Sega Universal Upright conversion

Discussion in 'Retro & Arcade Worklogs' started by mR_CaESaR, Feb 16, 2019.

  1. mR_CaESaR

    mR_CaESaR Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,892
    Location:
    Plumpton NSW 2761
    Some may have seen the Gumtree add for this cab that's been around for some time.

    I ended up paying the seller 150 instead of the 350 it was listed for so after a 150km round trip and I've got my newest project!

    The day started with a trip to bunnings to hire the ute..

    [​IMG]

    A crap load of tolls and extending the trip by 30 mins due to a wrong turn in the city... I finally got it on the back of the ute!

    [​IMG]

    Have to give mad props to the seller who helped me get it on the ute, it would've been quite challenging by myself as this is HEAVY AF! Heavier than the astro that's for sure!

    After getting home and completing the initial analysis, it's safe to say she's pretty banged up :)

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Have no idea if it works (and won't know for a while as it has been outside and it's leaking water ).

    [​IMG]

    Unfortunately, there wasn't a Naomi inside. It looks like a Konami Python system 16 with pro evolution soccer (according to the tag)

    [​IMG]

    Audio board looks pretty corroded

    [​IMG]

    As does the sega i/o?

    [​IMG]

    Found a few of these whilst trying to strip :)

    [​IMG]

    Never worked on a Sega universal before it took me a little while to figure out how to remove the backing so I could find where the water was leaking from.

    After a good 20 or so mins, I finally got the back off only to find EXACTLY the same tubes I have on my current astro cities and my spare 29 inch (I didn't realise they were 31khz compatible?)

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Found the wet patch!

    [​IMG]

    The Nanao MS-2932-S chassis

    [​IMG]

    The plan is to chop this down to make it a sit down but I have no idea how I will be doing that, I think I'm way out of my depth in capability.

    The good:

    - got it for 150
    - no cracks on the cp
    - no major damage
    - I now have a Sega universal - I might do repro art from a new net city :)

    The bad:

    - no marquee :(
    - rust on a big part of the base
    - cp is 4 button layout and the start section had been increased from 24mm to 30mm! Who does that!?
    - nfi if the chassis works - I'm not really too worried about anything else as I will probably just end up using a DC for this cab
    - I've never worked on a Sega universal so there's a lot of learning to do (but that's part and parcel)
    - will be filling, sanding, wet sanding and everything you can think of
    - no dedicated work space to do all of this - was doing it on my drive away
     
  2. OP
    OP
    mR_CaESaR

    mR_CaESaR Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,892
    Location:
    Plumpton NSW 2761
    Ended the day pretty much a big chunk of the cab stripped and ready to be thoroughly cleaned!

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    My biggest worry is how the hell I'm going to do the upright to sit down conversion.. I think I'm waaaaaay out of my depth here..

    Need to obviously chop the coin chute, I just don't trust my cutting abilities :)

    [​IMG]

    Looking at th other stand, it appear there may be holes already but I'm not really sure what that's for.

    [​IMG]

    If any one has any recommendations (especially on Australia) about what body filler, paint primer and paint to use that'd be great!
     
    qwertylesh, CAESAR and elvis like this.
  3. elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    38,855
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Ooooh this is going to be a fun thread. :)
     
  4. OP
    OP
    mR_CaESaR

    mR_CaESaR Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,892
    Location:
    Plumpton NSW 2761
    Hopefully! :D :D :D
     
    qwertylesh likes this.
  5. OP
    OP
    mR_CaESaR

    mR_CaESaR Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,892
    Location:
    Plumpton NSW 2761
    I am unhappy to report that the chassis doesn't work! :(

    It's got a collapse and like a crows feet on the left hand side.. I'm not really sure of that means the tube is dead too.

    [​IMG]

    I took the gamble and unfortunately it has not paid off :(

    I'm still keen on a 31khz setup but tubes and chassis don't come up too often.

    I'll keep cleaning and the see what my options are - i might go down the path of downscaling 480p to 240p with the Universal Video Encoder..

    So I've just focused on getting this unit cleaned up..

    [​IMG]

    Whoever does this to Japanese panels should be shot! This is crazy! And to add, they made the 24mm holes into 30mm I'm assuming

    [​IMG]

    A nice filthy panel - pretty much the same on all candies I've purchased

    [​IMG]

    Testing to see if I can somewhat get the original colour back on the plastic with the retrobrite process - it's looking somewhat promosing

    [​IMG]

    After an hour of sunlight..

    [​IMG]
     
    qwertylesh and FIREWIRE1394 like this.
  6. elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    38,855
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Tubes generally survive anything as long as the vacuum and neck pins are in tact. I've seen fully water submerged tubes still work.

    I'd put money on your chassis being the culprit. Plenty of folks still around who can fix them. Jomac in Perth is one of the best.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    mR_CaESaR

    mR_CaESaR Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,892
    Location:
    Plumpton NSW 2761
    I've already touched base with Joey and he no longer works on 31khz chassis as they are a PITA apparently

    The chassis is definitely dead so I might look into getting a replacement
     
  8. elvis

    elvis Old school old fool

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    38,855
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Yeah, I've heard Joey doesn't like 31KHz. Can't blame him - the standards get a bit silly (and, well, non-standard), and newer digital components make troubleshooting a pain in the arse.

    Vertical collapse is typically an easier problem to solve, especially in well documented monitors.

    If you're interested and can source a replacement anyway in case it all goes titsup, no harm in trying the usual capacitor/transistor replacements in that part of the circuit as practice.
     
  9. gdjacobs

    gdjacobs Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Messages:
    1,713
    Location:
    MB, Canada
    I wonder if you could modify the frame with a slightly larger tubing section to allow a telescoping, two position configuration. How much of a vertical cut do you need to use it as a sit down machine? Modify the coin chute with either a bellows or telescoping pipe as well?
     
    qwertylesh likes this.
  10. Vanne

    Vanne Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2003
    Messages:
    988
    Awesome thread, you took a gamble, and still payed off if you ask me, nice cab for 150 mate... Lots and lots of options there..

    Subbed to see what evolves.

    :)
     
  11. qwertylesh

    qwertylesh Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Messages:
    8,662
    Awesome, after the first post i was hoping youd retrobrite all that bromine stained plastics.

    Hope the project turns out epic!!
     
  12. OP
    OP
    mR_CaESaR

    mR_CaESaR Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,892
    Location:
    Plumpton NSW 2761
    Well the retrobrite process definitely brought the original colour back!

    Bezel after a clean...

    [​IMG]

    Bezel after about 4 hours worth of UV.

    [​IMG]

    Whilst it looks pretty good, I'll still end up painting it so I can patch a few holes/dents

    I attempted to wire wheel one of the rust damaged doors..

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    After a good hour or so of wire wheeling, the front now has all the paint and rust removed!

    [​IMG]

    I found something that works! Albeit only one speaker.. So a quick change of a speaker and the sound appears to be perfect! The volume knob works too!



    Hopefully the next few days, I'll completely strip the cab to start the cutting of the legs this weekend.
     
  13. OP
    OP
    mR_CaESaR

    mR_CaESaR Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,892
    Location:
    Plumpton NSW 2761
    New update with the last or so week.

    Cleaned out the pcbs and let them out in the sun to dry for a number of days

    [​IMG]

    Tried to see the state of the konami python...

    [​IMG]

    It was absolutely disgusting! I've never seen so much cockroach poo in my life!

    I've started wheel wiring more panels to bare metal

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    I'm going to try and repair the start holes from the control panel it was expanded to 30mm :( (key word here being "try" - I'm absolutely shocking with any form of metal work and I don't have a welder or the necessary tools)

    [​IMG]

    Since we're talking about me being crap with metal work, I did not have the balls nor did I believe I was able to chop the legs, so I drove to a local metal workshop and asked if they could do 4 straight cuts and 338mm needed to be taken off the bottom..

    Few minutes later... We have a sit down!

    [​IMG]

    I need to get a metal bit for my jigsaw so I only have the holes to test the fit..

    [​IMG]

    After screwing the legs on, I couldn't really be any happier! The CP lines up "about" the same height as my astro (I imagine, once I put the feet on with the risers, it'll line up perfectly).

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    She lines up pretty well to the feet cover.. I've purchased a set of feet from yanton so they'll be much better than this pair.. At least the screws aren't rusted!

    [​IMG]

    Sit down conversion complete!

    [​IMG]

    Now to start filling and then painting process...
     
  14. FIREWIRE1394

    FIREWIRE1394 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2012
    Messages:
    1,033
    Love seeing PCBs get cleaned in a sink.
    Freaks non technically inclined right out. And you get a clean “looked after” look at the end.
     
    mR_CaESaR likes this.
  15. qwertylesh

    qwertylesh Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Messages:
    8,662
    Awesome update!!
     
    FIREWIRE1394 and mR_CaESaR like this.
  16. OP
    OP
    mR_CaESaR

    mR_CaESaR Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,892
    Location:
    Plumpton NSW 2761
    Unfortunately I didn't get the total "clean" look on some of the parts of the pcb.. At least it's far cleaner than what it started with.

    Hopefully it'll still work :)

    Cheers.
     
  17. flain

    flain Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,484
    Location:
    Sydney
    Nice Astro City! :)

    I also really want a naomi cab, so hard to find them these days! Really like this restoration!
     
    mR_CaESaR likes this.
  18. OP
    OP
    mR_CaESaR

    mR_CaESaR Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,892
    Location:
    Plumpton NSW 2761
    Thanks. My all time favourite crt candy cab! Love the elegance and design of this unit.

    Much better as a pair :)

    IMG_20180227_100931_174.jpg

    You know after working on this unit the past few weeks, I've become a MASSIVE fan of the cabinet! I'm spewing it didn't actually come with a Naomi or a working vga crt, but that's life. After all it was 150 bux lol.

    They definitely don't come up that often. I was sitting on this purchase for over 6 weeks and I finally caved lol.

    I would really love to get my hands on a New Net city as that is in my opinion the epitome of crt candy cabs... The Toshiba PF is arguably the finest arcade crt around.. Auto switching tri sync!

    Maybe one day, I can get a NNC :)
     
    qwertylesh and flain like this.
  19. flain

    flain Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,484
    Location:
    Sydney
    I'm on the lookout for a neogeo candycab, but alas those things are almost non existent in AU :(. I like the size and look of the white neogeo way more than the big red that is also rare these days. Seems there was a group buy in the USA so i'm always drooling when i see someone post a picture of theirs.

    I've got a naomi with netdimm that i've fired up and tested on a LCD on a desk. I'm saving it for a dedicated cab once i find one to snatch up :). It's going to be a long waiting game though :/
     
  20. neRok

    neRok Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    3,390
    Location:
    Perth NOR
    Get yourself a corded grinder. That would have taken minutes.

    You will still need to rust convert those dark spots.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: