Show us your Rack! ;)

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by BOB_LORDOFEVIL, Sep 26, 2006.

  1. pcweirdo

    pcweirdo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    Messages:
    274
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
  2. Whisper

    Whisper Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    8,297
    Location:
    Sydney
    Its sort of amusing that BGP is like a chapter or 2 in CCNP, but it's a whole friggin Subject in its own right in CCIP, which is supposed to have the equivalent standing to CCNP.
     
  3. cry

    cry Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2001
    Messages:
    404
    Location:
    Sydney
    Wait till you use it.
    Hate hate hate hate hate
     
  4. cry

    cry Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2001
    Messages:
    404
    Location:
    Sydney
    CCIP = SP focus
    CCNP = enterprise focus
     
  5. itsmydamnation

    itsmydamnation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Messages:
    10,402
    Location:
    Canberra
    X 400 addressing really really bites :p
     
  6. Rass

    Rass Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,935
    Location:
    Brizbekistan
  7. fester2001

    fester2001 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,437
    Location:
    Tasmania. Fences:62
    lol all i have is a couple of Cisco Catalyst 1900 Series XL 24 port routers lol
    must have a play with those one day :Paranoid:
     
  8. cry

    cry Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2001
    Messages:
    404
    Location:
    Sydney
    The addressing isn't too bad - compared to LANE anyway.
    Its the damn protocol. Hate hate hate.
     
  9. tin

    tin Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2001
    Messages:
    6,412
    Location:
    Narrabri NSW
    Well, I've been meaning to do this....

    This is the rack at work... It's not really my rack, but I'm the only one that ever really does anything with it, and the layout and such is all my work.

    Top:
    [​IMG]
    Click to view full-sized image!
    The yellow cables are links I have no control over. They are currently messy because I intend to move the DET supplied Cisco router from the bottom of the switch stack to 2nd from the top. That way the 2 devices I don't control are right at the top, and the flow from outside is more logically matched to the physical arrangement. It makes sense to me anyway.
    The HP switches are school owned and are for the school network. 8 port gigabit switch connects the servers to the 3 other switches with gigabit ports. One is the 2626 above it, and the other 2 are located in other racks.


    Middle:
    [​IMG]
    Click to view full-sized image!
    The 3 servers we have at the moment. The IBM one is a Dual Xeon 3GHz with 1.5GB RAM and 5 73GB hard disks in RAID5 (with a hotspare). It runs Debian Linux. It's our PDC, main file server, main print server and also hosts our intranet stuff and MySQL database for the intranet stuff. This box is also our LDAP server.
    The Left white box is a Athlon 1.1 with only 256MB RAM. Also runs Debian. This server only authenticates staff, so students can't get into it. It hosts staffroom printers, more sensitive files, and our room booking system.
    Right white box is our DET supplied OASIS server. Stupid piece of junk, and it's hopefully getting removed soon (OASIS is being replaced with a web based thing. Yay!)

    Bottom:
    [​IMG]
    Click to view full-sized image!
    All 3 Images hosted by UGBox Image Store

    No, the UPS at the bottom doesn't have weird looking feet. Those are the feet from the no-name whitebox server on the left. I took them off to make the heights of the 2 white ones closer to being the same.

    Did I explain the rack too much? :p

    Edit: this is just the one rack in my office. I could get photos of the other 2 in the school, but they are lame.
    My home rack is an open 4RU rack up on the wall in our server room (how many houses have a little toilet size room for their servers?). It's only got a patch panel and a Nortel switch. Server sits on a set of drawers underneath.
     
    Last edited: Nov 17, 2006
  10. maddhatter

    maddhatter Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    4,798
    Location:
    Mackay, QLD.
    [​IMG]
    Click to view full-sized image!
    Hosted by UGBox Image Store

    Here is the monstrosity I look after at work.

    I’ve given up on keeping it neat and tidy.

    Another rack mount server coming this week, another tidy up coming…

    Anyhow, agmonst that mess you have
    1 x PDC, 1 x Exchange - "galah"
    1 x Mail Filter, Squid Proxy + Apache Web Server - "wombat"
    1 x MySQL Server, 1 x Firebird Server, Backup exec Server, File Server (1TB) - "echidna"
    1 x Survelance server - "kookaburra"

    and the new server, "Bilby", will be MsSQL 2k5 + Microsoft CRM Pro.
     
  11. tin

    tin Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2001
    Messages:
    6,412
    Location:
    Narrabri NSW
    hehehe... I at least took the crap off the top of the servers in mine to take the photos :p

    That reminds me...
    The little home rack:
    [​IMG]
    Click to view full-sized image!
    Hosted by UGBox Image Store

    And in perspective:
    [​IMG]
    Click to view full-sized image!
    Hosted by UGBox Image Store
    That's what our home "technology room" looks like. There's the rack up in the top corner, and the server is the desktop box on the drawers. It's our file, mail, DNS, MySQL, HTTP and proxy server. It's a poor old P3 800 with only 128MB RAM, so it's not happy... It's getting upgraded to a dual Athlon 2200+ later, with 512MB ECC RAM, and a much nicer case (HX08).
    The box on the wall is our Command HX616. There's a Commander S408 opposite it (out of view, above the piano you can just see the edge of).
    The monitor is more or less just stored there. It's useless to anything else (only does VGA res), but perfect for text mode.
    There's a UPS under the desk (APC SmartUPS 1400XL).
     
  12. tomsykes

    tomsykes Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2002
    Messages:
    425
    Location:
    Melbourne VIC
  13. infiltraitor

    infiltraitor Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2002
    Messages:
    3,801
    Location:
    melbourne Donated:$133.70
    if i couldnt see that piano id almost think you worked for a school
    but only because ive seen some pokey technology offices at schools
     
  14. tin

    tin Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2001
    Messages:
    6,412
    Location:
    Narrabri NSW
    hehehe... I do work for a school, but the office/server room I have there is about 3 times the size of our home one. :p
     
  15. infiltraitor

    infiltraitor Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2002
    Messages:
    3,801
    Location:
    melbourne Donated:$133.70
    lol. i just realised why your name seemed familiar.. i had a look at the snad forums and there you are :p
    im Daemo on snad but thats off topic ;)
     
  16. fester2001

    fester2001 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2003
    Messages:
    4,437
    Location:
    Tasmania. Fences:62
    same avatar and all ;)
     
  17. itsmydamnation

    itsmydamnation Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Messages:
    10,402
    Location:
    Canberra
    heres some of the stuff that i look after at work, sry about shit pics

    [​IMG]
    top to bottom
    a bunch of router for ISDN BRI and PRI, X25.
    x25 mtu's
    packeteer for qos
    riverbed steelhead for wan acceleration and qos
    routers for sat links
    pix

    [​IMG]
    telex mtu's
    steelhead management console


    [​IMG]

    mounts for a 6500 (2x sup 720, 2x gbic blades 2x 1gig copper blades)

    4000 with messy cables because it had to be lowered in therack while in operation


    [​IMG]

    CWMD box for our fiber links to ghost site, 10x 1gig
     
  18. infiltraitor

    infiltraitor Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2002
    Messages:
    3,801
    Location:
    melbourne Donated:$133.70
    noone cares about schools or businesses (unless perhaps you run your own business)
    "show us your rack"
     
  19. tin

    tin Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2001
    Messages:
    6,412
    Location:
    Narrabri NSW
    But if you look after it at work it's like it's yours anyway...

    And besides, how many of the home ones full of Cisco stuff are set up for home use? I'm guessing all of them are for practicing Cisco certification of some sort, which is going to be a work thing.
     
  20. MrvNDMrtN

    MrvNDMrtN Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2001
    Messages:
    1,355
    Location:
    SW Syd
    What kind of 6500 is that? Looks like a small one.

    I also see an Opt11c in the background of the 1st pic...
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: