Show us yer HTPC....

Discussion in 'HTPC' started by flu!d, Mar 19, 2012.

  1. Dr X

    Dr X Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Messages:
    34
    IR remote?

    YEEEEES! :)
     
  2. the_fuzz

    the_fuzz Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    9,681
    Location:
    Sydney
    same, thanks for the headsup

    BTW: Whilst looking at Yatse I came across the android remote for WDTV's including the hacked firmware version, this remote rocks as well.

    I love being able to turn off all of my kids TV's from the comfort of the lounge in my media room
     
  3. clonex

    clonex Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    24,471
    Location:
    north pole
    I wonder if it would work on my AMD E350M? I just want to try it but dont want to put it on my laptop
     
  4. mortal

    mortal Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    8,393
    Location:
    Sydney
    You can control metro tiles with IR remote? It doesn't act as isolated touch tiles?
     
  5. Dr X

    Dr X Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Messages:
    34
    I'm not really sure what you mean.

    From a cold boot I can immediately move the selected tile with the arrow buttons on my Harmony 1100i IR remote. If I then press the OK button the selected application/tile will launch.
     
  6. slobber

    slobber Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,207
    Location:
    Mandurah!
    Works fine on one of my E350 itx boards :thumbup:
     
  7. jbomb

    jbomb Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Location:
    SYDNEY
    [​IMG]

    Bought this a while back.

    Didn't know if i posted it up or not:D
     
  8. Narcoticx2

    Narcoticx2 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2003
    Messages:
    4,349
    Location:
    The Redlands
    Silverstone GD04? Can you post a few pics of that + inside/assembled please?
     
  9. jbomb

    jbomb Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Location:
    SYDNEY
    Also updated it with a bit of speed:

    [​IMG]

    Will do. Yeah it is. Great case for a HTPC.
     
  10. Sledge

    Sledge Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8,818
    Location:
    Adelaide
    so...
    I've updated drivers, and now windows says the receiver supports DTS-HD and Dolby TrueHD
    I've downloaded these files:
    Living World Of Audio v1 (Lossless) DTS-HD MA 7.1
    Dolby TrueHD Channel Check (Lossless) Dolby TrueHD 7.1
    from here:
    http://www.demo-world.eu/trailers/high-definition-trailers.php
    but when playing them through my HTPC with any software, on the true HD one the receiver doesn't say anything about HD audio.. or dolby or anything.. etc,
    and with the DTS-HD one the receiver just says DTS... Anyone got any ideas what i might be doing wrong?
    Shouldn't my receiver (pioneer VSX-521) say DTS-HD or Dolby-HD or something when receiving it through HDMI ?
     
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2012
  11. samo

    samo Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    1,482
    Location:
    Adelaide
    try using MPC HC with LAV filters

    guide here:

    http://www.mediasmartserver.net/201...mpc-hc-for-all-your-splitter-and-audio-needs/

    Im using LAV filters for MP 1.3 Alpha and with MPC-HC, both of which send HD audio to my amp.
     
  12. VirtualNinja

    VirtualNinja Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,192
    Location:
    North Parramatta
    here's my HTPC specs that I have cobbled together with some parts i had around and some 2nd hand parts.

    Intel Xeon E3110
    Intel DX48BT2 motherboard
    Coolermaster Vortex Plus HSF
    8 GB DDR3 1600 Corsair XMS3
    LG Blue Ray ready combo drive
    Seasonic SS-650HT PSU
    Silverstone LC-17 case
    MSI 6450 GPU
    Winfast DTV2000 DS TV tuner
    WD Black 320GB
    WD Green 1 TB
    WD Green 2 TB
    Samsung Story 2TB external
    Hauppauge mce remote

    Running Win 7HP WMC with media browser. Connected to Panasonic 42' IPS LED TV, Pioneer VSX-D337 Amp and Kef Coda Speakers.

    Was originally running the Stock Intel heatsink but that ting was warming up my room under prime it was hitting 80c. replaced it with the coolermaster HSF now peaking at 55c. Would have liked to get a Noctura HSF however they aren't compatible with this board.

    Was quite surprised that this rig isn't much slower than my 2600k at ripping my DVD and BR's with makeMVK. My old AMD x2 setup took donkey years.
     
  13. OP
    OP
    flu!d

    flu!d Never perfect, always genuine

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    19,416
    Nice Virtualninja :)
     
  14. NeVeSiNS

    NeVeSiNS Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    57
    Location:
    Springwood 2777


    Yatse = 4thaWin. I too use it on my nexus 7 and it has made the home theatre experience so much better with its ease of use and setup. Best remote app i have used.
     
  15. Pugs

    Pugs Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    9,465
    Location:
    Highbury, SA
    still way too much chatter and not enough pics :thumbdn:
     
  16. OP
    OP
    flu!d

    flu!d Never perfect, always genuine

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    19,416
    Totally agreed!

    Pics people, we want pics!:D
     
  17. TRAG!C

    TRAG!C Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,755
    Location:
    Sydney
    Updated my HTPC / File Server

    Now running XBMC & Flexraid and using Windows 8 as my launcher

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2013
  18. stevo4

    stevo4 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    10,631
    Location:
    Melbourne
    Finally got around to upgrading my HTPC.

    As I use it as a backup to my main PC, it’s a bit more spec’d up than what’s needed for just a htpc.

    i3 3240 @ 3.4GHz
    4x 4GB Corsair Vengeance Low Profile dual channel DDR3
    ASUS P8Z77-M mobo ( I wanted a PCI slot )
    Sapphire HD7770 OC GPU (from the upgrade to my main PC)
    Auzentech Auzen X-Fi Prelude 7.1 sound card

    Samsung 830 series 128GB SSD
    LG Blu-ray burner (Another item from the upgrade to my main PC)
    1 TB WD HDD (sitting in a Welland EZSTOR mobile rack)
    2 TB Seagate HDD
    Case – Silverstone SGU01FB usb3
    Corsair HX650 v2 Modular PSU

    3TB Red WD in external enclosure.

    Running Win 7 Pro 64 bit with TMT 5 and Slysoft AnyDVD HD.
    Happy with the performance of the box so far.
     
  19. VirtualNinja

    VirtualNinja Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2003
    Messages:
    1,192
    Location:
    North Parramatta
    I acquired another LC-17 this weekend so I built a HTPC from spare parts for the lounge room

    AMD x2 4600
    Gigabyte GA-MA78GM-S2H
    4gb Corsair XMS 2
    Afox geforce 210 passive 512mb (sucks but better than using the intergrated gpu.
    LG DVD
    Hauppauge nova-t 500 dual tuner card
    Seagate 500gb 7.2k HDD (windows and PVR only)
    DLink DW 123 wireless usb dongle
    Silverstone LC-17 case
    Some dodgy widetech 550 PSU 9 which i'll probably replace next week with something better)

    Set it all up and tested fine although there is one fan in there than is a screamer that needs to be pulled. Since this is connected to an old Phillips IPS LCD tv, I'm not concerned with the lack of HD resolution native is 1280x 768.
    Setup WOL inc S5 on the other HTPC so I can access the media. Using SolarWinds-Wake-On-LAN as my router iinet bob lite) is too crappy to have wol.

    I do also have a Hauppauge nova-TD 500 tuner card which I will test.

    I did do some Some paracord sleeving on the case headers in there mainly to test out an idea ad previous methods had undesirable effects where wires would invariably become exposed.


    Click to view full size!


    Pretty happy with the results. I used a combination of 3mm & 6mm heat shrink and hot glue which works well as you can make adjustments under heat.
     
  20. stevo4

    stevo4 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    10,631
    Location:
    Melbourne

Share This Page

Advertisement: