Show us your Rack! ;)

Discussion in 'Networking, Telephony & Internet' started by BOB_LORDOFEVIL, Sep 26, 2006.

  1. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    155,015
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    I've just made the rack a little quieter by changing out the Hikvision default PSU fan to a Noctua fan......voided warranty I'm sure but has made quite a difference to noise levels :thumbup: Pics in the Security cam thread soon.
     
  2. Azrael

    Azrael Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    8,995
    Location:
    Melbourne
    One nice fresh rack has arrived for the AV and networking gear after we move (soon):
    [​IMG]
     
  3. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    155,015
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Going to be wall mounted or just a free runner on the rollers?
     
  4. Azrael

    Azrael Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    8,995
    Location:
    Melbourne
    From the thread in AV

     
  5. arytel

    arytel Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,679
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Got a link to the seller, I've been slowly getting around to preparing an old 7RU cabinet I've had in shed, but considering the price, I'd rather get something new and be able to fit the router, ADSL -> NBN box, and hopefully my N36L up there as well.
     
  6. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    155,015
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    No probs, I'll have to dig his details up from my Gumtree convo. He has heaps and heaps of gear, almost everything you will need I'm sure. I'll PM you details.
     
    arytel likes this.
  7. TheWedgie

    TheWedgie Insert Custom Title Here

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2002
    Messages:
    3,015
    DM too please. Need some shelves for another project.
     
  8. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    155,015
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    PM'd you guys. John is a super nice bloke.
     
    arytel and TheWedgie like this.
  9. arytel

    arytel Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,679
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Thanks, the link is appreciated. I've had finishing this off on my list for a while.
     
    MR CHILLED likes this.
  10. armers

    armers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    1,014
    Location:
    Vic, Melb, AU.
    Where did you get this rack from buddy? Its time up upgrade my home built wooden one to something a little better :D

    Cheers
     
  11. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    155,015
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    He's go so much gear that he just wants to get rid of. Prices are good, but no lowballs as he's sick of the gumtree turds who haggle.
     
  12. Azrael

    Azrael Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    8,995
    Location:
    Melbourne
  13. armers

    armers Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    1,014
    Location:
    Vic, Melb, AU.
  14. Azrael

    Azrael Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2001
    Messages:
    8,995
    Location:
    Melbourne
    No problems. I got mine at the start of this sale.
     
  15. samboy

    samboy Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    Hey wondering if you have a link for your rack and if that rack is half, or will fit a full blown server? Thanks!


     
  16. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    155,015
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Just a standard 6RU rack : ) LED lighting was extra and I just chucked that in because I had it lying around.

    I got mine off Gumtree as it was local, brand new in box, and considerably cheaper than ebay/amazon. If you want details of the seller Pm me and I can share. If you're interstate I don't think the seller would ship, I reckon he just keeps it local.

    But it's basically this exact case (600x450, dual fan): https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Premium-6U-6RU-450mm-Deep-19-19-Inch-Wall-Mount-Server-Rack-Network-Cabinet/164228169742?_trkparms=aid=1110006&algo=HOMESPLICE.SIM&ao=1&asc=20200520130048&meid=ed9b0abae2ce4be384814c96a8e628c1&pid=100005&rk=4&rkt=12&mehot=pf&sd=254456711884&itm=164228169742&pmt=1&noa=0&pg=2047675&algv=SimplAMLv5PairwiseWebWithBBEV2bDemotion&_trksid=p2047675.c100005.m1851
     
  17. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    155,015
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    @Gibbon . Well I was bored tonight so thought I would give it a go.....works very well! Set for cool and 22C and boom, when it hit 22C the fans went on. The 2x120mm case fans reduced the temp by 3.8C so far in the last 30 mins....so when does the device cut back off again?

    Without case fans internally the rack sits around 24C right now....so I reckon while winter is here I'll it to go off at 25 or 26C.
     
  18. Gibbon

    Gibbon grumpy old man

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    5,959
    Location:
    2650
    Excellent!

    Hehe, good question - this facebook post seems to suggest it's a setting, but I haven't got mine in front of me at the moment (and haven't installed mine yet), so I can't check.

    https://www.facebook.com/Heatermate/photos/a.251005301745976/1176206605892503/?type=3&theater
     
  19. MR CHILLED

    MR CHILLED D'oh!

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    155,015
    Location:
    Omicron Persei 8
    Hmmmm, my heatermate doesn't look like that, I must have the previous model to that one, /sigh, I didn't bother to check for versions, just as always you assume you're buying the latest.

    I just checked the link from The Good Guys where I bought it and it's now showing the latest model, I must have just missed the latest model, damn.

    I have this one:

    Anyways, from all the reviews I can find it says that it will stay within a degree of what you set. The fans got the temp down 4C so wonder why it didn't turn off? Maybe I'm not doing it right :p I was using the Xiaomi BT temp gauge inside the case so perhaps they aren't agreeing with each other.
     
  20. Gibbon

    Gibbon grumpy old man

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2001
    Messages:
    5,959
    Location:
    2650
    I think I have the same one you have - will have to dig it out sometime and check.
    I have seen some graphs somewhere showing how it can control a heater, and it did seem to be keeping the room temperature within about 1deg, so yeah ... not sure :/
     

Share This Page

Advertisement: