1. If you're receiving a message that you are banned from the Current Events or Politics forums, it's not you specifically: those forums have been hidden for all users. For more info, see here.
    Dismiss Notice

Samsung Galaxy S II Official - dual-core 1GHz CPU, 4.3-inch Super AMOLED Plus

Discussion in 'Google Android (OS & Devices)' started by DiGiTaL MoNkEY, Feb 13, 2011.

  1. Bullseye81

    Bullseye81 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2003
    Messages:
    824
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Added the GPS tile in Settings->System->Quick Settings. That took awhile to find!
     
  2. JebusJones

    JebusJones Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2004
    Messages:
    3,974
    Location:
    Brunswick, Melbourne
    It's definitely not the 4G model and is the 19100T. Besides, I think it's just Heimdall having windows issues, not the phone. I'll try it on my other laptop first and if that doesn't work I'll try the below.



    I'll give that method a go, cheers.
     
  3. Bullseye81

    Bullseye81 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2003
    Messages:
    824
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Looks like the first RC for Cyanogenmod 10.1 has been released. Nothing here for the S2 yet http://get.cm/?device=i9100&type= but it is showing up in the 2nd international S2 version, the 9100G
     
  4. SpaceFrog

    SpaceFrog Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Messages:
    2,154
    Location:
    Brunswick, Melb.
    I just found this wireless inductive charging mod for the S2


    I'm very tempted to have a go at it. Has anyone tried one of these mods? Is the palm stuff compatible with powermat?

    I'm currently using a flip wallet style case

    Easiest thing would be to ditch the back cover and mount the guts on the wallet case. I'm curious if the thick casing would be a problem & the clip has a magnet in it.
     
  5. thebranded

    thebranded Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,232
    Location:
    Sydney
    Just updated my S2 via Kies to the latest VF rom.

    Is it possible to apply only a root to it or do i have to flash a new room and root?
     
  6. HyRax1

    HyRax1 ¡Viva la Resolutión!

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,947
    Location:
    At a desk
    You can root it without changing the firmware. Some people just choose to replace the firmware with a previously rooted one to kill two birds with one stone.
     
  7. thebranded

    thebranded Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,232
    Location:
    Sydney
    Cheers HyRax1,

    while im on the stock 4.1.2 from VF i find it fast and stable for my uses, but i'd like to root it toget the additional features.

    Looking though XDA i found this link
    http://www.smartphonesupdates.com/how-to-root-samsung-galaxy-s2/

    That should work on my 4.1.2 on kernal 3.0.31-889696?
    Is there a better one to use (wihout flashing the rom)
     
  8. HyRax1

    HyRax1 ¡Viva la Resolutión!

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,947
    Location:
    At a desk
    One of the simplest methods is to use Recovery mode or better still ClockworkRecoveryMod (CWM) and whilst in there you install CF-Root (Chainfire Root). It's near-effortless. Once installed, you're rooted. Reboot and enjoy.

    But honestly, while you're at it, try a different firmware such as CyanogenMod - it's much slicker than the Vodafone/Samsung-provided firmware and you'll wonder why you didn't upgrade earlier.

    Remember to unlock your phone from the network first - Vodafone make this easy and it's free for the most part.

    EDIT: Please note that some devices will wipe your device anyway as part of enabling root. This basically puts you back to factory, wiping personal data - make a backup before you do so (you will be warned before you commit anyway). Once you reboot, you can then restore your data from backup.
     
    Last edited: Jul 31, 2013
  9. thebranded

    thebranded Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,232
    Location:
    Sydney
    perfect went the CWM way.

    I'll flash therom soon, but wanted phone rooted first so i can besure to make a full backup/image of my phone.

    Didnt do the VF unlock though as VF site required me to put an active non VF sim in the phone, everyone at home only has VF.

    S2 is two generations old but still going strong!
     
  10. thebranded

    thebranded Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,232
    Location:
    Sydney
    For thoses that did the AU VF 4.1.2 update.

    Have you been able to download the updated Navigon maps? I've downloaded Navigon via the Samsung Apps app, and it works fine with my old maps but each time i try to download the updated maps it gives me a "Connection Failed, please try again later" error. I've tried via both wifi and 3g.
     
  11. thebranded

    thebranded Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    2,232
    Location:
    Sydney
    Anyone using the new "HD" garmin maps? If so how did you update?
     
  12. sw1tch

    sw1tch Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,888
    Location:
    Rancho Cucamonga
    Been using RootBox forever however sick of waiting for v4.3

    What's everyone else using at the moment?
     
  13. Bullseye81

    Bullseye81 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2003
    Messages:
    824
    Location:
    Adelaide
    A couple of the newer Cyanogen 10.2 nightly builds broke clockworkmod & download mode. Cant even enter regular download mode now to connect to Odin. Anyone got any suggestions?
     
  14. HyRax1

    HyRax1 ¡Viva la Resolutión!

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,947
    Location:
    At a desk
    I'm running on last night's build just fine. CWM is good too. What happened during the flash?
     
  15. Bullseye81

    Bullseye81 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2003
    Messages:
    824
    Location:
    Adelaide
    It flashed fine, phone is currently working. But the build from 24082013 and possibly a day or two after broke both recovery & download.

    Trying to update from the Cyanogen updater in the phone to the latest nightly doesnt work- recovery flashes on for a split second then phone restarts. Using the traditional volume up or down + home during a reboot does nothing.
     
  16. HyRax1

    HyRax1 ¡Viva la Resolutión!

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2001
    Messages:
    7,947
    Location:
    At a desk
    Can you get into recovery via mode the power button menu?
     
  17. Zee

    Zee Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    11,787
    Location:
    SYD/MNL/SIN/SFO
    Damn it! After working perfectly for the last year, my phone decides to just magically lose it's IMEI.

    Here's to hoping one of the Google answers works...

    Z....
     
  18. Bullseye81

    Bullseye81 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2003
    Messages:
    824
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Hey it worked! Thanks! Just upgraded to 5th September 10.2
     
  19. SpaceFrog

    SpaceFrog Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2002
    Messages:
    2,154
    Location:
    Brunswick, Melb.
    thread Necro!

    Anyone still using their S2?

    I'm still quite attached to mine, however the phone is pretty laggy now. I don't know if it's clutter, Or if the phone just doesn't have the grunt to use the modern apps?

    If it's the former, Can I install some kind of lean firmware that will make the phone magically lag free?

    The apps I use reguarly are chrome, photobucket, poweramp with jays headset control, facebook, gmail, and the camera & gallery.

    I need to multi task between the camera/gallery, photobucket & chrome quite often. And often I have to wait 10-20 seconds for it to switch between them, and typing anything means waiting 1-5 seconds for a laggy keyboard to appear.

    I should mention I've got carat installed to check for battery usage hogs and have removed everything except for that stupid samsung talk app.

    TLDR: Should I mess with my phone to get extra performance, or are modern apps too stronk for the S2.
     
  20. Sobbsy

    Sobbsy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,618
    Location:
    Sunshine Coast, QLD
    Yep, still very happily using my S2. Still gets insanely good battery life (I run a super lean rom, I don't use the internet on my phone bar one or two momentary necessities for example). Still looks good as new, no scratches or anything either... I'm not the kind of person who upgrades their phone every 6 months for no real reason, so I'll have it until it dies basically, same as my past phones :leet:
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: