1. OCAU Merchandise is available! Check out our 20th Anniversary Mugs, Classic Logo Shirts and much more! Discussion in this thread.
    Dismiss Notice

Sega VS City

Discussion in 'Retro & Arcade Worklogs' started by darknebula, Jun 25, 2022.

1. darknebula

darknebula Member

Not really a worklog yet, but i saw this come up in a local buy/sell group and jumped on it before really thinking it through. They are basically the empty shells, original control panels. No wiring, no CRT's, no section to join the two halves together and no top triangular light.

https://imgur.com/a/sMD03HY

They look a bit rough, but i think it's mostly dirt etc. I've always dreamed of having my own cab at home one day and would love to hear people's thoughts on whether it would be worth taking it on as a project. I have no experience dealing with wiring and CRT's but not afraid to give it a go.

I do have a spare 29" Mitsubishi CRT that Jomac has confirmed he has a suitable 15khz chassis for. The chassis requires a 110v isolating transformer (kind of understand this part)
    https://imgur.com/a/YduW5tv

I have a Mister that i would probably use initially, but open to suggestions on the best way to go.

Pretty noob to all this but i've enjoyed reading several worklogs on here. If you think it's in the too hard basket for someone with limited experience, happy to onsell this again.

elvis, Vanne, adz and 3 others like this.
  2. MUTMAN

MUTMAN Member

cool. this will be a dream of several peeps here mate. go for it :thumbup:

adz and darknebula like this.
  3. MR CHILLED

MR CHILLED D'oh!

Shells look fantastic. Only looks like surface dust and dirt.....reckon she will come up mint with a good clean :thumbup:

Looking forward to seeing how it all ends up.

4. mR_CaESaR

mR_CaESaR Member

Definitely a lot of work if it doesn't have original parts/wiring, but anything is possible :)

If you don't want it to be completely OEM, then it's easier to do.