Show us yer HTPC....

Discussion in 'HTPC' started by flu!d, Mar 19, 2012.

  1. Pugsley_21

    Pugsley_21 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    1,438
    Location:
    Adelaide
    I've got the i3 version with 16Gb RAM running Windows 8 Pro w/ Media Centre and Media Browser. Runs everything like a champ!
     
  2. southernduckie

    southernduckie Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    noob build

    Hi just thought i would post about my new system basic specs are
    intel i5-3570K hd4000
    corsair vengance LP 8GB DDR3
    Gigabyte H77N-WIFI
    Hauppauge HVR-2210
    Logitech K400 wireless keyboard and trackpad
    2 x 750GB 7200rpm hitachi HDD (more external storage fitted and possibly an internal SSD to come)
    Antec ISk300-150 case (almost full im eying off space for another HDD at the moment) but really quiet :thumbup:
    cheap slim internal blueray drive:)
    All seems happy at the moment running an old copy of win7 for some reason its running 32 bit at the moment, yet more stuff to fix:upset:
    compared to my LG tv the Hauppague card needs a really strong clean signal to stop dropouts but is getting the wife approval at the moment yet to sort out a good tv guide fta one here is shit.

    what is the easiest way to upload photos on this site? or what do people use o host photos? link to picasa
    https://picasaweb.google.com/100728395176805844551/May222013?authuser=0&authkey=Gv1sRgCKvM_Yr27pOq-AE&feat=directlink
     
  3. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    35,071
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    not sure if i should move over to win 8.
     
  4. OP
    OP
    flu!d

    flu!d Never perfect, always genuine

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    19,459
    If it ain't broke, don't fix it.:thumbup:

    You'll just introduce a plethora of new problems.
     
  5. kesawi

    kesawi Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    1,634
    Location:
    Brisbane
    Of the same opinion as flu!d. I bought the cheap $15 Win 8 upgrade when it was available, just in case, but have stuck with Windows 7 because everything just works and I don't want to spend weeks troubleshooting and getting everything running right again.
     
  6. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    35,071
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    fair enough: everything is working perfectly....just need to watch game of thrones soon!
     
  7. kesawi

    kesawi Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2012
    Messages:
    1,634
    Location:
    Brisbane
    You'll just need to be patient as there is no episode this week :upset:
     
  8. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    35,071
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    i'm catching up on ep 8 before ep 9 airs.
     
  9. MagyaR

    MagyaR Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,765
    Location:
    Melb
    I read that anything over 4gb is overkill on the NUC.
     
  10. TRAG!C

    TRAG!C Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,755
    Location:
    Sydney
    The reason I moved to Win8 on my HTPC is the start menu can be navigated via the remote. So it lets me easily switch between XBMC / Steam Big Picture / Netflix etc without a keyboard.

    Its the only Win8 PC where I have reverted back to a Win7 start menu.
     
  11. Dr X

    Dr X Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Messages:
    34
    And windows 8 gives you access to the XBOX Video streaming service: http://www.xbox.com/en-AU/video‎
     
  12. The CK

    The CK Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2002
    Messages:
    722
    Location:
    Adelaide
    I just finished my new Hawsell HTPC...
    not sure how I feel about Windows 8 yet :) but it sure is colourful

    Antec ISK310-150
    i5-4670
    Gigabyte GA-H87N-WIFI
    8Gb
    240gig SSD
    2tb Seagate
    Hauppage HVR-2200
    Xigmatek LD963 heatsink

    I was hoping that Intel would release a socketed Isis/Crystalwell/GT3 processor... but oh well this will do :(

    It sure is tight - The front USB and Estata comes and the power supply cables come from the front left of the case, and on the gigabyte motherboard that all connects to the back right of the mobo... anyway with plenty of swearing it just fits :)

    I don't need a CD/Blu ray drive so I didn't bother... got out the dremel and put a 3.5" hd there instead :) We will see how the PSU handles that... may need to look at undervolting the processor a bit :)


    Click to view full size!



    Click to view full size!



    Click to view full size!
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2013
  13. kinet1c

    kinet1c Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Location:
    Cronulla, NSW
  14. Sankari

    Sankari Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    31,548
    Location:
    Adelaide, SA
    OK, don't laugh please... :Paranoid:

    • Lian Li PC-C36B
    • AMD 4850e
    • Gigabyte MA78GN-DS2H
    • 4 Gb GeIL RAM
    • Scythe Shuriken
    • 500GB HDD
    • Blu-Ray drive (LG I think)
    • Windows 7
    • Yumcha wireless keyboard with trackpad

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Built in 2009. Still going strong and handles everything I throw at it, including 1080p media.

    :Pirate:
     
  15. bennyg

    bennyg Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2005
    Messages:
    3,793
    Location:
    Melbourne, Oztraya
    That keyboard/touchpad looks like it was salvaged from a laptop :p

    My whole HTPC looks like that one of these days I'll get some perspex scraps from a friend in the industry and make up a proper case for the internals coz its still slightly bent from when it was roadkilled :lol:
     
  16. Sankari

    Sankari Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    31,548
    Location:
    Adelaide, SA
    I know it's horrible, but you'd be surprised at the performance and build quality. Definitely punches above its weight.

    I do love the Lian Li cases, and this one's a corker.
     
  17. kreegor

    kreegor Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2007
    Messages:
    5,021
    Location:
    Adelaide
    I agree. I have the PC-C37 which looks the same. It's a fantastic case!
     
  18. Evil ZeR0

    Evil ZeR0 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2002
    Messages:
    707
    Location:
    SGC
    Heres mine built it a few back in jan and going strong

    running windows 7 and xbmc 12
    antec isk110 case
    asrock h61m-itx mobo
    intel g550 cpu
    4g kit 1333 patriot s
    hitachi deskstar 500gb hdd

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2013
  19. ni9ht_5ta1k3r

    ni9ht_5ta1k3r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Messages:
    35,071
    Location:
    地球・オーストラリア・シドニー
    thinking if selling my current HTPC in a few months sans HDDs with my content of course...can't sell those.
     
  20. MyDixiesNormous

    MyDixiesNormous Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2003
    Messages:
    2,421
    Location:
    Melb

    Excuse my noob question (which I'm pretty sure I know the answer to already) I've got the same tv card as you on a shitty low power mobo that has a dedicated pcie slot. The board you are using is a full sized slot. So I guessing you can just stick the 2200 tv card in there with no problems?

    I'll be sticking the same mobo and CPU you have chosen in a full sized htpc case, so size not being an issue, could you recommend another mobo with the same features? I like the look of that wifi card and the external antenna, as opposed to the USB wifi on the end of an extension cable that I'm currently using now.

    One last thing, what are the specs of the ram you bought? I've been out of the hardware game for a while now and have no idea what the hell I need to be looking at.

    Thanks
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: