Show us yer HTPC....

Discussion in 'HTPC' started by flu!d, Mar 19, 2012.

  1. mshagg

    mshagg Politburo

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Messages:
    23,089
    Location:
    Adelaide
  2. Dr Evil

    Dr Evil Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,891
    Location:
    Perth
    Well I'm not sure if I have previously posted here since I can't find any posts so I thought I'd share my setup. It's not as sweet as other setups but I do enjoy waking up to it:thumbup:.

    HTPC

    Win7 x64 Pro / XBMC 12.0
    Silverstone SG05 (PSU Modded)
    Corsair HX650
    i5 3330 (Stock Cooler)
    8Gb G.Skill F3-1600
    Asus P8H77-I
    EVGA GTX670
    HyperX 120GB SSD
    Seagate Momentus XT 500Gb + WD Blue 500Gb (RAID0)

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  3. mortal

    mortal Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    8,393
    Location:
    Sydney
    That gfx card couldn't get any closer :D

    Lots of purple LEDs!
     
  4. Dr Evil

    Dr Evil Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,891
    Location:
    Perth
    They are actually Blue.. lol damn camera:Paranoid:
     
  5. Narcoticx2

    Narcoticx2 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2003
    Messages:
    4,349
    Location:
    The Redlands
    So obviously you're planning on a bit of gaming with that GTX670...

    Are you controllering it up or just keyboard and mouse? I can see the pink controller but i am guessing that's for the PS3...

    Just wanting to hear what others are doing for gaming. I'm about to transition from a normal htpc to a htpc/steambox so pretty excited.
     
  6. Dr Evil

    Dr Evil Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,891
    Location:
    Perth
    Yer the GTX670 is mainly for Games/Console Emulators. I use a Xbox 360 controller for it and I also have a wireless keyboard & mouse but that's for configuration/anything but gaming. Ive tested Steam's Big Picture mode a few months ago and it was okay. Most games have third-party programs so a keyboard & mouse is defiently needed.

    Also the PS3 Controller is Red.. Lol I def need to configure that camera...
     
  7. slobber

    slobber Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,207
    Location:
    Mandurah!
    What a beast, very nice but why the PSU mod ???, the SFX 450W would run your components easily :thumbup:
     
  8. Dr Evil

    Dr Evil Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2,891
    Location:
    Perth
    Yes but it was loud. The HX650 is unbeleivably silent. Just for the record I also had the Silverstone 550W ST55F-G with the Short Cable Kit and that was alot more louder then the HX650 as well.
     
  9. dobbyb

    dobbyb Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    163
    Location:
    Geraldton
    HTPC - had this config for a while now

    Silverstone ML-03 Case
    Asus E35M1-I Deluxe Mobo
    4GB RAM
    60GB Intel 330 SSD
    380W Antec PSU
    2 x 80mm Scythe fans running at 5V
    Win8 - direct boot to XBMC

    Acts a front end PC only, all my media is stored on my home server

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  10. gruntLOL

    gruntLOL Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    3,073
    Location:
    Adelaide
    So my girlfriend and I have just spent three very long weeks renovating and moving into our rental property. Her family is renting it too us for good money and redid all the floors, reprinted, new light fixtures the works I'm scared to know what they spent but the place looks brand new. They also offered to let me wall mount my television which I've wanted to do for ages but is really hard to swing when you're renting. Anyway it's finally set up! It's not perfect and I know ill be tweaking around for a few weeks but everything has a place. We are getting a new lamp as it was the only thing I broke during the move whoops. Not bad for a Uni bum anyway I guess :)

    HiSense 50" LCD 3D (I ignored the haters and have not been disappointed)
    Pioneer VSX-919AH
    Klipsch Speakers & Sub
    N40L as HTPC
    PS3 hiding in the cupboard for occasional console gaming and 3D Blu Ray.

    Some of the stuff I've had for years (I got the speakers like 5 years ago) some other stuff is newer. The TV is about 3 months old I think.


    Click to view full size!
     
  11. zero_velocity

    zero_velocity Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,858
    Location:
    QLD
    Very nice! However the tv looks too high for my liking :p
     
  12. TRAG!C

    TRAG!C Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,755
    Location:
    Sydney
    could do with some picture resizing there
     
  13. gruntLOL

    gruntLOL Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    3,073
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Agreed it was installed by my gfs dad and I didn't have the heart to ask him to drill another three holes in the wall. Atleast now I don't have subtitle problems in anime haha :)
     
  14. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    35,071
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    just received my new HTPC only to discover that the gap between connectors on the power cable are too short and not enough to go around (only came with 4 SATA and 3 molex so i think i might need to get a molex to SATA converter.

    EDIT: this also means that my Q6600 is now decommissioned and just needs a full system wipe of its HDD...before I sell it.
     
    Last edited: May 16, 2013
  15. TRG.dOinK

    TRG.dOinK Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2002
    Messages:
    4,637
    Location:
    Melb East
    Messy but you get the idea... probably should put away those xbox controllers. Had this around a year now, actually pretty much a year to be exact.

    Runs XBMC 11 and Aeon MQ3, will soon upgrade to XBMC 12 and Aeon MQ4 once I've played enough with Adv Launcher. Got emulators and games all set up etc, works well.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: May 20, 2013
  16. flain

    flain Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,895
    Location:
    Sydney
    Just got my hands on an Intel NUC. Installed 8GB RAM and a 60GB intel mSata drive. So far so good, installed Win7, patched & installed the NUC drivers. Boots very fast and runs XBMC very snappy, full 1080p 3D isn't an issue for it either. This is the cheaper dual core 1.1ghz celeron one.


    Click to view full size!
     
    Last edited: May 20, 2013
  17. OP
    OP
    flu!d

    flu!d Never perfect, always genuine

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    19,416
    Nice, wouldn't mind one of these for the bedroom. Can you install the HDD in the case of is it external only?
     
  18. flain

    flain Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,895
    Location:
    Sydney
    Yeah it takes mSata SSD drives which are ridiculously small

    size comparison here:
    Click to view full size!
     
  19. OP
    OP
    flu!d

    flu!d Never perfect, always genuine

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    19,416
    Oh that's sweet, I want one....:thumbup:
     
  20. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    35,071
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    my new HTPC has been running nicely since i received it and now looking to sell off the old Q6600 HTPC.
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: