Ryzen 7 3700X Temps / Ram stability X570 Chipset

Discussion in 'AMD x86 CPUs and chipsets' started by naeM, May 8, 2020.

  1. OP
    OP
    naeM

    naeM Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    haha come on man! I did read what you wrote but I checked the motherboard and the supported ram and the highest ram listed was 3600mhz..appreciate the info with that said boys. I’m learning a lot! Hopefully they release a newer bios for my motherboard soon to assist things better
     
  2. Sledge

    Sledge Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8,438
    Location:
    Adelaide
    I even quoted for you what it says on the asus site...
    Clearly says 4400Mhz
    Your RAM obviously won't go that high, but i'd be checking to see if can reach 3600
     
  3. OP
    OP
    naeM

    naeM Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    Sorry dude, I must over overlooked it amongst all the convo..it’s all good.

    you reckon it’s worth me upgrading from current 3000mhz to 3600mhz?
     
  4. Sledge

    Sledge Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8,438
    Location:
    Adelaide
    See how far yours will go first...
     
    naeM likes this.
  5. OP
    OP
    naeM

    naeM Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    seems to be running ok on 3000mhz currently. How do you know when your pc can’t run a certain type? Will it just start crashing etc?
     
  6. Sledge

    Sledge Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8,438
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Yep, i'd be trying to get it to 3200 at least.. but 3600 would be better
     
    naeM likes this.
  7. 335 GT

    335 GT Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2019
    Messages:
    1,119
    Location:
    W.A.
    What are you wanting from your computer. Everyday gaming and general use, or benchmarking?

    If it's the former, then I would leave it alone. They are plenty fast out of the box and you wont notice a difference on your screen.
    If it's the latter you would need to swap out your ram.
     
    naeM likes this.
  8. OP
    OP
    naeM

    naeM Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2019
    Messages:
    12
    mostly just every day gaming and general use man, I’m happy with things for now but just wanted to know if it was worth upgrading to a higher freq ram instead of the 3000mhz
     
  9. asho444

    asho444 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2012
    Messages:
    1,803
    Location:
    Sunny Coast
    For shits and giggles it's super easy to set dram voltage to 1. 4 and speed to 3600. If it boots, prime 95 it for a whole then try dropping to 1.35
    If that then runs under prime OK just leave ut
     
  10. 335 GT

    335 GT Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2019
    Messages:
    1,119
    Location:
    W.A.
    I use 15% as a guide for something that I would notice on screen.
    So if a new cpu/gpu/ram etc wont give me 15% more performance then it's a waste of money. That's me. Everyone has different reasons/expectations.

    3600MHz ram might get you 5% if you're lucky.
    I hope that puts it into some perspective.
     
    naeM likes this.
  11. luke o

    luke o Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    3,642
    Location:
    WA
    Yep agreed, already pointed out the diminshing returns of ram speed on Ryzen.

    If 5% more fps would make a difference to your games then give 3600mhz over clock a go, otherwise not really worth selling and buying new ram unless a really good deal comes up.

    Going 4000mhz would cost you a lot of money and get you 1.5% more performance!
     
    naeM likes this.
  12. hawkus

    hawkus Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2001
    Messages:
    120
    Location:
    Melbourne
    As you mention though 4000 is likely slower than 3600 because you're no longer 1:1. I tried 4000C18 vs 3600C16 and 3600 got better results from memory and computational perspective.

    Eg. 3600C16 is 8.88ns 4000C18 is 9ns

    I think if you go beyond 3600 you'd need at least 4400 to see any real world benefits as you need to make up for the loss of 1:1 which can cost quite a bit.

    If you can afford it 3600C14 is the latest and greatest
     
    Last edited: May 13, 2020
    naeM likes this.
  13. tfroggydawg

    tfroggydawg Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Messages:
    2,672
    I just recently finished a B550 3700X build and went with some reletively cheap 4000mhz C18 ram and simply downclocked it to 3800mhz , leaving timings the same, was able to achieve 1:1 ratio.

    Stock cooler idle temps maybe around 40c give or take as seems to jump around a bit 35-45c and 25 mins prime95 it hit 71c

    EDIT: actually just looking in Ryzen master now and its idling at around 30-32c, it is winter though I suppose not cold in the room but certainly not warm. MSI afterburner is showing my CPU temp at 35-50c at the same time, not sure why a huge variance.
     
    Last edited: Jul 4, 2020
    Nethiuz likes this.
  14. luke o

    luke o Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    3,642
    Location:
    WA
    Ryzen has lots of temp sensors, some programs give you an average of all of them, some tell you the hottest one, others that's are ccx aware and know which chiplet is the best should typically show you that one is the coolest of all the cores.

    Put another way Ryzen master knows your golden ccx and it should typically be the coolest running as it's the beat silicon.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: