Samsung Galaxy S20 family aka S11.

Discussion in 'Google Android (OS & Devices)' started by Kookooburra, Jan 15, 2020.

  1. theSeekerr

    theSeekerr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,522
    Location:
    Broadview SA
    Were you asking someone in particular? Assuming you were asking one of the people who bought an FE...

    S20 FE comes with same 15W adaptive "fast" charger as I got with my S8, and no earbuds in the box. Fine by me - (1) I just need it charged by the time I wake up, and 15W does that easily, and (2) who doesn't have a pair of earbuds at this point?
     
    Kookooburra likes this.
  2. OP
    OP
    Kookooburra

    Kookooburra Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    5,037
    Location:
    Brisbane
    I have 3 pairs of good quality ear buds with 3.5mm connection, but had no usb c,...until I got the note.

    I suspect something of the quality of the AKGs would cost $120+, so its definitely handy to have.
     
  3. theSeekerr

    theSeekerr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,522
    Location:
    Broadview SA
    That's fair. I switched to bluetooth for portable listening a few years back now and so far the 3.5mm thing hasn't come up. I'm not doing critical listening from my phone anyway.
     
    Kookooburra likes this.
  4. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    155,590
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
  5. T1tan

    T1tan Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2002
    Messages:
    6,057
    Location:
    2607 / caaaaanbwa
    is the FEs fingerprint scanner behind the screen?
     
  6. miicah

    miicah Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    7,038
    Location:
    Mount Cotton, QLD
    Can anyone comment on the ads in software on Samsungs? Pretty sure I'm going to pull the trigger on the FE for Black Friday but this is really holding me back.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    Kookooburra

    Kookooburra Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    5,037
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Bugger all, the ads come with various apps you choose to dl.
     
  8. miicah

    miicah Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    7,038
    Location:
    Mount Cotton, QLD
    Do you mean Samsung apps?
     
  9. OP
    OP
    Kookooburra

    Kookooburra Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    5,037
    Location:
    Brisbane
    No, 3rd party apps.
    R u with Apple?
     
  10. miicah

    miicah Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    7,038
    Location:
    Mount Cotton, QLD
    I was on a Nokia 6.1 and killed it
     
  11. theSeekerr

    theSeekerr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,522
    Location:
    Broadview SA
    I can't think of any? Maybe there's some in the first-party Samsung apps that I don't use, I wouldn't know.
     
  12. miicah

    miicah Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    7,038
    Location:
    Mount Cotton, QLD
    All good, I found some videos on how to setup a Samsung so you don't get any ads. The only one I can see that's not removeable is the banner ad in Samsung health. This is all from reddit, so it *could* be a US thing?
     
  13. OP
    OP
    Kookooburra

    Kookooburra Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Messages:
    5,037
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Champ, Samsung has one of the best if not the best OS.
    Forget Apple and Windows crap.
     
  14. theSeekerr

    theSeekerr Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,522
    Location:
    Broadview SA
    Like I said, I don't really use any of the Samsung apps. I'm using a third-party launcher, Outlook for work shit, Google suite stuff for everything else...I think the only Samsung app I actually use is the browser, because I like the Dark Reader-style forced dark mode web experience. And I'd switch from that, too, if I could find another browser that can do the same.

    It's good hardware. The OS is fine. All the Samsung apps suck but it doesn't matter cos you don't have to use them!

    EDIT: Oooh, Dark Reader seems to be working properly in Firefox on Android now...might be time to give it another look.
     
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2020 at 3:15 AM
  15. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    155,590
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    It's on the screen.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: