Sega Rally Cab to PC Conversion

Discussion in 'Retro & Arcade' started by mR_CaESaR, Sep 15, 2018.

1. mR_CaESaR

mR_CaESaR Member

Purchased off an AA user on FB (thanks Greg!)

So here it is! The project cab! And boy is it going to be one hell of a project.

I put a WTB post to get an L2M2 kit in preparation for this... I just didn't expect it to come so quick on both the project cab and the L2M2 kit. Nevertheless, it has happened so I now have this mammoth task to to.

[​IMG]

The end goal is for this to be a Sega model 2 emulation cab (I'll take model 3 or Naomi as well if it's possible, but the main objective is model two true FFB like the aecade). I will interface the original parts with a logitech Driving Force pcb using the L2M2 kit. I've never worked with a racer before so this is going to take a while.

I haven't spent that much time with it today as I'm occupied doing othet things but the quick 30 or so minutes I spent on it, here's what I found:

Chassis needs major work. I'm not sure if Joey can fix this. I'll email him and see if it's doable.

[​IMG]

The neck board is almost in two pieces! :(

[​IMG]

I'm not sure if the tube is functional...

[​IMG]

I always thought these were 29 inch? I wonder why this is a 26 inch. I have a spare 29 inch tube and MS9 and would've much preferred to use my spare than have to look for a new or replace the chassis and possibly tube.

The sides are shot! Don't have any major issues with this as I have plans to replace it with Daytona sides (I'm going to assume they fit perfectly fine?

[​IMG]

The shifter, pedal, wheel are all intact, but I'm not sure if they are operational.

[​IMG]

And the game storage section.... A whole spaghetti of wires..

This is going to be the most challenging build to date.

[​IMG]

Anyone know where you can buy these 12 core wires?

[​IMG]

To do/buy:

- I would say clean, but I want to test functionality before anything, so the first thing is to get the chassis sorted