet nerds (1 GRiN) is equal to 17.38 SpaceX rocket launchs
     
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2021
    RnR and Unframed like this.
  7. lulwut^

    lulwut^ Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    98
    Location:
    4740
    Anyone else's 5900x a spicy boy? mines under a 3 x 120mm fans AIO and its getting up to 90c. have tried re-seting but same temps
     
  8. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    5,604
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Nope. On a 360 aio and temps barely go over 80.
     
    Gibbon likes this.
  9. jpw007

    jpw007 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    5,822
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Mines the coolest CPU i've had in a while. I don't think i can get it to go past mid or high 70's either? I'd hit thermal limits (90*c) on my previous CPU consistently so the CPU reduced it's boost clocks to maintain that as max temp.
     
    Gibbon likes this.
  10. Gibbon

    Gibbon grumpy old man

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    6,562
    Location:
    2650
    yeah, happy to say my 5950X seems to run in the mid to high 70's at full load (cinebench, etc) with a 280mm AIO, but then I'm not pushing it hard. Just jacked the PBO power limits up a bit (~160W, etc).
     
  11. glnn_23

    glnn_23 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2012
    Messages:
    547
    Coolest running Ryzen chip I have used is the 4650g.
    Ran Y-cuncher all tests for 90 mins
    4.3Ghz @ 1.356v and didn't reach 57C if HWinfo is accurate. Probably because amps pretty low.
     
  12. spit051261

    spit051261 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2019
    Messages:
    3,208
    Location:
    Perth
    5950 gets hot when you speed it up .
    How anyone can OC this an an AIO is beyond me
     
  13. OJR

    OJR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    5,604
    Location:
    Melbourne
    We’re not really smashing it though like you guys would be.
     
  14. SKITZ0_000

    SKITZ0_000 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Messages:
    1,489
    Location:
    Tas
    Also because the die is in the centre of the chip.

    On aio blocks the microfins are central and do not cover the ccd’s. When overclocking it’s easy to saturate the cold plate which then isn’t being effectively cooled by the water internally. I’ve had better luck with decent air coolers with upgraded fans, as the heat pipes offer proper coverage. Both the ice giant and dark rock pro 4 have served me better than water on Zen2/3 ever did.

    Those mounting kits that adjust the mounting point to align the centre of the aio cold plate with the ryzen ccds would probably do well on an overclocked 5950X also.
     
    glnn_23 and nCrypt like this.
  15. RnR

    RnR Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2002
    Messages:
    16,925
    Location:
    Brisbane
  16. Gibbon

    Gibbon grumpy old man

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    6,562
    Location:
    2650
    Heh, yeah, I'll bet they do get hot :)
    This is my work PC, so yeah, a slight bump up in the power limits (160W max) does me nicely.
     
  17. nCrypt

    nCrypt Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,472
    Location:
    Melbourne
    both my 5800x and 5950x are watercooled, with 3080 and 2080Ti in the loops respectively.

    Both run anywhere from 35-45 dgrees in desktop, and anywhere from 55-60 in games. (my RTX cards sit around 35-36 in games and 28-30 idle) hardly warmup

    The Zen's do run a little warm, but no issues.

    doing something like Blender or Cinebench sees temps clock right up into the late 70's early 80s depending on ambient.

    Neither of my chips are overclocked, with the only clocking done on the mems :)

    5800x - 2x8GB royals 4266c19 @ 4000 15-16-16 IF 1:1
    5950x - 2x16GB royals 4000c18 @ 3800 16-17-17 IF 1:1

    i did get the 5950x booting at 2000 IF, however very very unstable.

    yet to try my 2x8gb sticks in it, see if 2x8 will run 2000IF vs 2x16, but my 5800x has run 2000IF since day one. runs 2133mhz IF as well, but 4000 15-16-16 > 4266 19-19-19

    when i get around too will put the 2x16gb royals in the 5800x and see if 2x16 will do 2000 IF as well. higher the IF i run also the slightly warmer the CPU runs idle and load.

    BOTH rigs cooled by 1x280mm and 1x240mm Rads in the ITX caselabs mercury s3 :D
     
    micsway123 likes this.
  18. Xenomorph

    Xenomorph Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Messages:
    583
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Have you tried faster mem speeds with different divider for the IF instead of 1:1?
    Wonder if running 4266/4400 at less than 1:1 would actually get better performance vs 3600/3800 at 1:1.
     
  19. 151528

    151528 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2007
    Messages:
    1,211
    Location:
    Vic
    Doubt it, I tried 4100 and the score was lower than 3200 with 1:1
     
  20. micsway123

    micsway123 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2020
    Messages:
    531
    Location:
    Melbourne 3015

Share This Page

Advertisement: